We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
MikeBOS
Boston, MA

Everything you could want in a ski lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 7, 2016
If you are looking for a very comfortable and convenient place to spend a few days or a week skiing, this place has it all. Very nice rooms -- not luxurious as you'd expect at a Four Seasons or Rosewood, but very nicely thought out with lots of nice touches: plenty of storage, comfortable bed, spacious, and they even provide a humidifier to help with the dry air at altitude. Service is extraordinary; the staff is extremely accommodating and will go above and beyond to handle just about any request you might make. The location is perfect for skiing, with a chairlift taking you back to the door at the end of the day, and the ski shop in the lodge is very well equipped, not basic as you might expect in a satellite branch. The people who work at the Rustler love Alta, and love being there, and it shows in the service and their enthusiasm.

The only caveat I would offer, and it is minor, is that at peak periods (during holiday week) they are stretched pretty thin handling a full house of guests. Service in the restaurant can be slow at times, and it can get difficult to make dinner reservations so you get the times you want. Most nights, though, the service and the food was very good; this is really a very minor nit in an otherwise extraordinary experience.

Overall the Rustler is one of my favorite places for a ski trip anywhere, and I've stayed at great places in most of the major Western ski resorts in the US, and resorts in Europe.
Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this review
Responded Oct 3, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Rustler. Our management and staff do love Alta, our lodge, and our guests. We're living the dream, and want to help our guests do the same while staying at what we hope will be their home away from home here at the Rustler.

Thank you for your critique regarding our service levels during high holiday season. We aspire to be "the Canyon's Best" at all times, and will look at how we may exceed our guest's expectations during maximum capacity. I apologize for any challenges in this regard. Your feedback is invaluable and we thank you for it.

This season marks our 70th anniversary. We welcome the opportunity to host you again for what we hope will be a year of abundant snowfall, celebrations and lodging here at the Rustler. With warm regards, Sheridan Davis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
$299
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Priceline
    $299
0.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $149
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Hotels.com
$209
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $209
  • Vio.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $209
1.2 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
GREAT pool and the hot-tub seats 20
Booking.com
$189
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Priceline
    $189
  • Hotels.com
    $179
1.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
3.1 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior View
Hotels.com
$665
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $665
  • Booking.com
    $665
  • Hotel Website
    $665
6.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
$364
$309
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $309
  • Booking.com
    $364
  • Skyscanner.com
    $309
7.5 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$130
$115
  • Skyscanner.com
    $115
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Trip.com
    $130
7.6 miles from Alta's Rustler Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Alta
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
377
12
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop the outdoor heated pool top notch stretch class ski vacation breakfast and dinner dining room year after year morning stretch place to stay cottonwood canyon great food mountain view eagles nest next year the entire staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 398 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2015

I cannot say enough great things about our most recent stay at the Rustler. Everything exceeded expectations: from the attentive and professional staff, the fantastic skiing, perhaps the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in (felt like 6,000+ thread count sheets!), delicious and bountiful food, and super relaxing setting. We will be back again...and again! Keep up the great work!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dartspc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Second year in a row and my stay at the Rustler was perfect! Wonderful to return and see the many friendly and very attentive 'can-do' staff. I enjoyed three gourmet meals a day – all very delicious with new items each day. The room was super comfortable and spacious with a terrific view of the mountain. I highly recommend the Rustler.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieAdamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

While the hotel has the basic look and feel of a ski lodge, it boasts all the amenities of a high end resort. I loved the ski-in/ski-out aspect of the lodge, as well as the delicious food which they were happy to adjust to accommodate my gluten-free allergy.What stood out to me the most was the excellent service. Everyone who worked at the lodge was beyond friendly and willing to go above and beyond to assist us in any way. I also loved the family owned feel of the property. 5 stars for our Rustler experience!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dessertdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

This place is one of my favorites now in Utah. Their location is awesome and they have great customer service. This is really excellent for skiing and family winter vacation. Rooms are very comfortable to go with family. Is next to snow bird you can walk and spend all day at the snow mountain having fun. I want to go back. Loved it.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 488alexanderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 4, 2015

Yes, this is an older property. It has an interesting layout, since newer portions of the lodge and older are joined together, but I can't wait to go back!

First, the Customer Service is exlempary. Anything at all that you need, the staff will do their best to accomodate you. This was a girl ski trip - just a great friend and I trying to find the best sping conditions. Somewhere between Aspen and Alta, my friend's suitcase took the worst beating ever by the airlines. Our first day on the slopes included shopping for a new suitcase/duffel. We found one, on the Snowbird side. We called and asked the Rustler if they could assist in getting the bag back to the hotel. We were so pleased to find it in the room when the lifts closed!

Next - the beds. We were in a room with two twins. The linens are amazingly soft high count cotton. The mattress is like a cloud. Pillows? Perfect.

We were also lucky enough to be slope side. The balcony was a great place to end the day and to dry our gear wet from spring conditions.

Room tip: The balcony is fantastic.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review with TripAdvisor members.

I am humbled by your comments that our "customer service is exemplary". That truly means the world to us. The Rustler Lodge strives to go above and beyond for all guests and to provide the best customer service in the canyon.

I also want to thank you for your detailed description of our "amazingly soft linens" and mattress that "is like a cloud". I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your balcony and full Mountain View just as much as the quality of our sheets.

We hope to welcome you back to Alta and the Rustler Lodge for the 2015-16 winter ski season!

Thank you again for your time,
Courtney Brattin
Courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews