We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Donald W

I have been returning for over 11 years, because of the first-class service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 24, 2022
I return to the Rustler because it is the best location in Little Cottonwood Canyon, its close proximity to the ski mountain, best accommodations including gourmet dining awesome bar, top notch spa, heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
The rooms are the best to be found in the valley.
The best feature is the overall service provided at the Rustler!
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Jan 26, 2022
We're honored by your loyalty and aspire to always be your home away from home whenever you return to Alta. Thank you for your accolades. We're particularly touched by your praise of our overall service. Thank you.
Looking forward to your next stay. Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$299
  • Hotels.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Cliff Lodge
Priceline
$209
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $209
  • Vio.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $209
1.2 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
GREAT pool and the hot-tub seats 20
Booking.com
$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $169
1.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $165
3.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Trip.com
$1,955
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    $1,955
  • Preferred Hotels
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Hyatt.com
$306
$260
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    $306
  • Hotels.com
    $260
  • Priceline
    $260
7.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 398 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2022

The Rustler is our favorite place to stay in Alta. The location is amazing, right on the mountain with great views from your window and in the dining room. The staff are all kind and accommodating, the food is amazing!! Plus the skiing is top notch, with lots of advanced and expert terrain.

Room tip: Higher floors have been redo more recently
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Departure649794
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2022

Skiing is magical isn't it? Our hope is to add to that feeling by making everything as easy, relaxing, and special for you and your family as we can. Thank you for sharing your views about our lodge. We hope to have you back at the Rustler as soon as you're able.
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2022 via mobile

Our family visit the week before New Year’s exceeded all expectations. While cozy, the Rustler is immaculate and a reflection of the top-rate professionalism of the staff. The breakfast buffet and made to order options were on par with Four Seasons, Montage, etc. The four course dinners were exceptional and they are thoughtful about having a variety from day to day including a special flavor of the night homemade ice cream which I highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lawrences2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2022

Thank you for choosing to stay with us this holiday season, and for your complimentary review. We strive to exceed your expectations with every stay and appreciate your letting us know that we have! We're honored by your praise. I'm particularly tickled that you have mentioned our homemade ice cream as a highlight. Looking forward to your swift return,
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2021

This is our 10th year staying at The Rustler and it’s perfection every time. This year our luggage was lost for a couple days and the staff let us borrow their own personal gear so we would not miss a day of skiing! That goes above and beyond what we could ever imagine! The food, the view, the service, it’s always perfect!!!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank deborah502
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2022

Congratulations on a decade with us here at the Rustler, and we thank you more than words can say for choosing to share your precious vacation time with us here in Alta. A little secret about hospitality is that it is a two-way street. We can't be perfect without our guests being wonderful and appreciative. Thank you for helping us be the best Rustler Lodge we can be. Wishing you every happiness as we begin this New Year,
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2021

Stayed at the Rustler a few years back for a family spring skiing getaway. Everything was perfect. Amazing staff, delicious food, perfect location and lovely accommodations.

Kate, the manager is extremely helpful, gracious and accommodating. We cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travfam128
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2021

Thank you for your glowing review and praise of Kate! We too cannot wait for you to return. All our best to you from all of us here at the Rustler!
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2021

Amazing ski-in, ski-out hotel with incredible amenities. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Food is spectacular and included in room rate. Indoor and outdoor hot tubs, dry sauna, steam sauna. Well-appointed rooms.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S9886HJandyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2021

We appreciate your accolades and strive to provide the kind of service, amenities, and meals you describe as being spectacular. Guests like yourself could not be more wonderful to serve. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to have you back again soon.
Warmly,
Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews