We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
259
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
259
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool chair lift breakfast and dinner year after year dining room cottonwood canyon ski trip great food customer service is the entire staff high level alta snowbird public areas heaven on earth powder house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 279 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We visit the Rustler for four weeks a year. It is our home away from home. There are many places we could go but we decide to return to this place each year and are rewarded with a great family-like atmosphere, fantastic food and world class skiing. This outweighs anything else we could be doing with our precious time. Love it!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ginastewart108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

We're delighted to be your home away from home and value your precious time. Thank you for the honor of hosting your ski vacations year over year. Looking forward to your swift return, with many thanks for your warm review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019

I stayed at ARL for 6 nights last February for a ski camp. i shared a double room in the older side of the lodge.
The hotel is well appointed, comfortable and service staff is beyond expectations. They have a breakfast/dinner included that is delicious.
I used spa services and my treatment was also excellent.
Wifi works fast
Room is clean and comfortable
2 hot tubs that can get a little crowded sometimes but fun.
Ski in and out.

Date of stay: February 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ski_bum_wannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Our ski camps are such a great way to experience Alta, and we thank you for your glowing review. You have hit all the high points of a stay with us. Thank you for the compliments. We hope to be able to host you again this winter, which feels imminent this fall day. Thinking of snow and with warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This lodge is as much the experience as the skiing. Food is first class. While the furnishings are rustic as appose to plush, the services and amenities make up for it. If you like eating, this is your place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank R6111MIdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank you. As a foodie myself, it is nice to hear that your found our meals to be first class. We are a ski lodge built by legends Sverre Engen and Howard Stillwell and open as The Rustler since 1947. We're very proud of our roots. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the skiing, and the eating! Looking forward to your return this upcoming season, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

There is no better ski experience than staying at Rustler, with its perfect ski-in ski-out access to arguably one of the greatest ski mountains in the U.S.

This long-standing ski lodge has been cleverly expanded and updated throughout the years and it is the perfect “chill” place for busy families wanting to get away from today’s hectic lifestyle. I have been staying there for the past 30+ years. I have also tried most of the other lodges at the base of Alta, and in my opinion, they don’t come close to matching what Rustler offers.

The staff and amenities at Rustler are perfect. Nothing goes wrong. The lodge maintains its informal approach while delivering the highest level of service and amenities. One never tires of the apres-ski drinks and bites nor the most comfortable bar in Little Cottonwood Canyon (with the most exceptional mountain views.)

The pool, hot tubs (one outdoor and one just inside behind brilliantly designed sliding doors) steam room, gym, sauna and spa couldn’t be nicer nor better situated for viewing the glorious mountains. The large common areas are filled with super comfortable couches and chairs, providing great places to read, relax, play games and view the mountains.

The same core staff greats you each new season and is ready to help you in anyway - always with a huge smile. They truly care about you and your entire family.

Go ahead and try a more modern approach to ski lodging in Alta, or anywhere. New stone walls may look nicer at first, but when you peel the onion, there is no place like the Rustler.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Suzanne:
Thank you for your excellent review about your recent stay with us. Most importantly, thank you for your decades of choosing to make the Rustler your home away from home when you are in Alta. "Nothing goes wrong" resonates, as does your statement that we "truly care about you and your entire family." It takes a lot of work to ensure that nothing goes wrong, and it is a privilege to grow to know our guests in the years you return to stay with us. It helps that we have the best guests in the Canyon! Thank you for being part of our Rustler family. With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

First time at Rustler Lodge after coming to Alta/Snowbird for over 30 years and wonder why I never came here before. Everything about it was great from the service, room, food, pool, convenience, etc.

We stayed in a king room in the newer wing with a mountain view and found it to be spacious and clean. The bed and pillows are very comfortable.

My only complaint might be the price but you definitely get what you pay for. We will return.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tlivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Thank you! We're delighted you decided to give the Rustler Lodge a try and found everything to your liking. Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews