We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 241 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Rustler Lodge is the most unique play to stay at top tier ski resort we have found.
Warm and friendly staff make the Rustler our favorite spot but the amazing food, location, ambiance and overall facilities are also top notch.
Can't say enough nice things about this special place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jshMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Home away from home is our goal. Thank you for your kind words and high praise. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017

This is simply the best ski hotel in North America. It is run by people who are serious skiers, with a philosophy that embraces and emphasizes the skiing itself. It doesn't hurt that they have Alta at their doorstep, of course...but what really makes the Rustler special is the talented committed, veteran, long tenured management in every department. Somehow they also consistently find & hire absolutely first class seasonal staff to make the whole operation flow. Friendly, efficient, attentive. Cannot be topped.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WeaselRedLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

We're honored to host the Snow Weasel group year over year, and your visits are a highlight of our season. Thank you for your phenomenal praise! You really know the way to our hearts when you commend us as serious skiers. It is a key to appreciating the Rustler and nothing makes us happier than sharing that passion with our guests. Talented, tenured management is one way to gauge the health of a business and we thank you for noting the skills of our leadership team. It is an honor to learn from them--and from our wonderful guests who help create the Rustler culture. Thank you! Looking forward to your swift return. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017

I spent the 3 days before coming to Alta at Deer Valley. Make no mistake, Deer Valley is great. But so is Alta, especially the Rustler. In contrast to DV (with scripted "my pleasure" at every turn), the staff seem genuinely friendly and helpful. Warning- if you need luxury rooms, these are not. They are, however, perfectly functional with good beds (better than Alta Peruvian), soft linens and clean bathrooms (but no marble- you'll survive or go to DV). The food was excellent and beautifully presented. The meal service provided was great as long as you're not picky about what shoulder your food is served over (DV :) ). Additional amenities were nice and clean, including eucalyptus steam room, sauna and indoor hot tub as well as outdoor. Lift access was easy to either side of the mountain being midway along the rope tow. The mountain will accommodate all levels of skiers, but is home to "the hike to/not sure if this has a name" crowd.

Room Tip: 3rd floor has ski lockers and ski exit.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlpugach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

We're so pleased you found our hospitality to be genuinely friendly, and our food to be "excellent and beautifully prepared". Our Eucalyptus steam room, sauna and hot tubs as well as our outdoor heated pool, fitness area, business center, and chairlift to and from the mountain are a few things that set the Rustler apart, but we're particularly proud that Alta is for skiers of all levels. I often feel that our beginner's areas should be as famous as our steep and deep terrain. Sunnyside and Cecret areas are so beautiful, and showcase the mountain in a way that can allow anyone to fall in love with skiing from their very first try. Thank you again for your lovely review. We'll hope to ski you soon! Kind regards and many thanks for your compliments, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

Staying at the Rustler Lodge the past few days was one of our most enjoyable trips ever. The food was wonderful, as was the room, especially the extremely comfortable bed. Particularly outstanding was the staff's eagerness to make our stay as fine as possible. My wife caught a cold that kept her in on our last day. The head of the dining room overheard our conversation and offered, then brought her a thermos of ginger tea that Helen said gave her surprisingly good relief. We give the Rustler hour highest recommendation.

Room Tip: A snow cat comes in the early morning to clear the lodge's path to the lifts. Staying in a higher room would help minimize the noise.
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dornbusch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Your highest recommendation of the Rustler and compliments about our staff mean the world to us. So glad your bed was comfortable, food was delicious, and most importantly, your stay was enjoyable. Our sympathies regarding your wife's cold! We're glad the ginger tea was helpful and hope she has had a robust recovery by this time. Glad to hear our dining room manager's thoughtfulness was appreciated. Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017

It's because the Rustler is just about the perfect ski lodge. I've read about the people who have been coming here for 20, ever 50 years and I'll be one of them. I've only stayed here three times (this is my second review of the Rustler) my wife and I will continue to stay here as long as we able to ski. The service is second to none. From making a reservation to arranging travel from the SLC AP the staff makes things easy. You'll not find a friendlier and more professional staff. It's part of the Rustler culture to have great customer service, and then includes both the permanent and the seasonal staff. The food is beyond comparison and the bar is a friendly place to have a pint or two before dinner. Go ahead and sit down next to and strike up a conversation with a stranger. After all, you've got something in common. The Jacuzzis are a great place to unwind after a day on the mountain. The on-site ski shop will wax and tune your skis overnight and have them ready the next morning by 8. The Rustler is steeped in tradition and that's the way people who stay here like it. It's not elegant but it's comfortable, it's quaint. It makes you feel like you've come home to see family you haven't seen in a year. And that is why people keep coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

"Just about the perfect ski lodge" is just about the highest praise we can receive. Thank you! The culture of friendliness and customer service starts from our owner, is continued through our upper level managers, and is part of what we work to convey to our wonderful guests. You make us happy to come to work each day. Like you, we all want to be skiing Alta 20 or even 50 years from now--and meeting at the Rustler to do it. Looking forward to your return as soon as you're able, Sheridan Davis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews