We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
223
10
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ski shop ski vacation breakfast and dinner top notch year after year outdoor pool cottonwood canyon dining room great food room includes next year end of the day hot tub four seasons deer valley world class
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 241 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I've just returned from a four-day visit to Alta's Rustler Lodge. It's hard to imagine a more perfect ski resort or a more friendly and accommodating staff. I stayed in one of the Lodge's moderate rooms which came with all amenities (including Wi-Fi), balcony and a spectacular panoramic view of the Rustler Ridge and its High Rustler trail. The room rates include full (as in anything you can think/dream of) breakfast and a truly gourmet 4-course dinner. Wine is extra. Your children can elect to eat with you in the main dinning room, or join a children's table in another room. Either way, the children have kid-friendly food options. Adults seeking to expand their social network can elect to join the Wasatch Table for dinner--where a senior member of the Rustler staff hosts a table and relays ski tips and local lore. Days can begin with a an optional yoga/stretch class to get you prepared for a day of spectacular skiing--which is a very short lift away. Apres- ski includes access to a heated outdoor pool, a large jacuzzi and a eucalyptus steamroom, free hot hors d'oeuvres and on some evenings free drinks. Spa treatments available. Families will be seen playing card and board games throughout the spacious lounge area. Despite all this activity, my room was very quiet and quite comfortable. In my view the Rustler delivers great hospitality for the money!

Mary from Massachusetts

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Look, if you don't get it that "Alta is for Skiers", please go somewhere else. There's no shopping and limited night life...but if you are interested in the country's best ski in-ski out hotel adjacent to North America's finest lift served skiing, the Rustler is for you. Period.

Is it expensive? Of course it is. It should be. Considering the physical siting limitations of a narrow canyon, extreme weather and high altitude, you have to marvel at the Rustler's consistent ability to outperform on every level.

I have been a returning guest at this hotel since the 1970's and it just keeps getting better and better. I have stayed there in small squads, large groups, family ensemble, every combo and it has NEVER been anything other than exceptional.

The food is always outstanding, the bar is terrific, the ambience and staff are awesome. When issues arise, as they can in every service industry, the management reacts & responds with grace and calm.

But first and foremost, this hotel is for the kind of real skiers for whom Alta exists. If you are high maintenance or overly discerning, please go to Deer Valley and leave the Rustler and Alta for us!

Date of stay: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeaselRedLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We paid over $1,000 per day for 2 meals and a single room. The meals are ok but definitely not gourmet. The room was like a SMALL PRISON CELL from the 50's. Lift tickets are NOT included. The "spa" is a joke.
Save your money, rent a condo and hire a chauffeur to drive you to the mountain. You can have breakfast and dinners in great places for a lot less.
The mountain is gorgeous and well worth the trip, but stay away from the Rustler, they'll steal your money

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerManagement, Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid comments. We do offer smaller room types, in addition to our larger rooms, and we do sincerely apologize if your room and your Rustler Lodge experience didn’t meet expectation. While we operate on a Modified American Meal Plan (skiers buffet breakfast and four course dinner inclusive), we do not package in lift tickets with our room rates. The Rustler Lodge Spa does offer a wide variety of services and selection but have limited space available in our ski in/out property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the mountain and hope you visit Alta again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed at the Rustler over President's Day Weekend, and was extremely disappointed. Although the location is excellent, the hotel is extremely expensive and doesn't give much value in return. We ended up paying nearly $1,000 a night to stay in a tiny, cinderblock room with two twin beds. The Rustler charges 5 star prices for 2 star value. I won't be going back.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdk53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Good: Nice staff, great ski-in, ski-out location, plentiful and tasty food
The Bad: The rooms are really subpar for the price. It was tiny (barely room for a chair and twin beds!) and didn't have even basic amenities like a drinking glass or shampoo (unless asked for). TV hanging from ceiling had no VCR. Water pressure was horrible in the shower (no tub). Room had bad smell. No elevator to our floor. Felt like we were staying at a low-rate hotel rather than the high-end resort we expected. Wasn't looking for the Four Seasons, but for the 'discounted' nightly rate of $600 + was hoping for something slightly more special.

Date of stay: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PowderHound789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustlerManagement, Manager at Alta's Rustler Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Rustler Lodge. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed in our property and your Albion room. These rooms are in the original part of the lodge and do not have elevator access or bathtubs. As we always strive for complete guest satisfaction, we are planning quite a few updates this summer, including flat screen televisions. We hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews