We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Driskill Now Owned and Managed by Hyatt”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #27 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Lanai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Historic Driskill Now Owned and Managed by Hyatt”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Driskill was purchased by Hyatt spring of 2013 and they are now managing the property. Word is that Hyatt is planning some updates/fluffing over the next year or two. This is needed to stay competitive with the new options in town, i.e., W and the old standard, i.e., Four Seasons.

The need for a little TLC around the edges is what prevents us from giving this property a full 5 stars. The historic lobby still impresses but the bar has lost a little lustre. The original art collection that the hotel houses is impressive and appreciated. For a little history be sure to check out Carlotta's Mirrors in the Maximilian Room on the Mezzanine Level.

Rooms can be variable in size, view and layout. Be sure to remember your room number when you find your favorite. Historic rooms have period oak and metal bed furnishings. Bathrooms are generally finished with dark marble. We have stuck with Senate Historic Rooms or a Suite when available at check in.

Can't comment on the dining room since we have not eaten there since D. Bull left. Maybe on our next visit.

Location is excellent if you want easy access to 6th street. Staff generally helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Good idea to call hotel direct or ask for a tour as room layout can be very variable. Even within t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostonLanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    455
    186
    113
    72
See reviews for
281
771
81
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This magnificent, historic hotel is exceptional in every way - atmosphere, rooms, dining & staff. Make a point to dine in both the Driskill Grill & 1886 Café & Bakery. The Driskill Bar is astonishingly beautiful, and offers great drink selections and live music. The rooms are extravagantly furnished with the most sensuous bed linens imaginable. The casual elegance & genuine warmth of the staff truly impart what The Driskill & Texas is all about. If you've never been...GO!

Room Tip: Stay in the older portion of the hotel. The walk to the elevator is a treat. It's through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreatsAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were treated like queens. There were always staff available to get the door, answer any questions you had, give directions, etc. We were even randomly thanked for our patronage one day. The room was great, and the bed was very comfortable. The only things to note are that we weren't able to access the fridge for some reason, and the lighting in the bathroom (with the shower & toilet only; sink was separate) was a bit dim. By no means were these things deal breakers. Every corner of the hotel is beautiful, and in a perfectly central location on 6th St. We were able to walk everywhere. The restaurant was lovely; a bit pricey, but the food was delicious. Would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Austin. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaML_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I came down to celebrate our anniversary at the Drikill. I asked for a room with a view as it was a special occasion and they gave us an upgrade to the bridal suite. Very classy move! Everyone is extremely professional and warm. They have made special occasion unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maczuga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great atmosphere and excellent rooms. The piano bar is a must to enjoy the atmosphere and great cocktails. Easy access to all of downtown Austin offerings and a wide variety of restaurants and events.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issabrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

With everything in Austin changing so rapidly, it is wonderful to say that the magnificent and stately Driskill remains the same. The building is from the 19th century and it is a wonderful treat just to walk around and take it all in.
The Driskill bar is a renowned and friendly place to meet friends or make new ones. The bartenders are friendly and make you feel welcome.
The hotel itself is always spotless and welcoming. Eventhough the rooms might be a bit small according to todays standards, the are beautifully decorated and immaculate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinGalAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Heritage hotel, centrally located.
Loved the grand ballroom, the old elevator, books in the shelf that you can loan.
Nice custom rooms, high ceiling, comfortable bed. Charming!!

The carpet is also historic, wish they get replaced.

Check-in/out was fast, good wifi speed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajatsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing