We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 241 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2017

It's because the Rustler is just about the perfect ski lodge. I've read about the people who have been coming here for 20, ever 50 years and I'll be one of them. I've only stayed here three times (this is my second review of the Rustler) my wife and I will continue to stay here as long as we able to ski. The service is second to none. From making a reservation to arranging travel from the SLC AP the staff makes things easy. You'll not find a friendlier and more professional staff. It's part of the Rustler culture to have great customer service, and then includes both the permanent and the seasonal staff. The food is beyond comparison and the bar is a friendly place to have a pint or two before dinner. Go ahead and sit down next to and strike up a conversation with a stranger. After all, you've got something in common. The Jacuzzis are a great place to unwind after a day on the mountain. The on-site ski shop will wax and tune your skis overnight and have them ready the next morning by 8. The Rustler is steeped in tradition and that's the way people who stay here like it. It's not elegant but it's comfortable, it's quaint. It makes you feel like you've come home to see family you haven't seen in a year. And that is why people keep coming back.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

"Just about the perfect ski lodge" is just about the highest praise we can receive. Thank you! The culture of friendliness and customer service starts from our owner, is continued through our upper level managers, and is part of what we work to convey to our wonderful guests. You make us happy to come to work each day. Like you, we all want to be skiing Alta 20 or even 50 years from now--and meeting at the Rustler to do it. Looking forward to your return as soon as you're able, Sheridan Davis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We've been coming to Alta's Rustler Lodge for 10 years now.......every January and every March, every year; each time that we arrive, it's like coming home. The Rustler staff, from dining to ski shop to housekeeping to desk staff to shuttle staff, spa staff,....goes all out to make our stay fun, worry-free and memorable.
As a ski lover, there is nothing better than skiing out the door in the morning to Utah powder and skiing back in at the end of a ski day to a warm lounge, superb food and newly-found friends.
Simply an awesome, charming mountain resort!

Room tip: Love, love, love the Cecret rooms!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allenpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Your review highlights exactly what we aspire to be as a lodge, and is very humbling. Thank you. It is an honor to have you stay with us multiple times a season for so many years, and to have you consider us your home away from home while here in Alta. If we can claim the title of "the Canyon's Best" it is because I truly feel we have the canyon's best guests. Thank you for proving that with your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you soon in March. PS Cecret rooms are my favorite too! Warmest regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Went on a boys trip. If you like skiing, this is the place. The staff go out of their way to make you you enjoy yourself. We were there during the NCAA National Championship game, and they served us dinner at our request in the rec room in front of the game - nice job Rebecca!Above and beyond. The skiing is ski in/out - you take a little private lift to the base of lifts in either direction from a rope pull. Really convenient from anywhere on the mountain. Alta in general has no night-life, but the Rustler has a nice bar for Apre Ski. Great place - stay here if you come to Alta!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HHN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us for your boys ski trip. "If you like skiing, this is the place" might be a future byline for us--succinct and perfect. Thank you! It is wonderful to see my colleague Rebecca receive your praise. She is terrific. We're glad you enjoyed our Eagle's Nest Lounge and the Rustler and hope to host your guys trip again when you return to Alta. Wishing you abundant snow when you do, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017

The Rustler Lodge has it all -- ski in/out, great food, ski store and accommodating service. I had a fantastic time at this well located lodge on wonderful Alta mountain. They accommodated me with late check out so I could use my room after my last day of skiing. Also, something went wrong with one of my boots (I brought my own boots). They were able to fix them and make them comfortable again. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

We appreciate you! Thank you for your compliments. We're always happy to offer a late check out when we're able and glad you could enjoy some runs before leaving what we also think of as Nirvana--Alta and the Rustler Lodge. Come back soon and thank you again for choosing to stay with us, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Superb room, space, views - got a mountain view room that was spacious and beautiful - nice décor. The program is breakfast and dinner daily, food was delicious and varied each day. Went with my husband and son and had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank SusanJ6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Susan:
Thank you for staying with us here at the Rustler and your compliments about our superb room. We hope to provide the opportunity for families, especially Moms, to truly relax and enjoy their slopeside vacations as breakfasts and dinners are provided for, allowing you more time to enjoy your family and to luxuriate in our spacious lodge and rooms. We're so glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay and we look forward to your return as soon as you are able. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews