We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
240
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop breakfast and dinner chair lift ski vacation top notch stretch class outdoor pool year after year spa treatments dining room mountain view next year room includes recent stay great food cottonwood canyon
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We, a family with 4 children ( 3,5,14,14), had a wonderful time during a weeklong skiing / spring break trip. The lodge is extremely well run. Very kid friendly. Our daughter loved the kids table at night. Skiing is true ski in /ski out. Food is great. The heated outdoor pool was super relaxing. Staff super friendly and very attentive.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank drapj005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your family ski trip. We're honored to be your "base camp" for creating memories together.

Skiing is a lifetime sport multiple generations can enjoy. Our goal is to allow you to explore our mountain environment by providing a relaxing, luxurious stay where your gourmet meals are included and all the amenities you might wish for are at your fingertips. No meal planning, cooking or cleaning required!

Your accolades complimenting our friendliness, courteous staff, operations, kid programs and pool are very appreciated. I hope you were able to take advantage of our spa services too. We look forward to your next visit. With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to The Rustler at least six weeks (plus lunch at the restaurant back in the 1990’s when we couldn’t afford to stay here). The wonderful staff seems to have been consistent for two decades. Like a dream, we finally were able to bring our new daughter-in-law to the Rustler. Maybe one day we’ll get to bring grandchildren. I’ll try hard to come up with something to complain about - but what? The transportation up the canyon is flawless (avalanche x 1). The front desk, bar staff, and restaurant staff (mostly ski bums I admire), are excellent. We had three rooms this time - all excellent (old balcony room for us, upgraded dorm room for youngest, exciting new mountain view room for the newlyweds). The skiing was great as always x 5 days. Bkfst and dinner (and lunch x2), Spa treatments, pool - all excellent. I give up. It was perfect - again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank w945106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. We're honored by your praise and the opportunity to host your extended family. We too look forward to meeting your grandchildren one day. Never underestimate the magic of Romantic Alta. We're touched by the title of your review and your long history as guests. Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Friendly, attentive, staff. Delicious meals. Very comfortable relaxed lodge. Everyone in our 3 generation (12person) family felt the Rustler is the best!! We have stayed there many times and will keep returning.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Sightsee36058065606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

One of the best things about skiing is that it is a lifetime sport multiple generations can enjoy together. Thank you for the honor of hosting your family, and for your kind and succinct review. Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

We have just completed our 4th stay (of 11 fabulous days) at Alta’s Rustler lodge. That in itself is high recommendation. It is indeed our ‘home away from home’ in the US as that is exactly how you are made to feel as soon as you arrive at the Rustler and throughout your stay. It is the perfect luxury ski holiday in every way.

To begin with the staff are all amazing. I’m not sure how the management select and train staff to such a high standard each season but I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that the management has not changed in many years and they have everything running like a well oiled machine. Assistant managers Sheridan, Jackie and Rebecca obviously love their job and do everything to make your stay memorable and wonderful from hosting the Wasatch Table at dinner, which we have joined on many occasions as , to immediately fixing any problems and always making everyone feel welcome and at home.

The meals are wonderful with a lavish breakfast each morning that includes a buffet, omelettes as well as anything else from the kitchen that you care to order. Dinners are 4 courses from a full menu which change each night. Breakfast & dinner are included as well as drinks and snacks after skiing on 3 days but there are snacks in the bar each afternoon. The salmon was a highlight!

Rustler has its own chairlift so while lunch is not included, it’s the best food on the mountain and has full table service. Very relaxing. There’s always tea & coffee available and the most delicious cookies appear throughout the day. It’s great value when you consider everything but alcohol is included.

There are a variety of rooms and we always choose a room in the original building. To our great delight, it was refurbished over the summer, including a new bathroom, bed and furniture! A few years ago I had a very nasty accident while skiing. I was struggling to walk up the stairs to the room but without even asking, we were moved to a new room close to the lift. The consideration shown by staff was amazing.

A day at the Rustler begins with a yoga/stretch class at 7:15am followed by breakfast. Ski all day and return to a hot tub and the swimming pool. Get a margarita from the bar in a plastic cup and take it to the pool - heaven. Then it’s dinner and time to sleep! Repeat!

I can not recommend the Rustler highly enough. That’s why we travel there all the way from Australia each year. Hopefully we’ll be back in 2020!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jennypicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is always lovely to host you--thank you for your high praise. We appreciate you both! You're examples of why I feel we have the best guests in the canyon and we can't thank you enough for the pleasure of your company. Your comprehensive review could not be more complimentary. Wishing you a wonderful winter and looking forward to hosting you again next season,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

The Rustler Lodge is the premier place to stay in Alta. Between the well-appointed rooms, the inviting bar & dining areas, the luxurious spa area, the top-notch food and the engaging staff, I dare say one cannot find a more superlative ski lodge experience in this country.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mqmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your top-notch review of your stay with us and our ski lodge experience! Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews