We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
226
12
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
12
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch stretch class year after year outdoor pool dining room cottonwood canyon room includes great food mountain view exceeded expectations next year end of the day hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 246 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2016

The 'grooming' at the Rustler is like perfect powder on a corduroy base. It's flawless. The food isn't 'ski area great' it's truly GREAT. Full stop. The facilities are perfectly attuned to the clientele and of course the location is beyond compare. But you could have all this and still not put it together right. What cements the experience here is the people, from bottom to top, everyone is friendly, eager to engage and to help you enjoy your vacation. If you could you'd take them all home with you. But I'd rather they stay in Alta because I'm going back as soon as I can.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Home is where the heart is, and we're delighted to have yours here with us at Alta's Rustler Lodge. Your compliments on our care and gourmet meals are wonderful--thank you. We believe we have "the canyon's best" guests and your praise proves it. We sincerely hope to see you as soon as you can return. May our 70th season be a banner snow year! With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016

I have stayed at a couple of locations at Alta. I love Alta! Best snow and skiing EVER!
We stayed at the Rustler this past trip and we LOVED it! Food is amazing, bar area comfy and beautiful with great views, staff extremely friendly, and rooms were clean and comfortable. I am already planning my next trip.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brenda9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

What a pleasure to host you and receive such gracious praise. We look forward to your next trip staying with up, the follow-up visit of what we hope will be many to come. As I write you snow is falling heavily here, and we encourage your swift return! With kind regards and many thanks, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

The Rustler Lodge is a quant, cozy, upscale facility.
Awesome service, accomidations and location.
Management, front desk, banquet service staff and John at the bar were all exceptional.
They take great care of our group of 12 each year.
The food is gourmet.
The outdoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and spa is an after ski highlight.
The management and staff will go out of their way to accommodate the needs of the guest including after hours meals for late arrivals, accommodations for skiing the day you check out and help arranging ground transportation.
The Rustler offers après ski specials each day.
House cleaning was also exceptional. They check with the quest each night to make sure you are ok and to deliver you a mint.
The layout of the facility is especially user friendly.
The ski shop is well staffed and supplied. Great tuning and rental service.
The quest are even special, many returning year after year.

Room tip: All rooms are great
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Our guests, with the high praise you offer in this review, convince us that they are "the canyon's best" and help sustain our unique Rustler Lodge culture. Thank you for your comprehensive and complimentary review, and for specifically mentioning our wonderful John Frawley--a legend! As I write, snow is falling heavily here in Alta. We look forward to your group's repeated return as soon as possible to enjoy it. Thank you and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

We have been coming to Utah every year for over 20 years with a large group of guys (10-14). We have tried most of the ski resorts and many different places to stay and nothing compares to the Alta mountain for great skiing and The Rustler for first class accommodations. You absolutely can not beat The Rustler for convenience, true ski-in ski-out with a private lift to get you back to the lodge. The staff is friendly and very customer oriented. The rooms are not overly fancy but very nice with comfortable beds and very clean. The breakfast is one of the best anywhere and the dinners were also delicious with many choices available and large portions for those that are hungry. The ski shop in the Lodge is top notch and the Spa with warm pool, Jacuzzi and steam room are a must after a full day of skiing.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank gregdJ9914OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for choosing to host your group skiing trip tradition at the Rustler. We're honored. Your praise could not be more deeply appreciated. Looking forward to seeing your group again for what we hope will be a banner year for our 70th anniversary. Our best to you and think snow, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2016

I stayed at all of the lodges at Alta and like the Rustler the best. They are very accommodating with our large group of 18-24 guys. The food is great. The rooms are fine. The pre-dinner snacks and bar work out well. The outdoor hot tub and pool are the best. The whole staff is friendly and helpful. It's definitely more expensive than the other lodges but worth it.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank docmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Your group is wonderful. Thank you for the accolades. Looking forward to the honor of hosting you again for what we hope will be a banner snow year to celebrate our 70th anniversary. With kind regards, Sheridan Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews