We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 241 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2017

We have been skiing in Little Cottonwood Canyon for 49 years and started staying at the Rustler after we sold our condo--maybe 20 years ago. Staying at the Rustler is like staying with the perfect family. They demand nothing of you except that you enjoy yourself, and so do everything possible to make that happen.

ChefandChefsWife describe it perfectly. I would only add that if you find yourself alone or simply wanting to meet some new, and unfailingly interesting, people reserve for 6:30 dinner at the Wasatch Table. The Rustler Host for the evening will introduce everyone and deftly keep the conversation going, so even if you are shy you will find yourself at home among new acquaintances.

As to the categories below, being remembered and welcomed every time you return is a luxury. And I suppose one might call that quaint as well.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dlk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Joining us at the Wasatch Table, our long running Rustler Lodge tradition, is something we welcome every guest to do during their stay. Thank you for mentioning it as an option for everyone we have the pleasure of hosting at the Rustler. I have watched many close ski friendships grow out of an initial meeting at the Wasatch table, which is wonderful. I believe your description of us as quaint is apt. Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017

We make our best effort to get to Alta and especially Alta's Rustler Lodge each year. There is a reason why so many reserve their room for the following year upon departure. Utah in general is our preferred destination because of the close proximity of all ski mountains to the airport, the friendlier altitude, and most of all the infamous Utah snow that seldom fails to disappoint vs. other states.

If you want luxury that truly makes you feel at home with phenomenal buffet breakfasts and four course dinners that are included in the rates, in addition to outstanding scenery, a gorgeous outdoor pool and hot tub plus an indoor hot tub, a full spa and many other amenities, you have found the right place. There is no schlepping of groceries and cooking on vacation, so this is the experience that gives all members of the family a true vacation.

We love the casual feel it has - some come up for cocktail hour from the pool in their robes and swap ski stories with those who are still in their boots. Jeans and sweaters are perfectly acceptable at dinner. Coffee, hot tea, some fruit and small snacks are available and complimentary throughout the day.

The staff could not be more professional or friendlier and they will go out of their way to do things outside the box of what one would normally expect. It is not unusual to see many Europeans and Australians staying here. Whether you have a family with children, a fun group of friends, or you are just looking to have a romantic getaway, you are missing out if you don't make it to The Rustler!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChefandChefsWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Your compliments are high praise indeed as I know you both to be foodies and experts in customer service. Thank you. It is wonderful to read your comments. We look forward to your return along with your lovely parents as soon as you are able. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017

Everything is perfectly comfortable but also non-pretentious. You'll see people hanging out in robes and going to dinner in slippers. I don't bring outdoor shoes because the only time I'm outside is in ski boots. The pool and spa are excellent, the food is top-notch, and the rooms are comfortable. And, of course, Alta is the best ski mountain in the world!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2017

Unpretentious elegance is our goal. Thank you for your review which speaks to the ease and comfort we want to provide for all of our guests. We will never disagree that we are slopeside to the best ski mountain in the world! Looking forward to your return to the Rustler in the near future, and think snow. Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

My son and I spent 4 nights at Rustler lodge. The service is second to none. I bought skis at a Salt Lake City ski shop over the phone and one of their employees actually drove to the city to pick them up for me! Food was great, in house ski rentals, lift tickets linked to room bill, great spa/pool facilities...too much to list. Alta is unparalleled and Rustler lodging is a GREAT place to stay.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sherpa625659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your high praise. We aspire to be "the Canyon's Best" and are so pleased to have employees that regularly go above and beyond for our guests. I often mention to parents (thinking of my own with thanks and humility about the project of teaching kids to ski) that giving your son the gift of skiing is a wonderful thing. You're providing him access to a lifetime sport. Well done! Looking forward to having you back with us soon, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017

Rustler cannot be beat for mountain access, attention to detail, caring staff and generally the best accommodations in the area. Having the ski shop with rentals right in the lodge is a real plus. It feels like a ski lodge, catering to the on and off needs of skiers. We come back every year and are always delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cpwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Alta is for skiers and the Rustler is for people who love the mountains, skiing, lodge cosiness and great food. We do care about our guests because we share the same passion. We're delighted to have you back year over year and thank you for choosing to stay with us. All the best and looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews