We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
226
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch stretch class year after year outdoor pool dining room cottonwood canyon room includes great food mountain view exceeded expectations next year end of the day hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

This was our 5th straight year coming to Rustler Lodge and we had another great ski vacation. The accommodations are high quality, the meals are excellent and the access to the mountain is superb! We rent high quality gear right in the hotel and ski-in, ski-out. The pool and hot tubs are great for Apres ski. We are already picking our dates for our next visit!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Chipster2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

The highest praise we can receive from our guests is to have you return to stay with us year after year. Thank you. Looking forward to seeing you later during this banner year and next season, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Rustler Lodge is the most unique play to stay at top tier ski resort we have found.
Warm and friendly staff make the Rustler our favorite spot but the amazing food, location, ambiance and overall facilities are also top notch.
Can't say enough nice things about this special place.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jshMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Home away from home is our goal. Thank you for your kind words and high praise. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

This is simply the best ski hotel in North America. It is run by people who are serious skiers, with a philosophy that embraces and emphasizes the skiing itself. It doesn't hurt that they have Alta at their doorstep, of course...but what really makes the Rustler special is the talented committed, veteran, long tenured management in every department. Somehow they also consistently find & hire absolutely first class seasonal staff to make the whole operation flow. Friendly, efficient, attentive. Cannot be topped.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WeaselRedLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

We're honored to host the Snow Weasel group year over year, and your visits are a highlight of our season. Thank you for your phenomenal praise! You really know the way to our hearts when you commend us as serious skiers. It is a key to appreciating the Rustler and nothing makes us happier than sharing that passion with our guests. Talented, tenured management is one way to gauge the health of a business and we thank you for noting the skills of our leadership team. It is an honor to learn from them--and from our wonderful guests who help create the Rustler culture. Thank you! Looking forward to your swift return. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

I spent the 3 days before coming to Alta at Deer Valley. Make no mistake, Deer Valley is great. But so is Alta, especially the Rustler. In contrast to DV (with scripted "my pleasure" at every turn), the staff seem genuinely friendly and helpful. Warning- if you need luxury rooms, these are not. They are, however, perfectly functional with good beds (better than Alta Peruvian), soft linens and clean bathrooms (but no marble- you'll survive or go to DV). The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The meal service provided was great as long as you're not picky about what shoulder your food is served over (DV :) ). Additional amenities were nice and clean, including eucalyptus steam room, sauna and indoor hot tub as well as outdoor. Lift access was easy to either side of the mountain being midway along the rope tow. The mountain will accommodate all levels of skiers, but is home to "the hike to/not sure if this has a name" crowd.

Room tip: 3rd floor has ski lockers and ski exit.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlpugach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

We're so pleased you found our hospitality to be genuinely friendly, and our food to be "excellent and beautifully prepared". Our Eucalyptus steam room, sauna and hot tubs as well as our outdoor heated pool, fitness area, business center, and chairlift to and from the mountain are a few things that set the Rustler apart, but we're particularly proud that Alta is for skiers of all levels. I often feel that our beginner's areas should be as famous as our steep and deep terrain. Sunnyside and Cecret areas are so beautiful, and showcase the mountain in a way that can allow anyone to fall in love with skiing from their very first try. Thank you again for your lovely review. We'll hope to ski you soon! Kind regards and many thanks for your compliments, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

Staying at the Rustler Lodge the past few days was one of our most enjoyable trips ever. The food was wonderful, as was the room, especially the extremely comfortable bed. Particularly outstanding was the staff's eagerness to make our stay as fine as possible. My wife caught a cold that kept her in on our last day. The head of the dining room overheard our conversation and offered, then brought her a thermos of ginger tea that Helen said gave her surprisingly good relief. We give the Rustler hour highest recommendation.

Room tip: A snow cat comes in the early morning to clear the lodge's path to the lifts. Staying in a higher room would help minimize the noise.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dornbusch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Your highest recommendation of the Rustler and compliments about our staff mean the world to us. So glad your bed was comfortable, food was delicious, and most importantly, your stay was enjoyable. Our sympathies regarding your wife's cold! We're glad the ginger tea was helpful and hope she has had a robust recovery by this time. Glad to hear our dining room manager's thoughtfulness was appreciated. Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews