We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 241 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

The experience at the Rustler begins long before arrival. After reserving on line, you are promptly contacted by e-mail to confirm all the details. Shortly before your arrival date they contact you again to orient you to the lodge and help plan your stay. We called the spa before arrival to schedule treatments from a wonderful menu of services and they were very helpful. They also help you arrange transportation if you wish and we used the highly recommended Alta Shuttle.

On arrival at the Rustler you are greeted warmly as if you are returning to a friend's home. Jackie and Rebecca greeted us and checked us in. They gave us a helpful overview and answered all our questions. Robert, the bellman, handled our luggage and showed us to our room. He then gave us a tour of the lodge which was very useful. We then enjoyed a drink at the Eagle's Nest bar with a very nice wine/beer list and a full bar. John, Kim, and Zac gave great friendly service all week. The roaring wood fire helped give great atmosphere not to mention the fantastic view. In the early evening there would be complimentary hors d'oeuvres in the bar.

The meals at the restaurant were all top notch and the service was attentive every night. Renee, George, Amber, and Steve were standouts. Chelsea and Madeline always presented a friendly greeting and took us to our table.

The room was spacious and comfortable with fabulous mountain views. The ski in ski out experience we had was the best ever with a convenient large locker a few feet from the slopes and a chair lift to return you to your comfy digs at the end of a great day skiing. The full service ski shop on site is a huge plus.

Another bonus is the spa on site which is located next to the pool area. There is an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi or an indoor jacuzzi if you prefer along with sauna and steam room. Shower and changing facilities with abundant towels are right there at your fingertips.

Overall our experience at Alta's Rustler Lodge helped make this a relaxing epic ski vacation. We are already planning our return!

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
2  Thank JJD-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Thank you for your compliments and for remembering many of our talented and dedicated staff members by name in your glowing review. We could not ask for higher praise. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Rustler. With kind regards and hoping to see you again in the near future, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

7 high maintenance spoiled rotten old guys committed to fantastic skiing meet at the Rustler almost every year and we all agree that the accommodations, the unbelievably attentive, professional staff and the fabulous food make this lodge worthy of the best reviews imaginable. Book it. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Gentlemen, may your visits to the Rustler never end. Your praise is generous and we appreciate it. Looking forward to celebrating our 70th anniversary with you this year. Thinking of your return and with hopes for deep powder snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

The 'grooming' at the Rustler is like perfect powder on a corduroy base. It's flawless. The food isn't 'ski area great' it's truly GREAT. Full stop. The facilities are perfectly attuned to the clientele and of course the location is beyond compare. But you could have all this and still not put it together right. What cements the experience here is the people, from bottom to top, everyone is friendly, eager to engage and to help you enjoy your vacation. If you could you'd take them all home with you. But I'd rather they stay in Alta because I'm going back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Home is where the heart is, and we're delighted to have yours here with us at Alta's Rustler Lodge. Your compliments on our care and gourmet meals are wonderful--thank you. We believe we have "the canyon's best" guests and your praise proves it. We sincerely hope to see you as soon as you can return. May our 70th season be a banner snow year! With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016

I have stayed at a couple of locations at Alta. I love Alta! Best snow and skiing EVER!
We stayed at the Rustler this past trip and we LOVED it! Food is amazing, bar area comfy and beautiful with great views, staff extremely friendly, and rooms were clean and comfortable. I am already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brenda9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

What a pleasure to host you and receive such gracious praise. We look forward to your next trip staying with up, the follow-up visit of what we hope will be many to come. As I write you snow is falling heavily here, and we encourage your swift return! With kind regards and many thanks, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

The Rustler Lodge is a quant, cozy, upscale facility.
Awesome service, accomidations and location.
Management, front desk, banquet service staff and John at the bar were all exceptional.
They take great care of our group of 12 each year.
The food is gourmet.
The outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and spa is an after ski highlight.
The management and staff will go out of their way to accommodate the needs of the guest including after hours meals for late arrivals, accommodations for skiing the day you check out and help arranging ground transportation.
The Rustler offers après ski specials each day.
House cleaning was also exceptional. They check with the quest each night to make sure you are ok and to deliver you a mint.
The layout of the facility is especially user friendly.
The ski shop is well staffed and supplied. Great tuning and rental service.
The quest are even special, many returning year after year.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Our guests, with the high praise you offer in this review, convince us that they are "the canyon's best" and help sustain our unique Rustler Lodge culture. Thank you for your comprehensive and complimentary review, and for specifically mentioning our wonderful John Frawley--a legend! As I write, snow is falling heavily here in Alta. We look forward to your group's repeated return as soon as possible to enjoy it. Thank you and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews