We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Alta/Snowbird”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alta's Rustler Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I really don't think there is a better place to stay in Alta-Snowbird. When I go to Snowbird I stay at the Cliff Lodge (on years when I try to save money). When I go to Alta I stay at the Rustler. I usually end up skiing both mountains with the combined pass.

I actually don't know if I really end up saving money at the Cliff because their meals are expensive. Also the Cliff has some downsides in comparison to the Rustler: worse food, more impersonal pool area, more impersonal staff.

The Rustler, in comparison, is at Alta, which I think is a huge plus, and also has terrific food and staff. I love reading the snow report there every morning. It's serviced by its own lift. The pool, hot tub, and gym are all fantastic.

My vote goes to the Rustler.

Room Tip: Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidgolfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Amazing ski in/out location, incredibly beautiful views, and 98 degree outdoor swimming pool are a great start. Add to that a relaxed atmosphere that is at the same time casual and elegant. Add to that exquisite dinners and hearty breakfasts included in your "Modified American Plan" package. Add to that an outstanding and professional staff that goes out of their way to deliver impeccable service. (We casually mentioned our son's tree nut allergy when ordering desert our first night, and every other waiter was all over it all week!) Add to that the fact that you won't have to put on shoes (other than ski boots or slippers) or take out your wallet all week. Add that all up, and good luck finding a better place to spend a ski vacation. Oh, and then there is the incredible Alta skiing. Yowza!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_m32831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have been staying here for years, the staff is friendly, the food is great and the skiing is excellent. There is a really nice gym and outdoor hot tub. This is a great place to relax and ski and have fun. They are family friendly too. It is expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There is a reason the Rustler Lodge is the top rated place to stay in Alta. If you can get a reservation there, do it! First, the staff is outstanding - they went out of their way to help us get the very last room available. The full staff is great from general mgm't to reception to housekeeping to waiters to bartenders to the ski shop team. The ambiance is wonderful and the location is perfect with views of the mountains from the lounge, dining room, and private rooms. The ski in / out option made the stay very easy and the heated pool was perfect after an active day of skiing. I have skied Utah for years now - some of the very best skiing around and lots of snow even in early April. If you visit the Rustler, you are assured to have a fabulous time. We will be back. Enjoy. Book now! Smile. A special thanks to the staff there!!

Room Tip: Face the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriskeslmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the rustler as "newbies" and understand why most of the clientele return year after year. The location is amazing, both for the views and the ski-in ski-out convenience. The service is impeccable and accomodating but not at all fawning and uncomfortable. While this is one of the pricier options in Alta, the ambiance is very down to earth. It's okay to show up in the dining room in jeans. (Speaking of which, the meals are very good, with a nice variety of choices, including several less exotic options for the picky eaters in the crowd. The chef does a particularly nice job with vegetables, including the vegetarian entrees. The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful and can be supplemented from the kitchen if you prefer something that needs to be made to order, like chocolate chip pancakes.) The pool, jacuzzi, steam room, fitness center and spa services are all very nice. Every room has its own locker by the door to the slopes, so there's no lugging of equipment all over the place, and there's a decent ski shop in the hotel where you can rent equipment or pick up anything you forgot to pack. The front desk will take care of your lift pass (and anything else you can think of!) Our room was spacious for three, was quiet, and had a nice view of the slopes (and a balcony.) There was plenty of storage space, and everything was comfortable and functional. We liked that there were two sinks -- it makes getting ready for the day MUCH easier. (The rooms are testimony, however, to the fact that there are many shades of brown and they don't all go together!) Remember, though, that Alta is about skiing and only skiing. If you're looking for a place with a vibrant nightlife, lots of restaurants, or fun shopping, this is the wrong destination for you. If you like that, though, the Rustler is a great choice for understated luxury and a stressless vacation. We sincerely hope that we can return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenStateThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

There is no place at any ski area i've been to like the Rustler -- management and staff is all about how to make your stay perfect! ski-in/ski-out, yoga stretch in the am, hot outdoor swimming pool after a full day of powder ... friendly bar and then a great dinner with friends. Been coming here for 10 years and look forward to next trip ...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Management is outstanding and customer service FAR exceeded my expectations. Alta skiing is great, the location of the Rustler is perfect. Bar and dining are outstanding (their Bloody Mary's are exceptionally good). The service and attentiveness of the Rustler's staff exceeds places costing a thousand dollars per night more. When coming to Alta, there is no reason I would consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldadmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
7.7 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
895 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
86 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta's Rustler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta's Rustler Lodge

Address: 10380 E State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: $567 - $1,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta's Rustler Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta's finest ski-in/ski-out location, unparalleled personal attention and our tradition of excellence distinguish the Rustler Lodge from the rest. Enjoy our amenities, including an outdoor heated pool, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzis, sauna, eucalyptus steam room, spa services and ski shop. After a fabulous day of skiing ride our chair lift back to the lodge to enjoy the best apres and complimentary appetizers in our Eagles Nest Lounge. Our 85 rooms range from modest to luxury accommodations that include new "Comphy" linens. Daily rates include a full breakfast and gourmet dinner and FREE WIFI. The Rustler, while elegant, is congenial and relaxed, the way we feel a ski lodge should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Alta's Rustler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta`s Rustler Hotel Alta
Altas Rustler Hotel
Alta's Rustler Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing