We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 241 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2015

By far the nicest lodge in Alta. It has the whole package: great views from everywhere, fantastic bar and dining room (real wood fireplaces), great, attentive staff, many differently configured rooms, all the amenities you could wish for, free shuttles around Alta and Snowbird,and,, oh yes, the food is great. You will appreciate the short chair lift to the lodge at the end of the day...all the other lodges have rope tows.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor with a clear view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RexallWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Greetings from Alta and the Rustler Lodge! Thank you for staying with us this past season and taking the time to write such a pleasing review about the Rustler Lodge!

I enjoyed reading all of the positives you found while staying with us. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our full service spa, along with our complimentary shuttles around Alta and Snowbird. After a long day of skiing I couldn’t agree more that taking our chair lift at the end of the day is just the break your legs are looking for. Followed by drinks and appetizers in the Eagles Nest Lounge, and then the spa for the perfect après.

Thank you again for all of the positive feedback, I look forward to welcoming you two back to Alta and the Rustler Lodge!

Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed for three days in Alta in early April '15. My husband and kids skied while I relaxed and had spa treatments. The views were beautiful. The food was great. THe spa was lovely. I would definitely go back. We had a suite of rooms 810-811, with a door open between them. The only slight negative there is that room 811 (?) has an unpleasant view of of gravel, garage doors, and the road. This is because the hotel is built into a hill and these top floor rooms actually look out the back of the building. From the other room (810) there were descent views of the mountains out the side windows. Beds were very comfortable also. On our way out we stopped at another hotel and took a tram up to the mountain top. THis was perfect for me because I didn't get to see the view from the top of the ski runs otherwise. Just stunning. One thing I might do differently is stay longer-- getting used to the altitude was an issue for most of us.

Room Tip: You should try and get rooms that look out to the front of the building at the mountains, rather than out the back at the road.
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Catherine,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review with TripAdvisor members.

I am grateful for all of the positive and kind words you have said about the Rustler Lodge! It always puts a smile on my face to hear about families truly enjoying their time on the slopes as well as time at the lodge. Although you weren’t skiing, I am glad you found yourself in our relaxing and lovely full service spa.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when booking your next stay with us. I would be happy to go over room configurations that would accommodate your family with full mountain views if available!

Thank you again for your time,
Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2015

My daughter and i had a wonderful time at Alta with the Rustler as our hotel. Dinner and breakfast were included in the room rate and we found the food great (she is a vegetarian and they accommodated her with many off menu entrees even though there were always some vegetarian options on the menu) and I always found more than one option that was very much to my liking. The breakfast brunch is excellent with many offerings of all types. The staff was helpful and pleasant and our room with a beautiful view of the mountain had the basics and was comfortable (there are rooms that have no view, but I recommend getting one with the mountain view as it is so pleasant to sit in your room (or on your balcony) and look out at the beautiful vista.

Room Tip: As I said above choose a room with a view -- and if the weather is mild also with a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terri10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2015

Terri,

Thank you for choosing the Rustler Lodge as your accommodation while staying in Alta. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It is people and reviews like yours that put us at the top!

Thank you for the overwhelming words about the staff and the dining room. I believe we have the best breakfast and dinner in the Canyon, and it is rewarding to hear guests enjoying our food as much as I do. I am glad to hear we were able to accommodate dishes for your vegetarian daughter along with being able to accommodate multiple meals to your liking each evening.

We hope to welcome you and your daughter back for the 2015-16 winter ski season! I assure you, the outstanding mountain views will be awaiting your next arrival.

Courtney Brattin
courtney@rustlerlodge.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2015

By no means do I want people to think that Rustler's lodge is a bad hotel; that's really not the case. BUT, it is absolutely not worth the fantastic amount of money that they get away with charging for their rooms. They charge around $700/night for a single room, or in my case $220/night for a shared dorm with three beds. This is absolute highway robbery. For $700/night/room or even $200 they had better have beautiful gleaming fixtures, new carpeting, clean washrooms, and immaculate spa facilities. What I found was a tiny single bed, paper thin walls where I was often kept awake late into the night, an absurdly small washroom with a bin with ear plugs (clearly they know there is a problem with sound transmission) and old fixtures. The carpets need to be completely re-done and the place needs to be renovated to bring it into the 21st century. No TV in my room, no TVs in main area, and the mens changeroom smelt like mould.

Again, I don't think it deserves a bad rating as its a beautiful hotel with great service, good (not great) food and average rooms; just when you charge $700/night it should look like a four seasons, not a holiday inn.

nb: other great features are location to slopes (quick ski over), chair lift built just for the lodge to bring you back up, and spectacular outdoor pool and hot tub where you can look at the hills. Again, not to be understated is the stellar service and beautiful bar.

Room Tip: ask for new recently renovated rooms, apparently they are better
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

Alta is world class skiing at reasonable prices. Rustler's is the toniest Alta resort. The rooms however are ordinary and dated but with incredible views. The location is perfect though the service is uneven. The pool and hot tub are in a majestic setting. Rustler guests are quite moneyed and quite friendly. Many grandparents treating their grandkids. If you love bargains though pass this pricey venue.

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews