We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like living in a spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alta's Rustler Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Not cheap but with the price….
Great location truly ski-in ski-out.
Start the day in stretch class with instructor Julie
Great Buffet Breakfast
Ski all day till you drop
Lounge around in swimsuit and bathrobe to bar, pool and spa all afternoon
Great dinner….
Staff is very hands on and accommodating from the lobby, ski shop, dinning staff all well trained and customer focused.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTravelingman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Alta's Rustler Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

I stayed there last March with my son. The room has was like a Days Inn. The food was okay, very mid - western . Okay for $275(including food) a night in season but not for $650. The value was zero! So many better hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sonetsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My wife and I are in our late 40's. We stayed in this lodge for 6 nights at the tail-end of the 2008/2009 ski season. The Rustler Lodge offers ski-out/ski-in access to Alta ski resort. Our room was comfortable, clean, and nicely appointed. Maid service was good and we appreciated the nightly 'turn-down' service with chocolates left on our pillows!

This is a pretty rustic lodge so if you are expecting a sweeping granite lobby or other 5-star trappings, you won't find it here. Instead, you'll discover a cozy Inn with a staff that is really helpful, warm, and genuinely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfasts and dinners are included so you won't need to worry about where to eat all your meals. The dining room is awesome - huge windows overlooking the slopes, and food that is mouth-watering.

We particularly enjoyed dining at the "Wasatch Table" each night. The Wasatch Table (named after the forest where the lodge is located) is a little gathering the hotel organizes where you can sit with other guests and a host around a big table and meet new people. The hotel even throws in the wine - something you'll pay for yourself if you dine alone! I thought we'd sit at the Wasatch Table one time and then settle into our regular routine of dining alone, but it was such fun that we opted to eat with the other guests all but one night.

We also enjoyed the spacious hot tub and outdoor pool. It's fun to swim in a heated pool while the snow is swirling around you. The spa offers a range of massage options and there is a well-equipped exercise room for guests.

We rented an SUV in Salt Lake so we would have wheels to tour around. However, if you are planning to stay at the resort the entire time, you can easily take a shuttle from the SLC airport directly to the resort and skip the hassle of renting a car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolandws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This is not Ohio anymore.
The Rustler Inn made a last minute trip to a very busy destination at the peak of the season a very easy and fun experience. There is no doubt that anyone who wants to get away can have a satisfying ski vacation at this fine resort. From the shuttle arrangements to the lift pass assistance there was not one thing that went unnoticed. The food is excellent by any measure and the service great. If you are flying from anywhere you will appreciate the fact that you are only a 45 minute shuttle ride from a world class airport to a world class resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1-prop-head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

This lodge is real luxury in the heart if Alta. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful they will help you with anything you may need; the rooms are spacious and comfortable. And there is the food: it was simply great.

Snow was good for the time of year and the in house ski shop sorted us out in no time. It was nice to go for a swim in the outdoor pool after skiing or warm up in the jacuzzi. All in all we had a great time at the Rustler and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank podvodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

From the service to the food, everything was wonderful! With a ski-in, ski-out location it makes getting on the slopes really easy. Speaking of the skiiing, it was great, even in April!
The room was great and my view of slopes was one I will not foget. I really loved being able to sit in the outdoor pool after at the end of the day and look at the mountains. It was worth every penny!

5  Thank MBW1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Really loved our stay at the Rustler. Four nights with three kids. Views on upper floors spectacular. The rooms were expensive (they all are on the mountain) but the breakfast-and-dinner-included aspect took some of the sting out. Rooms large and clean, great beds, nothing fancy (hello - it's a lodge, not the Four Seasons!), and - surprise - the food was excellent. I had literally the best omelettes of my life here, four mornings in a row.

You're being served here largely by ski-bum kids in their 20's (you can tell by the ski-goggle raccoon tans), so attitude and service varies. But we had no complaints. Kids seemed in good humor, even at tail end of the season, and they were really nice to our young 'uns.

Hot pool ... yessss. Very nice. Nothing like soaking in 95 degrees as a light snow tickles your ears. Otherworldly!

But the best thing about the Rustler is the atmosphere. Family-friendly, casual, and when the lodge was forced by avalanche weather to accomodate 300+ trapped skiers, they did so with aplomb, without exploiting the situation (rooms were offered at $25/night, bunks for free) and with no real disruption to its regular clientele. Bar scene felt like a really good party. All this while another premier lodge nearby charged its normal $700/night rate to trapped day-skiiers!

The Rustler really showed its true colors in this crisis situation. For this display of hospitality alone, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
859 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
595 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
7.9 mi away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta's Rustler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta's Rustler Lodge

Address: 10380 E State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: $422 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta's Rustler Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta's finest ski-in/ski-out location, unparalleled personal attention and our tradition of excellence distinguish the Rustler Lodge from the rest. Enjoy our amenities, including an outdoor heated pool, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzis, sauna, eucalyptus steam room, spa services and ski shop. After a fabulous day of skiing ride our chair lift back to the lodge to enjoy the best apres and complimentary appetizers in our Eagles Nest Lounge. Our 85 rooms range from modest to luxury accommodations that include new "Comphy" linens. Daily rates include a full breakfast and gourmet dinner and FREE WIFI. The Rustler, while elegant, is congenial and relaxed, the way we feel a ski lodge should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Alta's Rustler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta`s Rustler Hotel Alta
Altas Rustler Hotel
Alta's Rustler Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing