We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
226
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch stretch class year after year outdoor pool dining room cottonwood canyon room includes great food mountain view exceeded expectations next year end of the day hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

Great stay at the Rustler.
They delivered on their value proposition of great service and location, location, location.
Got lucky and even got a nice dump of snow to cap my last day of skiing.
The team in the powder house did a great job of fitting me with demo equipment and this is always a very nice feature of my stays here.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank rkilmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler and taking time to post your complimentary review. Part of what makes a stay with us so relaxing is our slopeside location next to some of the best skiing in the world. We strive to make our service equally exceptional and appreciate your emphasizing our strengths. The Rustler Powder House is a key part of that equation and like you, we appreciate their skilled staff. Looking forward to having you return for what we hope will be a banner ski year. Kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

This is a very laid back lodge. It is a great ski out lodge with fantastic views. The spa is solid and we had a great time in the heated pool.

The food in the restaurant is excellent and the staff is attentive.
Amazing breakfasts and dinner included.

This is a great place!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 944JamesM944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

James, thank you for your kind words. We're glad you found our lodge laid-back, as we hope our guests may fully relax during their stays with us. You've summed up what we hope to provide at the Rustler perfectly, and we look forward to your return this coming season. Thank you again. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

Alta, and Rustler specifically, is the antidote to Deer Valley's splendiferousness. Rustler sits on the only Avalanche-proof spot in Little Cottonwood Canyon - a little promontory with its own short chair lift, almost equidistant between both of Alta's bases: Albion and Wildcat - perfect. Dinner is included in the room rate because, well, there aren't a lot of other options. Despite this "captive audience" factor, that might otherwise result in Soviet-era gruel, the food is both excellent and varied. Perhaps a testament to the ability to know their number of diners in advance and then plan and execute against those metrics. The only minor nit is periodic service slights, which is eminently understandable give all the wait staff are generally young and thinking about the next day's tracks. The common areas soar - literally - with 2 story windows in dining room and lounge, overlooking the mountain from Rustler's promontory. The bar/lounge is a great spot in the morning to sip coffee and bang-out any requisite work e-mails to the sound of Alta's howitzer charges cutting the Avalanche risk (the road to Alta is apparently the most Avalanche-prone in the US) - heaven. Après-ski, the outdoor heated pool & jacuzzi are a true bonus and their view of the mountain & sunsets down the canyon, just stunning. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, though bathrooms merely utilitarian. My daughter cracked me up by saying the cinder-block hallways reminded her of "an El Chapo escape tunnel." No matter - The real luxury here is the fact Alta is a great mountain and Rustler is under-stated luxury of the best kind: everything you need under one roof and so very easy to let go of quotidian worries. I'm going back in 3 weeks for a guys ski weekend and literally can't wait.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ARationalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Ken, thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words and excellent summation of what we try to do best--provide an old fashioned and luxurious ski lodge experience. We take great pride in the depth and quality of our culinary offerings and soaring spaces and feel we do live in a corner of the world that is snow heaven. We're glad you can't wait to return--we feel the same way about you! Thank you for articulating much of what makes the Rustler so special. Kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016

My wife and I surprised our kids with a week long ski trip to Alta, UT. We stayed at the Rustler Lodge and can't imagine a more perfect stay. The Rustler staff were incredibly helpful, attentive and personable. We drove our rental car into the covered garage, handed the keys to a staff member and our bags were waiting in the room when we opened the door.

We had our rental equipment sized and ready to go in no time and were able to get a few runs in the first day. Having the ski shop inside the Lodge may renting quick and easy -especially for our 5 & 9 year olds.

We had 2 adjoining rooms. Our room had a king bed and the kids' room had 2 queens with pull-out couch. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Large bathrooms with extra sinks were much appreciated. Tons of hooks to hang ski gear and jackets. We all slept like rocks.

Food: We ate breakfast and dinner at the Rustler every day during our visit. The food was amazing. We did not here a single complaint from any of the kids. We fueled up each morning at the breakfast buffet and tried everything on the menu each night. The dinner specials were delicious and the waitstaff were exceptional. The Rustler offered a kids dinner on the weekend where our kids ate as a group with other kids followed by crafts and a movie. My wife and I enjoyed a nice dinner (without kids)!

The outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi were such a great way to end our day. I was nice to relax and soothe our sore muscles after a long day skiing.

We can't wait to go back to the Rustler. Thank you for an amazing vacation.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank H2352SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Our goal is to create a seamless vacation for all of our guests, kids and adults. That you cannot imagine a more perfect stay is the highest compliment for all of us, and we look forward to your swift return in this our 70th anniversary year. Thank you for your amazing review. Kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

My husband and I have come here for years. It is a ski in- ski out lodge on the best slopes anywhere. Almost always have great snow. The price of the room includes an anything you want for breakfast and a fabulous 4 course dinner every night with many chioices. The staff is great. Tom, the owner, is always around and dinner at the Wasatch table with Sherman and other guests is a great way to meet other guests. Free drinks and horses d'our vessel every night. If you want to ski, not shop, thus is the only place to be. It is a short drive from the airport so you can skip on your travel days...impossible anywhere in Colorado.

Room tip: It seems that all rooms have mountain views.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LisaGutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2016

Dear Lisa:
Thank you for your gracious review and kind compliments. It is an honor to host you and your husband here at the Rustler, and your wonderful company is always welcome at the Wasatch table. We agree Alta is THE place to ski, and hope to have room for you and your tall drink of water for many years to come. Our access door to door from the airport to the Rustler is without compare but we'll keep that our secret! Warm regards and hopes to see you in the near future, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews