We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas-style gem”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #28 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Texas-style gem”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Big hearted Texans and lots of long horns make this a unique place to stay in downtown Austin. Our room was smallish, but pretty, well appointed and comfy, and everything worked! There's live music at the bar and we even splurged on massages- even happy with those.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank trailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll share your comments with our big-hearted Texan staff! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Driskill on your next visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    471
    188
    115
    74
See reviews for
292
787
85
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am a mother travelling from Europa with my 15 year old son. Driskill is a very sophistacated and beautiful place, but at the same time one feels very much at home. Big room with good beds. I have visited 100´s of hotels around the world, and Driskill is now one of my favourites. Don´t know why, just fell in love with the place!
We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel. Good food but at lunch service was too slow. The receptionists were young and could not answer all our questions, but I still loved the palce!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am not kidding when I say that the shower we had at The Driskill was one of the best ever. The water pressure was strong and the water was piping hot. That is the most memorable thing about our stay. Other pros include: friendly staff, Texan decor, free coffee in the lobby and the location. Negatives include: small room, musty smell and noise. We got a smaller room than we booked because we arrived 5 hours before check in and wanted to get settled. The room felt extremely small by the second day. Our room only had two towels and they don't do turn down, which was problematic.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay because we booked an extremely low rate and enjoyed ourselves. However, I would be hesitant to recommend this hotel to a friend or to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J and M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was my very first trip to Austin and I was uncertain of where we should stay. After reading the other reivews of this hotel my husband I decided the Driskill was definitely the best place, base on location, to stay.

We've traveled all over and I tend to pick the highest rated "luxury" hotels, but I am so glad we picked the Driskill (I'm still not sure why it's not one of the top 5 hotels on Trip Advisor). This is such a unique, historical space that I think staying at one of the luxury hotels would be a mistake. We went to the Four Seasons for a drink and the property is beautiful, but it's very much a hotel, hotel. It's very generic and it feels like you could be staying at a Four Seasons anywhere.

The Driskill however, feels like Texas. =) The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The decor was great - old pictures of cowboys decorate the walls and there are large sculptures of horses that decorate the hotel bar. The overall feeling is warm, welcoming and laidback. This hotel also has an amazing bar that has live music almost every night (great for pre-dinner cocktails), the 1886 Cafe and Bakery (amazing pastries and coffee) and the Driskill Restaurant is one of the highest rated restaurants in Austin.

I would definitely recommend staying here if the reason for your trip is to explore dowtown Austin. It's within walking distance to most of the restaurants and other attractions. Something to note is that ZipCar has 3 cars that are parallel parked right in front of the hotel. We are members of ZipCar and decided to rent a car for a couple hours to drive outside of Austin. SO easy and convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed on the historic side of the hotel on the 5th Floor. We loved room 520. Not much of a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel in itself was nice. I have traveled all over the world, and thought that the hotel was clean, with great decor and even due to its age-comfortable room size, etc. Your received a four diamond environment for a four diamond price (as it should be). I visited Austin for a wedding. Due to the nature of the wedding environment, I decided to have some people over after the wedding in an attempt to continue the celebration, but came to fund that The Driskill does not condone that type of behavior. In their hotel policy-they do not allow noise or smoking. I was fined $650 for smoking and $350 for a noise violation (paying for my neighbors room for noise inconvenience). All my guests and myself were escorted out of the hotel at 3am and treated like complete iniquitous guests. As I attempted to discuss our actions and apologize for the inconvenience in the morning with the manager-I was told that I would be escorted off the property as I am no longer allowed to be on the premises-ever.
I understand their policy is their policy, but they did lack a sense of professionalism and courtesy for a guest that is paying top dollar for a nicer hotel. No room for error nor understanding for the situation at hand. They came off as elitists....

The Driskill is nice hotel, BUT... BE CAREFUL that you do not disrupt their environment for it will be an expensive and 'criminal' action...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had heard about this hotel and set up an anniversary trip, first time to Austin and Texas. I made the reservations online 4 months in advance, called twice to confirm the reservation and the specific room I wanted to stay in. When we arrived, I was informed that we were going to be upgraded as our room was unavailable. We were not upgraded. We were put into a room not normally put into use as it was dark, dingy, drab, and cave like. It then proved to be absolutely miserable when it turned into the ceiling of an excessively loud disco/ club. The room was shaking and loud. The hall and lobby were quieter. We were forced to leave the room until after midnight. In the morning we were told we could be moved to another room when it was ready. We vacated 413 at 9am leaving our bags to be moved to the next room. Due to a lack of communication, it was 9:30pm before we walked into our second room. Our bags were not there but it was a lovely room, entirely different from the first room. By now we were too exhausted and upset to enjoy the room or the surrounding nightlife. We went to sleep only to be woken up 3 times in the middle of the night when the overhead light suddenly turned on. And then the clock radio, which we hadn't touched, went off. It was utterly miserable. I currently have a charge for $950.00 and a second charge for $7.79 on my credit card from the Driskill Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor of the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reetinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we apologize for your stay being less than legendary. We'd like to discuss your stay further, please do contact us at your convenience, at 512.474.1234.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is a phenomenon. Such a pleasant stay. Will definitely be returning. It's right on 6th street, they have romantic carriage rides. They are really located right in the middle of all the fun.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing