We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“curio room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #24 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“curio room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is great! There are plenty of general reviews describing the wonderful staff, character of the hotel and perfect location. I wanted to give my opinion of the curio rooms. They are described as very small. The price is much less than the standard rooms. I was traveling alone so took a chance. I’m thinking they must mean “small” by Texas standards. The room was fine with a queen bed and end table. Also an oblong table & chair, another large chair big enough to place an open a carry-on bag, TV stand/honor bar and plenty of room to walk around. It was as big as many standard rooms in bigger cities like New York, Chicago. Great architectural features including high ceilings and stain glass window in the bathroom. great for 1 person and probably fine for 2.

The negative points: There wasn’t any real view (faced another building). The bath was very small: tiny corner sink about the size of a watermelon, no counter but a little space on the windowsill where you can place items. The tub/shower combo was too small to stretch out in the tub. However, it was very clean, in good condition and had high end décor like marble tiles. If you don’t mind dealing with the small bath, it’s a great deal. How much time to you plan to spend in the room, let alone the bath, anyway?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    383
    161
    90
    54
See reviews for
214
632
66
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The lobby and mezzanine areas of this hotel are so gorgeous that you must make time just to sit there, admire the art on the walls, the beautiful ceilings and furniture. A stop at the bar is also recommended. It's a beautiful bar and the lamps made of old guns are a kick.
Our room was smallish but very pretty. The bathroom was also on the small side. The bed was wonderful with great silky sheets and perfect pillows. I love great thick towels and I thought the towels here could have been fluffier. The robes were great.
We had room service continental breakfast. Delicious croissant but no jams, just butter and they forgot our orange juice. I mentioned this at check out and was given a $10. credit.
Our room was in what they call the tower, on the 7th floor and offered a view of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Driskill on Friday in the JR Suite with the big center balcony on the top floor. We were happy with our stay until it was time to check out and we were informed that the valet parking had damaged my truck that was less than 24 hours off the dealership lot. The manager was more worried about disconnecting the hotel from the valet service than anything else. Sorry but they are the service that is utilized by your Hotel... A small "sorry but it wasn't us" and 2 bottles of water while we waited outside to get to the truck was about it.. That and a hope you come back and see us again. To me the measure of someone's quality is when things aren't perfect, that's when its tested.. I was there for my anniversary and had a company party the next day so I moved to a different hotel provided by the company.. They double booked our room and it took about 20 minutes get everything sorted out.. They bent over backwards accommodating us including room upgrade, champagne, and a sincere visit to the room by the manager.. Like I said quality is tested when things aren't perfect not when they are..

As to the damage on the truck.. It was the big bar that shows clearance that the kid said wasn't attached well and swung down and hit the bed while he was driving in the garage..

Room Tip: Room 534 has an amazing balcony over 6th street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

After visiting Austin two times, we have decided we love this hotel, It has everything your looking for in a hotel, the friendly staff of the hotel is so welcoming compared to by other city hotels, The beds are super comfortable and very spacious rooms, wonderful dining in the casual atmosphere, delicious breakfast and dinner. The Driskill is right in the heart of Austin, walking distance to just about everything. The Driskill is one of the best hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of those "enchanted" kind of hotels but in the heart of Austin.
Staff where very friendly, including some of the cleaning ladies that helped me with a last minute misshap I had with some pants.
I loved the decoration of the rooms and the whole place, it made you think you where in the past.
Great bar for drinks downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at The Driskill while moving our daughter into UT. The hotel is beautiful with friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very clean and good sized. When booking I requested a room with a view of the city. Upon arrival we discovered that view was from a large balcony. We enjoyed the fresh air and people watching from that balcony. Our dinner in the hotel's restaurant was quite romantic and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great service and a wonderful atmosphere, ideally located for exploring the city on foot. Rooms are superb and the staff simply excellent. Everyone very proud of the history and well informed.
Great for 6th Street and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Streety_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing