We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“austin treasure!!”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“austin treasure!!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

we love this austin treasure!!! classic bar and excellent drinks! can be a bit loud if you're looking to have a conversation, but a great place to entertain out-of-towners! also, jessica is always so good to us! she knows how to deal with a high-demand group!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Fritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Director of Rooms at The Driskill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, George!

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again at the bar very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    455
    186
    113
    72
See reviews for
281
770
81
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I made reservations 2 months in advance on Driskill Hotel's website. It was my husbands birthday and I wanted it to be a special weekend. We arrived at the hotel at 4:30 pm and went to check in. The clerk went in the back for about 10 minutes. I asked the other clerk at the desk what was the hold up. A manager finally arrived and said they overbooked and we could not stay at the Driskill. I was so disappointed. He did not offer us anything for our inconvenience. No dinner. No free stay. Not even a lousy drink. All he did was send us halfway across town to the Hilton. I feel like it ruined my husbands birthday weekend. I would warn anyone that if you are planning a special event and plan to stay at the Driskill, they may not have your reserved room when you arrive.

Room Tip: Call to confirm the day of your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Director of Rooms at The Driskill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Katherine,

I would like to offer a sincere apology for relocating you and your husband during a special birthday weekend. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, as this gives me an opportunity to share your information with my team in order to prevent similar issues from happening in the future. If you would like to discuss your experience further, I would love to speak with you. I can be reached via email at joe.graham@hyatt.com or 512-391-7138. Thank you again, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Driskill on Wednesday and Thrusday(Thanksgiving) nights.

I was on my way to go hunting upon checkout Friday, so I had my hunting rifle with me. We used valet and as they unloaded our bags, they checked my rifle in with Security who kept in a gun safe for me while we were staying at the hotel. This service was nice since I didn't have to worry about my gun during our stay.

Also of note about the valet, was that they were all very nice, even when extremely busy. We had left our tickets to the TTU vs. UT game in our glove compartment and they went and got them for us. So for the people that copmlain about how much valet costs... There is certain amout of convenience that come with using their service. Plus, its only $8 difference over self parking.

We were assigned Room 533. I would not recommend said room to anyone looking for a view. Outside of our window was a wall approximately 10 feet away. The room itself was nice though. It was perfectly sized with a king bed, a nice desk, and large oversized chair. It was QUIET though. So, if you do not care about your view or do not plan on spending much time in your room, it is fine.

I went down to 1886 Cafe & Bakery Thursday morning for coffee, some fruit, and a croissant. All of which were excellent. I had some low expectations for fruit given that its almost Winter, but was pleasantly surprised at the quiality. The chocolate croissant was also very delicious.

The bar in the Driskill is also very good. They have a fire place which provided for a nice atmosphere. Thursday night they were extremely busy after the football game, and our server Vanessa was great. I highly recommend the Sage Advice (one of the bar's specialty cocktails). We also enjoyed the sliders, which were great as a late evening snack. They would also make a great lunch.

I have stayed at the Driskill prior to it being owned by Hyatt, and it did not seem any different to me. Its still a great historic hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, do not get 533.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Director of Rooms at The Driskill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Bryan, We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to The Driskill. We are so glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy the valet service, 1886 café, and Driskill bar. Please come visit us again, we have another Sage Advice cocktail waiting for you at the bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Driskill for 3 nights. Overall a terrific experience. The hotel is beautiful and the location couldn't be better. Located on 6th Street, the Driskill is located in the heart of the music scene with lots of bars and many great restaurants. The service was excellent with the exception of the bell staff, which was very disorganized. We stayed in a Primrose "suite," which was very nice but would be better described as a deluxe room. The biggest pluses: great rain shower head, superb location, front desk & concierge staff are great, bar downstairs has live music and 1886 restaurant is great for breakfast & lunch. Biggest negatives: bell staff very slow, some noise when the room next door used the shower and slow elevators (but acceptable for a historic hotel). Overall I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjr926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Director of Rooms at The Driskill, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello from Austin bjr926!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We appreciate hearing from guests such as yourself because it gives us valuable insight on all areas of the hotel. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel and service from our staff, however apologize for the shortfalls you found with the bell staff and noise next door. I will be sure to share this information with my team in order to ensure the bell staff is providing quick and helpful service. We look forward to seeing you once again the next time you return to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had been to The Driskill on a rainy monday night - had heard a lot abt it so had really high hopes, i am happy to say that the restaurant superseded by expectations! I had been to the 1886 Cafe & Bakers - the cafe part of the hotel where i was immediately guided to the table and given the menu by a very helpful n cherry server ! The food was value for money and the atmosphere was the cherry on the cake - as a whole - i wud suggest everyone's who's visiting Austin for the first time to stop by and visit this place :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ankana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Driskill 1 night on Nov 7th. Picked the Driskill due to the "Big Reds & Bubbles" event that took place on this night. Friend booked the "bridal" suite - which had a king bed. There's a handful of very expensive rooms at the Driskill - this being one of them (paid ~ $500 for the night). Did so due to the room being on the 2nd floor which is where the event was taking place. Anyhow, upon entering the room mid afternoon I noticed some things in the room just looked "tired". Walk in steam shower fixtures were gritty - probably 20 yrs old. Water temp was lukewarm. Sink was plugged. Furnishings were dated. No servi-bar (what on earth was the servi-bar key for!?). The BIGGEST problem, however, was the crappy cot I was provided. The cot was dilapidated and should NEVER be issued to a guest. 3" pad was worn beyond repair. Next morning had breakfast at Cafe 1886. Terrible food. $14 omelet was small and greasy. Came with side of fried potatoes (which you can tell came from a huge tub of frozen potatoes they must be buying in bulk). Hyatt recently acquired this property. They better get their act together quickly. I've stayed at this property ~ 6 times over the years. Combine my recent experience with the fact there's no pool or gym at this hotel - and overnight parking is expensive (~ $26/night). Boils down to my never (ever, ever) darkening their doorway again!!!

Room Tip: Best tip would be to stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As a recent resident of Austin I had heard that the Driskill bar was one of the must tries in Austin for good cocktails and atmosphere and had it on my list to try. I had my son come over to Austin for a visit and so we decided to to get a group of friends and give it a try. See what the bar and the band would be like. What a disaster. First all, the service was poor and the drinks were nothing special. I've been to the top cocktail bars in the world and this is not anywhere near that. Its not as good as any of the other bars i've tried in Austin, but it gets better. My son wanders off to use the restroom, and doesn't come back. After a while i go find him and the hotel security manager has him locked in a room and is giving him a citation for a minor consuming alcohol. Now they never checked his ID at the bar, and even if they did as his parent by Texas law i'm allowed to purchase him drinks. He's 20 by the way. I go in to office they have my son locked into, explain that he was with me and ask that the let us leave. The security manager refused and was very rude about it. So now I have a court date to deal with for trying to a have a drink in what i thought was a nice place with my 20 year old son. What happened to the customer service one expects from a nice bar, and the courtesy to the customer. As other has have said the Driskill is not the classy place of Austin it once was. Its now just another big corp box trying to make money on its reputation of the past.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing