We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 241 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

This place is one of my favorites now in Utah. Their location is awesome and they have great customer service. This is really excellent for skiing and family winter vacation. Rooms are very comfortable to go with family. Is next to snow bird you can walk and spend all day at the snow mountain having fun. I want to go back. Loved it.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Alexander C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2015

Yes, this is an older property. It has an interesting layout, since newer portions of the lodge and older are joined together, but I can't wait to go back!

First, the Customer Service is exlempary. Anything at all that you need, the staff will do their best to accomodate you. This was a girl ski trip - just a great friend and I trying to find the best sping conditions. Somewhere between Aspen and Alta, my friend's suitcase took the worst beating ever by the airlines. Our first day on the slopes included shopping for a new suitcase/duffel. We found one, on the Snowbird side. We called and asked the Rustler if they could assist in getting the bag back to the hotel. We were so pleased to find it in the room when the lifts closed!

Next - the beds. We were in a room with two twins. The linens are amazingly soft high count cotton. The mattress is like a cloud. Pillows? Perfect.

We were also lucky enough to be slope side. The balcony was a great place to end the day and to dry our gear wet from spring conditions.

Room tip: The balcony is fantastic.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review with TripAdvisor members.

I am humbled by your comments that our "customer service is exemplary". That truly means the world to us. The Rustler Lodge strives to go above and beyond for all guests and to provide the best customer service in the canyon.

I also want to thank you for your detailed description of our "amazingly soft linens" and mattress that "is like a cloud". I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your balcony and full Mountain View just as much as the quality of our sheets.

We hope to welcome you back to Alta and the Rustler Lodge for the 2015-16 winter ski season!

Thank you again for your time,
Courtney Brattin
Courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights in March 2015. Overall, a positive experience and would likely stay again if we chose to ski Alta. But the prices are about the same as options for Deer Valley, so might choose that in a year when Deer Valley has better snow.

Stayed for one night in a newly-renovated Alpenglow room. Moved because of a very noisy heater. Stayed two nights in superior corner; worth the money (as long as not on the bottom floor because people would walk right by your windows). Much more light and room, and although not as recently renovated, perfectly acceptable if a little dated décor.

Ask the desk for help on choosing a room - and note the hotel is built into a hillside, so what is ground level on one side is not on the other....

What we liked:
1. Location - ski down to rope tow to get to Alta lifts. Take Rustler chair back up at end of day. Could not be easier.
2. On-site ski rental shop - prices maybe a little higher but oh so convenient and good ski options
3. Spa - had a couple really good massages; but had to call multiple times to actually reach someone and book - they don't return voicemails
4. Food - good vegetarian and gluten free options; appreciate that because meals are included in the price, you can get room service at no additional charge (and it was quick)
5. Proximity to SLC airport (about 45 minutes)
6. The skiing at Alta - no snowboards, which is good by us. Snowbird does allow snowboards and you can get there by shuttle or from the top of Alta
7. Lift passes available at hotel

What we would suggest be improved:

1. Staff was adequate but nothing special (based on reviews, I expected more personality). More than once while eating in restaurant, heard staff sniping at each other.
2. It's expensive - I think our rate was close to $900 a night including food. I realize it's high season and there aren't many options in Alta. But for that, I'd expect glasses in rooms (not plastic cups in plastic) and ideally coffee makers. Coffee is available in the hall, and I realize individual makers might be pains - but they are pretty standard at hotels at lower price points.
3. Follow through could be better - they nicely took orders for meals because we were arriving late one night and would miss dinner. After specifying vegetarian and gluten free (needed for medical reasons), we got a chicken salad with croutons....

In the end, if we go back to Alta, I think we'd stay there. I peeked in the Alta Lodge and didn't think it was comparable.

Room tip: Ask the desk for help - high floor facing mountain is best - the other side looks out on the road and a not very attractive hillside.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts about the Rustler Lodge.

I enjoyed reading your review and hearing all of the things you enjoyed about Alta and the Rustler! It delights me to hear how convenient you found the location of the lodge to be, along with our chairlift and ski shop.

I am sorry to hear about the noisy heater in the new Alpenglow room. The problem with the heater has been repaired and we apologize that the correction wasn’t made prior to your stay. I am glad however, to hear you enjoyed your new room!

It is important to us that each and every guest is completely satisfied with accommodations while staying at the Rustler Lodge. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and hope to welcome you back for the 2015-16 winter ski season.

Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015

Great five star resort: ski in-ski out homey resort, perfectly located on the Alta mountain. Staff is incredibly helpful, kind and service oriented. Meals are sensational. Your stay includes breakfast and dinner and it is a fantastic place for a family trip! Our kids love coming back and we hope to return for spring skiing for years to come!

The outdoor heated pool, hot tub, & steam room are perfect to rejuvenate sore muscles after skiing. Certainly on the expensive end, but an ultimate ski vacation.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 295garyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Gary,

I am glad you and your family were able to join us for some Spring Skiing! Thank you for writing such a positive review about the Rustler Lodge!

I appreciate that you took the time to single out the quality of our service and for noting that the “meals are sensational.” As you said, breakfast and dinner are included in your daily rates and I love hearing that you are your family enjoyed each and every meal.

Here at the lodge our staff strives to provide only the best customer service. We believe all of our guests are truly a part of the Rustler family, and hope to welcome each and every person back! I cannot wait to welcome you and your family back for the 2015-16 winter ski season!

Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

By far the nicest lodge in Alta. It has the whole package: great views from everywhere, fantastic bar and dining room (real wood fireplaces), great, attentive staff, many differently configured rooms, all the amenities you could wish for, free shuttles around Alta and Snowbird,and,, oh yes, the food is great. You will appreciate the short chair lift to the lodge at the end of the day...all the other lodges have rope tows.

Room tip: Get an upper floor with a clear view of the mountain.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RexallWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Greetings from Alta and the Rustler Lodge! Thank you for staying with us this past season and taking the time to write such a pleasing review about the Rustler Lodge!

I enjoyed reading all of the positives you found while staying with us. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our full service spa, along with our complimentary shuttles around Alta and Snowbird. After a long day of skiing I couldn’t agree more that taking our chair lift at the end of the day is just the break your legs are looking for. Followed by drinks and appetizers in the Eagles Nest Lounge, and then the spa for the perfect après.

Thank you again for all of the positive feedback, I look forward to welcoming you two back to Alta and the Rustler Lodge!

Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews