We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we were here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #27 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glad we were here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We only spent one night at the end of our vacation at the Driskill, but it was lovely. The staff was professional and polite. I wish all hotels had such staff. We had a rainy day, spent more time in the hotel than expected, but it was relaxing. We ate breakfast there, it was very good. We also had food and drinks in the lounge/bar area. The room was lovely and comfortable. Overall, a very nice 24 hours. Would stay here again, if ever in Austin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,027
    435
    178
    108
    70
See reviews for
264
732
79
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorman, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Driskill Hotel. It's such a convenient location right on 6th street and just 6 blocks south of the capital building. The room was quiet on the10th floor. The bed was so comfy with silk sheets! Nice bar and a lot of nice Texan touches to the decor. We were showing our friends from Denmark around Texas and they enjoyed their stay here too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I first experienced the Driskill two years ago when I stopped in at their bar and tried the Batini cocktail while on a trip to Austin. This time, I made sure to stay at the hotel itself. My room was on the eighth floor and accessible only thru the upper lobby bar. That didn't bother me, but I noticed other reviewers troubled by the arrangement. Personally, it isn't any major inconvenience and it allows you to enjoy the old décor and charming touches.
The room was comfortable, clean, and pretty. I love all the D motif throughout. I found it odd that with all the attention to detail and quirky touches, the room had a very cheesy ceiling fan. Oh well! You cant get everything.
The staff was courteous. The valet very prompt and pleasant. I really liked this place. My only wish was that some of the historic rooms/ spaces had been open to allow guests to explore the beautiful rooms.
I recommend this for a couples trip indeed!
The Driskill is close to EVERYTHING. I found it reasonably priced and easy to book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and not directly on 6th street or you will be experiencing revelry noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spencersmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here during a recent trip to Austin. The service was superb (friendly, helpful and nice). The room served our needs - while small,we were only in town for one evening - so it was totally fine. Complimentary tea/coffee in the morning was a nice treat. Breakfast as the Cafe/Bakery was scrumptious (although pricey, but it was expected, honestly).

The location of the hotel is great too. We were able to park our car with valet when we arrived and then explore on foot: the Capitol Building, Market District and 6th Street. While Market District was a bit of a hike after a long day of traveling - it is definitely doable (and worth it since the intended destination was Amy's Ice Cream).

One tiny con - our refrigerator was locked. We couldn't figure out how to open it! Tip: If you want customers to buy items from it, make it easy to access.

All in all - very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DvictoriaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recent purchase by Hyatt has done nothing for this hotel. They have done away with Illy coffee and the service at the bakery/café was horrible, including 45 mins for a bowl of oatmeal and a continental pastry/juice/coffee breakfast! In fact, we were trying to find our waitress to cancel when she finally delivered the bowl of oatmeal and the wrong pastry! Their country potatoes are nothing more than frozen processed potato cubes fried beyond edibility. The Driskill Grille for dinner however was a fantastic, albeit extremely pricey, evening. The room lacked seating for two as it only offered one small side chair and a weird extremely high back desk chair so we were forced to sit on the bed as it was the only other option in a room so tiny you couldn't even open the bathroom door all the way due to the stand they used for the mirror/towels/hair dryer. WIFI in room was horrible bandwidth. Two days in a row housekeeping left no wash cloths and then wouldn't answer their phone when rung. I had to chase down staff in the hallway in my nightgown to get a wash cloth. I will not select this hotel again, and would not recommend this to anyone. Valet service was very good and friendly. In fact, this reservation had to be totally pre paid and non refundable for a very lackluster experience! Go for dinner in the Grille, but don't stay the night and don't have breakfast!

Room Tip: city view room was nothing notable. Rooftop and alley views, plenty of sirens to keep you awake all...
See more room tips
Green Features: They failed to provide wash cloths, I guess you could consider that water saving
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorbysva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Gorbysva,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit to the Driskill. I apologize that there were multiple areas where we did not satisfy your needs or provide the service and quality that you deserve. I appreciate your personal preference for Illy coffees. Our decision to use Ferra Coffees was inspired by the opportunity to work with a Central Texas business that sources a high quality, organic product. I would appreciate an opportunity to speak to you further about your stay. You can reach me via email at joe.graham@hyatt.com, and I sincerely hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
756 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing inexpensive about this fine historic hotel in downtown Austin. Valet parking is $34 per night. Ouch! They do allow unlimited "in & out", you are on 6th street with the music scene and an easy walk from the beautiful Texas capital building. The valet guys are very prompt and courteous, so that makes the bite of the price bearable. The bar pours strong drinks and it was not unusual for my hubby & I to have a $50+ check for two drinks each. Yet, the bar staff is SO nice (we tipped them handsomely for taking such good care of us). The Easter Brunch was delightful, however $$$. Our $300+ a night room (601 in the newer tower) was very spacious and super comfy. The linens were superb and the bed was really comfy. I will return (for a special celebration not routinely).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Ok place. Service at front desk and valet was lacking. Room was nice but small. Public areas were pretty. Had to walk through Bar area to get to the elevator to our Room. Parking was a rip off. Would not stay here again. So many other choices in downtown. Traffic in austin is terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing