We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
233
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop breakfast and dinner ski vacation chair lift top notch stretch class outdoor pool year after year dining room great food cottonwood canyon room includes next year the entire staff mountain view exceeded expectations
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 253 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2018

How many Five Star Reviews can you have? As many as you deserve. Lots of places rent rooms, very few do it as well as the Rustler. It's the staff they are the best. Smile on their face song in their heart, Love this place! See you in Feb.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 435wister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Your review gives me a smile on my face and song in my heart! Thank you! Alta and the Rustler are not for everyone, but for those who get it, we're a wonderful home away from home in arguably the best mountain range for skiing in the world. Thanks for singing our praises and we'll be delighted to welcome you back in February. Warm regards and think snow, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Four years ago, I wrote a review stating emphatically something I had known for years: The Rustler is unquestionably the best lodging experience to be had in Little Cottonwood Canyon. Well, it still is! In fact, it offers the best lodging experience we ever have in the world of skiing — and we have skied in many, many places over the years.

At first blush, the all-in price for a week at the Rustler may appear high, but once you assign a value to the incredible meals (breakfast and dinner) included in the price, it can qualify as bargain. I can’t speak for all the rooms, as there are a number of different types of rooms. However, if you don’t feel you have to have a “view” from your room, the Superior North rooms that we’ve stayed in on our last three visits are fantastic. They are large, beautifully furnished and, above all, exceedingly well lighted (a rarity in today’s hotels). Oh yes, the service at the Rustler is also impeccable.

Finally, both Alta and Snowbird offer some of the world’s best skiing, but if, like us, you rather prefer Snowbird, no problem. You can easily ski both from the Rustler. If you don’t want to buy a combined ticket to ski from one to the other, the Rustler has a shuttle that will take you to Snowbird and pick you up at the end of the day.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RonaldG275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Ronald, returning guests like yourself are what makes the culture of the Rustler so special. Thank you for your accolades, and most of all, for voting with your skis by returning to stay with us year after year. Think snow! Looking forward to hosting you again next season, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

The absolute best proactive, thoughtful, service oriented staff on the planet. Also being located at the base of the best skiing mountain on the planet helps.

Our flight was delayed slightly and we were barely going to miss dinner. I got a call from the front desk person saying they noticed we probably were going to arrive after the kitchen closes asking what they could set aside for us. That it proactive, thoughtful service and very much appreciated!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Wow! Thank you! Your high praise is very appreciated! We love our location and the geography of Little Cottonwood, and cannot thank you enough for your compliments. Looking forward to your return to the Rustler, your home here in Alta. Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile

There is no place like The Rustler. The location is at base of one of the most dependable powder havens in the USA. It’s Rooms are very comfortable and very well appointed. The meals and ambiance of the dining room are wonderful. The pub is cozy and its sunset views are amazing. Hot tubs and pool, gym, morning yoga, ski shop in the lodge etc.
But the best part of the Rustler is it’s staff. These fine people are the friendliest group you will find. The hospitality is simply top notch.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jshMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Thank you! We believe the best part of the Rustler are our guests like yourself, but we're delighted you feel it is our staff. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018

We were blown away by the quality of accommodations that are provided at the Rustler. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is outstanding, and the lodge has every luxury you could think of enjoying.

Room tip: We stayed during the week, which gave us a little discount and chose a room on the road side rather than the mountain side.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Montanalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your speedy return! Kind regards, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews