We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta's Rustler Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alta's Rustler Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned to cold London (why is it colder here? answer: damp, nasty, grey bone-chilling stuff). Hence, a very reluctant return after an epic week of snow 02/20/13-02/26/2013 and a wonderful stay at the lodge. Initially I was a little circumspect about eating at the same place every evening, but the menu and the quality of the food soon dispelled that notion. Smashing rooms, everything is so convenient. Staff are wonderful. It is skiers paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
47
36
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are coming to Alta, you are coming for perfect snow. Deep, light, fluffy snow. There is a great selection of rooms from the very luxurious to the old rustic. When I am skiing, I want ski-in and ski-out. Rustler has its own chair lift. The other thing I want is great food. Rustler has a wonderful breakfast and delicious dinners. If you care to come in for lunch, there is a great lunch as well. There is robust WIFI throughout the hotel. And, there is a wonderful bar (John has been the bartender for years) with a warm fireplace and great views. FInally, there is a warm outdoor pool, steam and whirlpool. And, a Spa with no shortage of massage therapists.

I have been coming to the Rustler with family and friends for over 20 years. Tom and Kate Pollard have been managing the Rustler for many years; Tauni Powers has been running reservations for even longer. They have creaated a wonderful staff, year after year. If you are inclined to wake up at 7am to stretch, Julie runs a stretch class 6 days a week. The Deep Powder House has a small shop in the Rustler to take care of your skis as well.

No need for a car; but they will valet if you wish. Alta Shuttle can take you directly from SLC Airport.

Room Tip: The 7th and 8th floors have the most luxuious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Rustler Lodge is the ski-in/ski-out lodge to which I will forever compare all ski lodges. The bar scene was very laid back. The spa/pool very nice. The food was outstanding, especially the buffet breakfast each morning. Dinners were also fabulous. Kate and her team went above and beyond on countless occasions for us, culminating with her Herculean efforts to get us out of the canyon on our departure day, despite a famous Alta snow dump that lasted all day! Really bummed we had to leave! We will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 235Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location: For skiing in, using their own little chairlift, & skiing directly out, it couldn't be easier or better; it's actually better than being directly slopeside, since being where it is, the Rustler has more sun, killer sunsets from the bar & a wonderful view of the slopes from your room & your breakfast table.

Food: Consistently superb, including the best breakfast buffet anywhere in snow country.

Service: The staff continues to surprise & impress us, year after year; I think the status & reputation of the Rustler must allow them to have the pick of the most intelligent, pleasant & eager staff we've found in a ski accommodation.

It would be hard to imagine a more gracious overall ski-lodge experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mtnboy8745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are so few avalanche-free parking spots in Alta, the staff at the Rustler Lodge move your car around for you, depending on the snowplowing schedule. Then they bring it to the lodge's ingenious underground entrance, so you can load and unload out of the storm.
And that's just one of hundreds of thoughtful details the lodge has figured out. Others include generous appetizers in the bar after skiing for hungry guests (pot stickers, spicy hot wings, crudités with blue cheese), real crackling wood fireplaces, coffee in the halls at 6 a.m., a full service ski shop downstairs, and their own chair lift to bring you back after powder skiing at Alta Ski Lifts.
Top management has been in place for decades; they've got it dialed. They pick bright young skiers for staff, people from all over who are happy to serve you because they get to ski, every day, on one of the best mountains anywhere.
Best of all, perhaps, the Rustler maintains the tradition of the all-inclusive ski week: come and stay; everything you need in one cozy building, including two splendid meals a day (plus lunch if you want), outdoor and indoor hot pools, the New York Times every morning, eggs benedict and homemade granola on the breakfast buffet. And bacon!

Room Tip: south-facing rooms look up the ski mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSheltonFOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff is Five Star.
Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Good food. Good Spa.
Convenience of full service ski rental and lift tickets is great. Staff seems to genuinely care about you. Breakfast and dinner included with stay offered very goodand well prepared dishes.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for the choices that best serve you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you are a serious skier, you owe it to yourself to ski Alta. And when you do, the one place to stay on the mountain is the Rustler.
Our group is just back from our ninth annual trip (some of us number this in the 30’s!), and while 34” of powder may have influenced our opinions a bit this year, Alta never has disappointed. Nor has the Rustler.
The rooms are modern, clean, spacious, and all have views of the mountain. The food is world class and the bar a warm and fun place to unwind. That is, if the pool, hot tub, and steam room haven’t already put you in a great state of mind. The staff treats you like family – there are no finer hosts than managers Tom and Kate, while Meg and John will make sure that you are well fed and beveraged.
We’ve already made our reservations for January 2014. You should too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seadog G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.3 mi away
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
6.6 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#4 of 60 in Park City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Silver Fork Lodge
The Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta's Rustler Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta's Rustler Lodge

Property: Alta's Rustler Lodge
Address: 10380 E State Highway 210, P.O. Box 8030, Alta, UT 84092-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta's Rustler Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alta's finest ski-in/ski-out location, unparalleled personal attention and our tradition of excellence distinguish the Rustler Lodge from the rest. Enjoy our amenities, including an outdoor heated pool, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzis, sauna, eucalyptus steam room, spa services and ski shop. After a fabulous day of skiing ride our chair lift back to the lodge to enjoy the best apres and complimentary appetizers in our Eagles Nest Lounge. Our 85 rooms range from modest to luxury accommodations that include new "Comphy" linens. Daily rates include a full breakfast and gourmet dinner and FREE WIFI. The Rustler, while elegant, is congenial and relaxed, the way we feel a ski lodge should be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alta's Rustler Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta`s Rustler Hotel Alta
Altas Rustler Hotel
Alta's Rustler Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing