We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Skyscanner.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Lauren V
Ramsey, New Jersey

Rustler becoming like Home

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 12, 2020
2nd year staying at the Rustler and already can't wait till next year! Super convenient ski-in ski-out , small but ample ski shop on premises, comfortable accomodations (the room and bathroom has great storage), great food (so much food! The breakfast is outstanding), but what really makes it is all the little thoughtful touches (boot warmers in the closet!) and the staff that treat you like family (family they like, that is!) ... it's more like staying in an intimate family ski lodge than a hotel. Its not super-extreme-lux like what you can get in Aspen or Jackson Hole , there's no pretention, but for our family thats what makes it great and will keep us coming back. It's literally perfect !

One small suggestion/idea - given the whole 'robe scene' happening , child size robes for the kids would be a nice touch !
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sheridan Davis, Other at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Aug 13, 2020
Thank you LaurenDell for a literally perfect review. We hope to welcome you back to your Rustler family this season. Your appreciation of our Lodge and articulation of what makes us unique makes us very humble. Be well, stay safe, and THINK SNOW!

Warmly,

Sheridan Davis
Assistant Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$299
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Cliff Lodge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $289
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Expedia.com
$584
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotel Website
    $585
  • Preferred Hotels
    $585
  • Priceline
    $585
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
$242
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $242
  • Lol.travel
    $239
  • Booking.com
    $285
7.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Website
$365
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $365
  • Vio.com
    $343
  • Expedia.com
    $365
7.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 398 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2020

Ok sure, it's a fabulous facility with a great location nestled up against one of America's most outstanding ski areas....but what makes this operation such a pleasure to visit is the incredible staff that they somehow manage to put together year after year. What a team.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemanh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Thank you for being part of our Rustler family for all of these years. You help make the Rustler the unique and special place we all cherish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2020

I planned at the last minute to take this trip to Alta. The hotel staff was excellent , warm and accomodating. The included breakfast was excellent.
Included meals were not disappointing and the selection were more than adequate.
I found the hotel staff friendly and easy to talk to. Shuttle trips to airport as planned . No glitches. Location was excellent and it was very easy to ski and relax without any hassles.
I defintely will return if and when I can.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank A3627EGsalvatorec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

I'm so glad your last minute trip brought you to the Rustler. It is always our hope that new guests turn into returning guests who become part of our Rustler family. Thank you for your complimentary review, and please come back to stay with us as soon as you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2020

I really don’t want want everyone to know about this gem.
We ski all the time, book condos, condo hotels etc. This the best place we have ever stayed. No cooking! No work!
No going to the grocery store. No shuttle to get ski rental .
Breakfast and dinner are included . Food is great . Everyone us helpful. Ski rental in the building. Don’t need a car. Great spa, outdoor hot tub and pool. Ski lockers right at the exit . One skis down a little hill to a rope tow that takes you to the main lift. After you are done skiing you take the rope tow back to the hotel and take the hotel’s chair lift up the hotel.
Can bring your own wine, minimal corking fee at dinner.
Coffee all day, and snacks.
You book your dinner time so there’s no wait.
Breakfast is a luxurious buffet including made to order Omelettes.
We met people who have come back here for 20 years.
Please stay away, as I want it for myself.
Ps very much an adult crowd .

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Fusspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

Your review has made my day. Thank you! Delightful to have hosted you and welcome to the first year of what we hope will be many staying here with us at the Rustler.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Alta is one of the premier ski resorts in the US and the Rustler is the place to stay when you go, if you can afford it.
The staff's preternatural friendliness is attributable to good training and management but also to the fact that most of them get 100+ days of skiing a year. Food is well prepared and the menu changes enough to keep things interesting. Even if you are not travelling solo, try the Wasatch table. The experts in the ski shop can fit you with the right equipment to match your ability and the weather.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Thank you for your gracious review. Guests like yourself make the culture of the Rustler a joy. Looking forward to your next visit. Warmly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We visit the Rustler for four weeks a year. It is our home away from home. There are many places we could go but we decide to return to this place each year and are rewarded with a great family-like atmosphere, fantastic food and world class skiing. This outweighs anything else we could be doing with our precious time. Love it!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ginastewart108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

We're delighted to be your home away from home and value your precious time. Thank you for the honor of hosting your ski vacations year over year. Looking forward to your swift return, with many thanks for your warm review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews