We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
309
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
309
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop top notch breakfast and dinner ski vacation the heated outdoor pool year after year dining room place to stay cottonwood canyon great food next year mountain view rooms are spacious in house customer service is hot tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 329 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2021

Stayed last week of Feb. Got a very expensive corner room for myself. First night, children in the hallway: moved me to a better (higher floor) room the next day. The staff was EXCELLENT. Here's your lift ticket, sir; your skis are ready in the onsite ski shop, sir. The food was first-class -- especially for a ski lodge; booze, reasonable. Place was clean! (but it always has been). Pool/hot-tub practically deserted -- perfect. Never a problem or a hassle. Second time staying there. The "only" place to stay at Alta/Snowbird (have also stayed at The Cliff and various Snowbird condos -- since 74'). It has been rare to find a place that exceeds expectations -- for the price -- after 40 years of travel.

Room tip: Rm 710, 810 corner, end of hall: quiet.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregsX901HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheridan Davis, Guest Services / Front Office at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2021

Thank you for your gracious review. I am so pleased you found our staff to be EXCELLENT- and I agree! And our Chef's and kitchen's skills are a particular highlight during this season like no other. Nothing could make me happier than hearing that we exceeded your expectation and provide a high value given your extensive travel experience. I would like to offer a sincere thank you on behalf of all of us at the Rustler, and we look forward to your next stay with us. Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2021 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Rustler for our first time this weekend. The skiing was amazing, the location on mountain was to die for, and the food was terrific. What really sealed it for us was the management going above and beyond for us. I forgot my ID in the room after checking out and only realized it when we were pulling into the airport. The manager arranged to have an employee run the wallet down to the mouth of the canyon and pass it off to an Alta Shuttles driver who brought it to us at the airport. We even made our flight. What an amazing team, thank you and will be booking another trip next winter for sure.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank markmG6025FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2021

Dear markmG6025FW:

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler for the first time, and for your compliments regarding our great skiing, location and food. I'm so pleased that we were able to return your ID to you in time for you to make your flight. Teamwork makes the dream work! Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2021

We have been staying at the Rustler since 2008- largely because the staff builds a tremendous sense of community and attracts guests who care about family, people, and simply skiing because you love it. I was afraid this year that the experience wouldn't be the same due to COVID and that COVID precautions would mean the loss of the sense of community. I was wrong. The Rustler team was able to put precautions in place so people felt safe while at the same time not losing any of the kindness and people interaction we all so crave! We felt cared for, recognized, and simply at home, like we always do! Highly recommend. Once you stay at the Rustler, you won't go anywhere else!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venture689365
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2021

Thank you for choosing to stay with us year over year, and for praising the Rustler culture of hospitality that keeps you coming back. We all need more kindness and human interaction these days, so reading you review is an additional reward after having the pleasure of your company while you were here staying with us. Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to having you back at your home away from home while you are here in Alta. Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2021

I live in Hawaii on an island with basically no COVID and was very hesitant about taking a ski trip to the mainland. However, given my 20-year relationship with and trust in managers Tom and Kate at Alta's Rustler Lodge and their high-level precautionary COVID protocols laid out for the season, we went for it.

I'm so glad we did. Masks were worn by guests and staff at all times, social distancing was practiced, there were daily temperature checks at breakfast and every aspect of our experience there was as comfortable and safe as it could have been. We did room service our first night as we were easing into the notion of being in a hotel, but then opted for the dining area for the remainder of our stay after seeing just how well run the whole operation was.

I could gush on endlessly about our time there, but will end with my gratitude for the efforts of the entire staff (and fellow guests!) in creating a safe environment during these unusual times.

Bonus: it snowed 3ft in 3 days and we had some epic skiing!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clarkybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2021

Dear Clarkybar:
I am so glad that your long tenure at the Rustler and your trust in Tom and Kate as managers led you to stay with us during one of the most epic weeks of snowfall we've had in some time. Thank you for your positive, detailed review, but most importantly, for returning for two decades to stay at the Rustler. Looking forward to your next visit, especially if you bring another three feet of snow in your wake! Warmly, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2021

After a year of coming in and out of the COVID lockdowns in NM, I decided to venture out and take my first flight to SLC in over a year to return to the Rustler Lodge. I was hesitant at first after experiencing various interpretations of safety protocols in my home state and a couple of road trips to CO. Armed with N95's and multiple forms of sanitizer, I boarded the flight to SLC. I wanted to Ski! The flight was easy and the blocked seating protocol Delta utilized was effective.

As for the Rustler, there is nothing more reassuring than knowing that the seasoned and experienced management team that has been there since my first visit in 1992 is still there. With Tom at the helm, Kate at the front desk, Tauni in reservations, John at the Bar, Meg in the Dining Room, and Chef Ed preparing the most incredible food daily, this team knows how to ensure the perfect guest experience. Much of the amazing team has been there 10+ years and the place operates like a well-oiled machine.

Never has it ever been as important to have an experienced and organized united front than in the face of the current COVID Pandemic. Guest Safety is clearly a priority. From the moment I walked through the doors, I was impressed by the strict protocol that is adhered to by the entire team. Temperature and Pulse Oximeter readings are taken for every guest that walks through the front door. Prior to every meal, an additional temperature reading is taken for every guest. Every time I walk through the common areas I have found someone on the very attentive team wiping down, sanitizing, and cleaning surfaces, tables, and chairs. Quite frankly the place feels cleaner and more sanitized than any hospital waiting room I've been in.

Complimentary room service is available should you not want to venture into the common areas. While the Sauna and Steam rooms are closed the outdoor heated pool and outdoor hot tub are fantastic and with max numbers set allow for a safe soak at the end of the ski day.

After talking with Tom and Kate I learned that they are staying below 60% occupancy, have an entire floor of rooms dedicated to anyone that shows a hint of a symptom, and have rapid testing on site.

As for Alta LIfts, they too have it together. Signs are everywhere and if your nostrils are showing when you approach the lift you will be asked to fully mask up. In the past 6 days, I never saw one issue, one complaint, or one naysayer try to challenge the policy. It is clear that there is a unified front here in Little Cottonwood Canyon to ensure that everyone stays safe and that the mountain and lodges can stay open.

Pleasantly surprised and grateful for booking my trip to Alta's Rustler Lodge. Highly Recommended!

Room tip: pick your preference for your bed, enjoy the amazing location, amenities, and exceptional food!
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shasheens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2021

Dear Shasheen, it is always wonderful to see a familiar face back at the Rustler, and it is an additional delight to read your highly complimentary review regarding our Covid-19 safety policies and praise of our most tenured management staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Looking forward to having you back at your Alta home, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager, Alta's Rustler Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews