We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 241 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

Outstanding 5 night stay! Top notch staff and facilities! Waitstaff, front desk, shuttle drivers, managers - all were incredibly friendly, hardworking people who want you to enjoy yourself and have the best vacation possible.

The Rustler dining room even made my husband's birthday celebration extra special - starting with a delightful carrot cake for breakfast (I called ahead to arrange that)

- excellent dining options - both the daily specials and common menu had all types of meat, fish and veggie options.
- daily snacks, teas, & drinks for apres ski
- outstanding outdoor hot tub and pool, sauna, steam room
- bed linens that were heavenly
- clean, clean, clean in all common spaces and rooms
- breaktaking views
- very well stocked ski shop that sends you to the slopes & Back up their own lift to deliver you back at the end of the day.
-morning stretch class in the game room was a perfect start to the day

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank goodfoodrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Thank you! It is an honor to host guests like yourself that note the details and enjoy what we do best--take care of our guests! Looking forward to having you back as soon as you are able! Kind regards, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We've stayed at the Rustler over President's Day week end for the past several years. The experience is always incomparable. Every staff member you interact with is helpful and genuinely friendly. Most guests appear to be families that have been visiting for many years (or decades). The atmosphere is relaxed and casual -- slippers and PJs are not an uncommon sight at breakfast. The food (breakfast and dinner are included) is of superb quality and variety. The wine list is limited, but well-curated and reasonably priced. The common areas are cozy and rustic, with log fires in the dining room and the bar room. The guest rooms are not fancy, but clean and functional (which is fine given the limited waking hours spent there). The spa tract and gym are modern and top notch, offering an outdoor pool and hot tub overlooking the mountain, a steam room, sauna, etc. The location is ski-in/ski-out with a dedicated chair lift to access Alta, and there's a nice ski shop in the basement.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welltraveled10128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

We appreciate your detailed praise and look forward to your swift return. All our best, Sheridan Davis, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

This was our first trip to the Rustler, and within minutes of arriving we knew it would not be our last. After three days, we totally understand why so many of the Rustler guests come back year after year. From the incredible location, to the super friendly staff, to the gourmet breakfast and dinner, to the pool and hot tub - the Rustler is a special place. It is luxurious without being pretentious, thoughtfully updated and maintained (boot dryers in the closet?! a private chair lift?! coffee outside your door?! turndown service in the evening) while reminiscent of times gone by. And the skiing… well, just wow.

We feel lucky to have spent a few days at the Rustler, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: read the room descriptions, they vary considerably.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hank115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

We always hope that our guests will love and cherish the unique charm of Alta and the Rustler, and your compliments confirm that you do. Thank you so much for sharing highlights of your stay, and we sincerely hope to see you again in the near future. The snow conditions are phenomenal right now. Our best to you, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

The Rustler advertised as having the best lunch on the mountain and this is true. I really enjoyed taking the dedicated chair lift right to the doors of the Rustler Lodge. I has a laid-back vibe in a rustic atmosphere. Loved the facilities they had to drop off your gear in order to eat lunch.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank kfin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Thanks for your compliments and we look forward to hosting you for lunch (or longer) in the near future. Our best to you, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

This was my third visit in as many years, and I look forward to it all year long.
The convenience and location makes it so you are skiing just ten steps after you walk out of the building. The entire staff make you feel like part of the family and go above and beyond to facilitate all aspects of your visit.The rooms are nice and the wi fi is free.
And then there is the food! Breakfast is everything one could possibly desire. Dinner is amazing with great choices and daily specials. I highly recommend eating at the Wasatch table, a great chance to meet other guests that is hosted by a member of the staff. We were lucky enough to be hosted by Jackie, who is a wonderful and witty dining companion, and a great resource for all things Alta.
Cant wait for next year!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Thank you for returning to a place that has become a home away from home for many of our guests. We are very proud of the high quality of gourmet dining options our Chef and talented kitchen provide. The Wasatch table is an integral part of the sort of hospitality we want all of our guests to experience, and Jackie is an exemplary hostess! Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, and we too look forward to your return with great anticipation. With warm regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews