We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
240
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop breakfast and dinner chair lift ski vacation top notch stretch class outdoor pool year after year spa treatments dining room mountain view next year room includes recent stay great food cottonwood canyon
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 260 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

We have just completed our 4th stay (of 11 fabulous days) at Alta’s Rustler lodge. That in itself is high recommendation. It is indeed our ‘home away from home’ in the US as that is exactly how you are made to feel as soon as you arrive at the Rustler and throughout your stay. It is the perfect luxury ski holiday in every way.

To begin with the staff are all amazing. I’m not sure how the management select and train staff to such a high standard each season but I’m sure it has something to do with the fact that the management has not changed in many years and they have everything running like a well oiled machine. Assistant managers Sheridan, Jackie and Rebecca obviously love their job and do everything to make your stay memorable and wonderful from hosting the Wasatch Table at dinner, which we have joined on many occasions as , to immediately fixing any problems and always making everyone feel welcome and at home.

The meals are wonderful with a lavish breakfast each morning that includes a buffet, omelettes as well as anything else from the kitchen that you care to order. Dinners are 4 courses from a full menu which change each night. Breakfast & dinner are included as well as drinks and snacks after skiing on 3 days but there are snacks in the bar each afternoon. The salmon was a highlight!

Rustler has its own chairlift so while lunch is not included, it’s the best food on the mountain and has full table service. Very relaxing. There’s always tea & coffee available and the most delicious cookies appear throughout the day. It’s great value when you consider everything but alcohol is included.

There are a variety of rooms and we always choose a room in the original building. To our great delight, it was refurbished over the summer, including a new bathroom, bed and furniture! A few years ago I had a very nasty accident while skiing. I was struggling to walk up the stairs to the room but without even asking, we were moved to a new room close to the lift. The consideration shown by staff was amazing.

A day at the Rustler begins with a yoga/stretch class at 7:15am followed by breakfast. Ski all day and return to a hot tub and the swimming pool. Get a margarita from the bar in a plastic cup and take it to the pool - heaven. Then it’s dinner and time to sleep! Repeat!

I can not recommend the Rustler highly enough. That’s why we travel there all the way from Australia each year. Hopefully we’ll be back in 2020!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jennypicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is always lovely to host you--thank you for your high praise. We appreciate you both! You're examples of why I feel we have the best guests in the canyon and we can't thank you enough for the pleasure of your company. Your comprehensive review could not be more complimentary. Wishing you a wonderful winter and looking forward to hosting you again next season,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019

The Rustler Lodge is the premier place to stay in Alta. Between the well-appointed rooms, the inviting bar & dining areas, the luxurious spa area, the top-notch food and the engaging staff, I dare say one cannot find a more superlative ski lodge experience in this country.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mqmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your top-notch review of your stay with us and our ski lodge experience! Looking forward to your swift return,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

My wife and I had a super ski week at the Rustler lodge. We had been to Alta before and had stayed in an on mountain condo. This time around, we wanted to really unplug and relax and the Rustler fit the bill perfectly. No cooking, No worrying, No mess. You really don't have to worry about a thing at the Rustler. The staff is super-attentive and friendly. Breakfast and dinner are included (minus the alcohol) and a moderately priced lunch is available each day.

Our days were basically:

- Get up
- Have breakfast
- Ski
- Have lunch
- Ski
- Jacuzzi / Outdoor Pool
- Have dinner
- Sleep

Then repeat each day! If you are about skiing and great food - this is the place for you.

The onsite ski shop is super helpful and the ski lockers are located right next to the slope to the lifts. Elevators make accessing the ski locker floor easy with your ski boots on. The rooms were clean and well attended to. We enjoyed the slightly bigger room with King Bed and couch to relax in.

During our trip, we found a wide variety of guests and most everyone was super friendly. There were large groups of men & women on a ski outing. Couples like us, Families with adult children and also families with young children. Everyone was relaxed and friendly... with a passion for great skiing and Alta certainly offers a tremendous ski mountain.

The only slight criticism was that the dinner service was sometimes a bit inconsistent on timing as sometimes the spacing between courses was sometimes a bit long. it really depended on how busy the staff was. But the staff worked very well together and the timing really didn't bother us as we didn't really have anywhere to go! Overall each breakfast, lunch and dinner was very satisfying.

It isn't cheap, but if you are looking for a no hassle, ski focused vacation surrounded by friendly staff and guests... we highly recommend Alta's Rustler Lodge!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Salsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! You've perfectly described what I think helps make a Rustler stay so unique--effortless relaxation. Alta is an amazing place for skiing and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the constructive criticism regarding our dinner service and are working to correct occasional lengthy wait times. We aspire to create a restorative stay for all of our guests, and this year, the skiing has been superlative. Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Room 802. Great room, great view.

I injured my knee first day of trip and the entire staff was so helpful in seeing to my needs.

Ski shop canted my boots with care after my accident. Unfortunately will have to wait until next year to try them out.

Kate, Vicky, Tauni, Haley, Rebecca as well housekeeping Mirka and John thank you so much.

Sheridan Davis was so friendly.

I also keep Kosher and Chef McCall and sous chefs Jason and John were so very attentive and helpful.

I was traveling alone and I found the other guests so friendly.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Footprints440741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our goal is to meet your every need whether you're traveling alone or in a large group. I know how difficult it is to sustain a knee injury and my heart goes out to you. Looking forward to having you back next year, healthy and strong. All of us appreciate being able to offer you any assistance we can while you're with us, and we certainly appreciate being mentioned by name! Thank you. With warm regards and best wishes for a swift recovery,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We just completed our 9th Presidents flay weekend father son ski trip at Rustler Lodge in Alta. The Managment (Tom and Kate Pollard) have always hired very well and the entire staff makes you feel like family. The service and food are top notch. The location at base of one of the best ski resorts on the planet if you like powder and challenging skiing is ideal. This is a very family oriented high end lodge and one worth exploring. Breakfast and dinner are included in room price and then meals among the best one can find in Utah. Meg and Kelly are so helpful for any dining requests. Hats off to the kitchen staff for serving up tasty fare. Rooms are well appointed and there is ski shop in the building. They 715am morning Yoga/Stretch with Julie is always a great day to start the day. Heated pool, hot tubs and steam rooms a great way to relax after the day. John is the bar has been there forever, is great company and makes one feel at home. Don’t miss the happy our chow and snacks. The reservations team is very effecient and great on email...Rebecca, Jackie and Seth are always very helpful as well. Anyway open to answer questions but i have stayed here with pals, with my whole family and with the father son group and cannot say enough positive about the Rustler Team!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jshMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheridanDavis, Assistant Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review, but most of all, for honoring us with your repeated stays and family vacations. It is wonderful to have folks singled out for compliments, and they all deserve the high praise. Thank you! Looking forward to your swift return with all our best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews