We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
225
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub deer valley world class mountain view
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 243 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We've been coming to Alta's Rustler Lodge for 10 years now.......every January and every March, every year; each time that we arrive, it's like coming home. The Rustler staff, from dining to ski shop to housekeeping to desk staff to shuttle staff, spa staff,....goes all out to make our stay fun, worry-free and memorable.
As a ski lover, there is nothing better than skiing out the door in the morning to Utah powder and skiing back in at the end of a ski day to a warm lounge, superb food and newly-found friends.
Simply an awesome, charming mountain resort!

Room tip: Love, love, love the Cecret rooms!
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank allenpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Your review highlights exactly what we aspire to be as a lodge, and is very humbling. Thank you. It is an honor to have you stay with us multiple times a season for so many years, and to have you consider us your home away from home while here in Alta. If we can claim the title of "the Canyon's Best" it is because I truly feel we have the canyon's best guests. Thank you for proving that with your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you soon in March. PS Cecret rooms are my favorite too! Warmest regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Went on a boys trip. If you like skiing, this is the place. The staff go out of their way to make you you enjoy yourself. We were there during the NCAA National Championship game, and they served us dinner at our request in the rec room in front of the game - nice job Rebecca!Above and beyond. The skiing is ski in/out - you take a little private lift to the base of lifts in either direction from a rope pull. Really convenient from anywhere on the mountain. Alta in general has no night-life, but the Rustler has a nice bar for Apre Ski. Great place - stay here if you come to Alta!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HHN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

We appreciate your choosing to stay with us for your boys ski trip. "If you like skiing, this is the place" might be a future byline for us--succinct and perfect. Thank you! It is wonderful to see my colleague Rebecca receive your praise. She is terrific. We're glad you enjoyed our Eagle's Nest Lounge and the Rustler and hope to host your guys trip again when you return to Alta. Wishing you abundant snow when you do, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017

The Rustler Lodge has it all -- ski in/out, great food, ski store and accommodating service. I had a fantastic time at this well located lodge on wonderful Alta mountain. They accommodated me with late check out so I could use my room after my last day of skiing. Also, something went wrong with one of my boots (I brought my own boots). They were able to fix them and make them comfortable again. Will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

We appreciate you! Thank you for your compliments. We're always happy to offer a late check out when we're able and glad you could enjoy some runs before leaving what we also think of as Nirvana--Alta and the Rustler Lodge. Come back soon and thank you again for choosing to stay with us, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Superb room, space, views - got a mountain view room that was spacious and beautiful - nice décor. The program is breakfast and dinner daily, food was delicious and varied each day. Went with my husband and son and had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
Thank SusanJ6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Susan:
Thank you for staying with us here at the Rustler and your compliments about our superb room. We hope to provide the opportunity for families, especially Moms, to truly relax and enjoy their slopeside vacations as breakfasts and dinners are provided for, allowing you more time to enjoy your family and to luxuriate in our spacious lodge and rooms. We're so glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay and we look forward to your return as soon as you are able. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Comfortable beds and with a superior corner suite, more than enough room for four people. Plenty of luggage and drying space in the room and bathroom is huge (though a bit cold as there wasn't any door to close off shower space). Fill up the included humidifiers, as it makes sleeping much better. Can't remember much in the way of noise from anywhere aside from the groomers early in the morning.

Included breakfast was hearty and with a bit of cooked food variety, kept us interested for the whole week. We mostly returned for lunch as well and the food was always great. Finally dinner (again included in the rate) also had good variety and generally well executed (you definitely wouldn't go hungry here).

Tow ropes definitely a challenge for kids (mine were under 70lbs) and even my wife sometimes (she is under 110lbs) so get the free shuttle in the morning, especially if you are turning left where the end of the rope is uphill. Easy return location too. Ski shop downstairs quite comprehensive and with good service though definitely not cheap.

Comparing prices you could probably stay off property and save $300-400 per day (not a small amount) but we only ski once a year and the location and service hard to beat.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Darby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Thank you for your complimentary review and for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler. We pride ourselves on providing the most square footage and amenity package per dollar spent of any lodge in the canyon. We appreciate your description of our space and gourmet dining options as some highlights of your stay. If you'd prefer not to ski out of our property we're always happy to shuttle our guests to different areas of Alta or Snowbird. We're so glad you were able to enjoy our location and luxuriate in your slopeside vacation with us. Looking forward to your swift return, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews