We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 241 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2016

The thing I loved most about this resort was how convenient it was! It truly was a "ski-in/ski-out" resort. The most convenient I have ever seen. They picked us up from the airport, so we didn't need to rent a car. They had ski rental at the resort as well, a family size locker to hold your skis at the end of each day, and you literally just put your skis on and ski down a slope, grab a tow rope and BAM! you are at the first chair lift. It's easy enough for kids and adults of all levels. If you don't want that they will shuttle you over in a van. This would be nice if you were getting your kids to ski school because it drops you right off at the school. The close proximity is also convenient if you need to go back to your room for something or want to head in early. I love Alta and the nice range of slopes for beginners apposed to the neighboring ski resort of Snowbird. But if Snowbird is your thing (THEY allow snowboards) or you want to mix it up, the resort will shuttle you over there for the day too. The lodge has a very rustic but very classy feel to it. The rooms are spacious and the built in glove and boot dryers are a nice touch! The huge windows in the bar and dinning room give the most picturesque view of the mountain, especially when it's snowing! The lodge pays special attention to the little details like having coffee, tea and flavored water available in the lobby, small snacks etc. My husband tried the full service spa on-site for a massage and loved it! We stayed during our Spring break week, fell into a nice routine with skiing until about 4pm, hitting the outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, then enjoying an amazing 7 course gourmet meal. What's not to love? The breakfast is amazing as well. This trip is one we had to save up for but it was well worth it! This resort is popular for good reason, so book early if you want this amazing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLC439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

We appreciate your kind words and emphasis on the convenience of a stay at the Rustler. We could not have said it better--and thank you for summarizing the spaciousness, proximity and luxury of our lodge. We look forward to your swift return! Cordially, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016

I've been coming to the Rustler Lodge since I was a kid... I'm almost 60 now. The place has grown, but the service and hospitality have stayed OUTSTANDING for all these decades. I don't often write reviews, but the folks at the Rustler deserve some recognition for making my ski vacations nothing short of phenomenal over the years. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, at the Rustler gives great service. But beyond that they're just so kind and genuine with guest that the experience is like being part of a "club" or something. I love going there and hope to many times again!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view! Can't beat the view.
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mfischer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Guests like yourself are what make it an honor to work at the Rustler and be part of the storied history of this lodge and of Alta. Your kind words could not be a greater reward for our efforts and are appreciated by all. Thank you so much for your praise and we look forward to seeing you again this season for our 70th anniversary! Kind regards and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2016

This was my 6th stay at the Rustler for a ski weekend with my daughter. Great for, great ambience and ultimate convenience. Pool and hot tubs wonderful as are spa services. Most rooms have great view. Kids are prevalent

Room Tip: For quiet, avoid west end of bottom floor where skiers exit
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kamabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Returning guests like yourself are what help make the culture of the Rustler something we cherish. Thank you for the honor of choosing to spend family time on the snow here with us. We look forward to your return and hope you may join us for many years to come. With kind regards and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

Old school feel with luxury thrown in! The food is great, coffee is great, the people were so accommodating, and it's so beautiful there. I want to go back. The short trip from the airport is another bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ThreeBayMares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Thank you for choosing to make memories here at the Rustler. We are thankful to be situated in one of the most beautiful mountain locations in the world, and your description of the Rustler having an "old school feel with luxury thrown in" is perfect! Our swift access from Salt Lake International is just a bonus for our guests. Looking forward to seeing you when the snow flies, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

We love everything about Rustler Lodge. The owners and staff attention to every detail, dietary request and other preferences is quite special. The location is outstanding. True ski in and ski out. Love the rooms, the spa, heated pools, the dining( breakfast and lunch included), the bar with the most outstanding view of Alta including High Rustler and Eagles Nest, on site ski shop and each room has a ski locker on the lower level.

Room Tip: Love the Alta mountain side views! Floors 6-8 are newest.There are dorm rooms if cost is a concern. Corner rooms are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank manymiles5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

It is an honor (and it is humbling!) to host your family year after year, and to read such high praise. Thank you. We look forward to having you with us for our 70th anniversary, and appreciate you more than words can say. With kind regards and thoughts of abundant snowfall to come, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews