We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 241 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Is there such a thing as a "casual tuxedo"? The Rustler was just that, the staff, the views, the food, the location, and did I mention the views. It was just the venue to reconnect with old friends as we hunkered down and reawakened how we were connected in the first place!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmoldrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler and your appreciation for our "casual tuxedo" ambiance. We aspire to create an atmosphere where our guests may deeply relax and reconnect, and it sounds like we may have succeeded. Nothing could make us happier than hearing you had the chance to recreate the bonds of long friendship while staying with us. We welcome your return and thank you again for your stay. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016

I would highly recommend the Rustler Lodge. The location, service and food were absolutely beyond expectations. We went near the end of the season and found great snow conditions. I especially enjoyed the outdoor heated pool overlooking the mountain.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmweber1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler and your high praise for our setting, service and delicious food. Our setting is renowned for snow and the terrific end of season skiing conditions are a well-kept secret. We're glad you could enjoy our longer days and apres ski experience in our spacious heated pool from which you can watch alpenglow over all of Alta. Thank you for taking time to share your recommendation and we look forward to your swift return. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Spent an extended weekend at Alta's Rustler Lodge. The level of service and the spectacular location make this lodge the perfect place to enjoy everything Alta and Snowbird have to offer. The skiing was fantastic and the apres ski environment of the Rustler is so great - casual and relaxing. The food is off the charts as well - we will be back!!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler and your compliments about our atmosphere and setting. As a lodge we want to provide everything you might need to deeply relax while staying slopeside, and delicious, abundant food is an integral part of our offerings. We sincerely hope you will be back, and soon! Kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Bad news: they put onions in the hashbrowns and as far as I'm concerned that is grounds for firing the chef. Now that is not the only reason since almost every dish we ate had some kind of weird/off ingredient that took the food from very good to OK. Oh and ceaser salad is aweful, and they said it was home made, well in that case go to the store for gods sake. Lastly the apres ski snacks are worthless, between the time you ski and dinner prepare to be "H-angry".

Good news: the people, service and accommodation are impeccable. Location rocks and the pool/spa is excellent.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank aj0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler and your compliments and critique. We're so glad you found our staff, service and lodging impeccable, and that you enjoyed our excellent setting, heated pool and Jacuzzis, as well as full-service in-house spa.

I apologize you were not pleased with our food. We aim to provide many delicious options and abundant portions for our guests. Our Chef and kitchen staff are happy to meet with you at the beginning of your stay to offer choices that might be more to your liking. Our tea and coffee table is always available to our guests with healthy fruit and beverages to stave off hunger between meals. Our daily apres ski offerings in our lounge or at our drink table include crudites and options like steamed salmon or mussels in white wine, but we welcome your suggestions for snacks you would prefer.

Thank you again for your candid feedback and we hope you may choose to stay at the Rustler with us in the future. Kind regards and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2016

On approaching the hotel for the first time, keep in mind you are entering from the back of the property. The classic old school lodge look at first alarmed us to a kitschy formula, but the front desk and manager on duty were first rate and put us at rest.
In a word this hotel is great. It's the best at Alta and with ski-in, ski-out coupled with lockers, rental shop, spa, outdoor heated pool, hot tubs, steam room and an adults only bar that is the best view in the valley, surprisingly great. The food (breakfast and dinner are included) is above average and kitchen is incredibly flexible. The aforementioned bar has happy hour food and a blazing fire and no kids.
The nicest surprise was a terrific kids table wherein you drop your kids off at 5:45 and a large group is carted off a private dining area behind the kitchen. The staff feeds them, breaks out some arts and crafts, and then brings them to the activity room on the top floor to watch a movie. At 8 o'clock you are reunited with the children.
It's a wonderful way to allow the kids to play and the adults to relax for dinner and a drink.
We'll be returning as we have yet to find a more entertaining ski location.

Room tip: Mountain facing rooms are: 1. More expensive 2. much nicer view 3. not annoyed by the sound of early morning trucks or snow plows.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for your glowing review. It is a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed the Rustler. We're so glad you and your children enjoyed our kid's program which along with the other highlights you mention is an offering that helps set us apart in the world of ski lodging. Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we look forward to having you back at your earliest convenience. Kind regards and think snow! Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews