We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
259
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
259
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool chair lift breakfast and dinner year after year dining room cottonwood canyon ski trip great food customer service is the entire staff high level alta snowbird public areas heaven on earth powder house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 279 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2019

I stayed at ARL for 6 nights last February for a ski camp. i shared a double room in the older side of the lodge.
The hotel is well appointed, comfortable and service staff is beyond expectations. They have a breakfast/dinner included that is delicious.
I used spa services and my treatment was also excellent.
Wifi works fast
Room is clean and comfortable
2 hot tubs that can get a little crowded sometimes but fun.
Ski in and out.

Date of stay: February 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ski_bum_wannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2019

Our ski camps are such a great way to experience Alta, and we thank you for your glowing review. You have hit all the high points of a stay with us. Thank you for the compliments. We hope to be able to host you again this winter, which feels imminent this fall day. Thinking of snow and with warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This lodge is as much the experience as the skiing. Food is first class. While the furnishings are rustic as appose to plush, the services and amenities make up for it. If you like eating, this is your place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank R6111MIdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank you. As a foodie myself, it is nice to hear that your found our meals to be first class. We are a ski lodge built by legends Sverre Engen and Howard Stillwell and open as The Rustler since 1947. We're very proud of our roots. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the skiing, and the eating! Looking forward to your return this upcoming season, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

There is no better ski experience than staying at Rustler, with its perfect ski-in ski-out access to arguably one of the greatest ski mountains in the U.S.

This long-standing ski lodge has been cleverly expanded and updated throughout the years and it is the perfect “chill” place for busy families wanting to get away from today’s hectic lifestyle. I have been staying there for the past 30+ years. I have also tried most of the other lodges at the base of Alta, and in my opinion, they don’t come close to matching what Rustler offers.

The staff and amenities at Rustler are perfect. Nothing goes wrong. The lodge maintains its informal approach while delivering the highest level of service and amenities. One never tires of the apres-ski drinks and bites nor the most comfortable bar in Little Cottonwood Canyon (with the most exceptional mountain views.)

The pool, hot tubs (one outdoor and one just inside behind brilliantly designed sliding doors) steam room, gym, sauna and spa couldn’t be nicer nor better situated for viewing the glorious mountains. The large common areas are filled with super comfortable couches and chairs, providing great places to read, relax, play games and view the mountains.

The same core staff greats you each new season and is ready to help you in anyway - always with a huge smile. They truly care about you and your entire family.

Go ahead and try a more modern approach to ski lodging in Alta, or anywhere. New stone walls may look nicer at first, but when you peel the onion, there is no place like the Rustler.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Dear Suzanne:
Thank you for your excellent review about your recent stay with us. Most importantly, thank you for your decades of choosing to make the Rustler your home away from home when you are in Alta. "Nothing goes wrong" resonates, as does your statement that we "truly care about you and your entire family." It takes a lot of work to ensure that nothing goes wrong, and it is a privilege to grow to know our guests in the years you return to stay with us. It helps that we have the best guests in the Canyon! Thank you for being part of our Rustler family. With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

First time at Rustler Lodge after coming to Alta/Snowbird for over 30 years and wonder why I never came here before. Everything about it was great from the service, room, food, pool, convenience, etc.

We stayed in a king room in the newer wing with a mountain view and found it to be spacious and clean. The bed and pillows are very comfortable.

My only complaint might be the price but you definitely get what you pay for. We will return.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tlivac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Thank you! We're delighted you decided to give the Rustler Lodge a try and found everything to your liking. Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019

I just returned from my 4th annual "guys ski trip" to Alta and the Rustler Lodge and our affection for the place and the people there keeps on growing. The personal service says it all: on the first day of our first visit four years ago the guy at reception offered to lend me his personal ski pants and jacket when he heard the airline had lost my luggage - wow! On our most recent stay we were regularly joined by managers and staff for a quick chat in the lounge before dinner, and post-dinner drinks at the bar are always fun: swapping great music playlists and wildlife photography tips with the bartender John, and getting tips from the local staff on where to ski the next morning. We were even joined by the owner Jeff at dinner one night, who shared hilarious and colorful stories about the history of the Rustler and Alta in general.

At first glance the Rustler can look a bit industrial in places (it's built to withstand a major avalanche...), but the overall vibe is warm, relaxed and welcoming. It's the real deal that skiers from all over hear about when discussing Alta: An authentic skiers lodge where the guests and the staff all share a love of serious skiing at a serious mountain. It's a bit expensive but utterly unpretentious and always welcoming, whether you are there to reconnect with a group of good friends or enjoy a multi-generational family ski holiday.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Davebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Owner at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Hi Dave, I had a great time with you guys too. When you make your next reservation, make sure the reservations' girls inform me as to your dates ahead of time so I can make contact with you in Alta. Say hi to Urie and Ken. I look forward to seeing and the Colgate boy next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews