We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“unbelievable stay! Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #24 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“unbelievable stay! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Traveled on business to the Driskill. Upon arriving, I was stressed due to a terrible rental car. However, the stress dissipated once I stepped foot into this beautiful hotel. I was upgraded to the Yellow Rose Suite. When I stepped into the room, I stopped in my tracks and just took in the beautiful features of the room. It was all I could do to tear myself away and go to my meeting. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom wonderful, and the details stunning. The front desk personnel were extremely pleasant and helpful. The valet courteous. Everything was perfect- thank you for a terrific stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaware012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    369
    154
    83
    53
See reviews for
207
604
65
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We happened upon the Driskill after a family wedding. What a beautiful historic hotel. The lobby and bar are just gorgeous. Beautiful carved ceilings and lovely stained glass everywhere. The bar has fantastic live music each night. We heard a wonderful 3 piece acoustic group that were just great and unlike many of the other bars in town they have a decent wine list? Worth the time enjoying both the scenery and the music.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Even if you don't stay here you should definitely make it a stop in your travels. The lobby is beautiful but go up the stairs and have a drink at the bar. There are lots of small tables to sit and people watch and they have live music most nights.You feel transported back in time and the rooms reflect that too. We had a very nice balcony room which overlooked 6th st (the main hub of Austin) Lots of dark wood and high ceilings in the older section of the hotel. Unfortunately we did not see any ghosts but maybe next time. The service was awesome everywhere and the staff friendly and helpful. This is a special hotel and worth trying over the other cookie cutter hotels in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the original older building overlooking 6th st. The lobby restaurant is awesome to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're going to Austin, and want to be in the middle of it all, stay at the Driskill Hotel! It is an icon, built about 1886, and steeped in history! The renovations on the Hotel are admirable and well done, the bar is stellar, with cow print sofas, music night;ly, and delicious cocktails and a bar menu very worthy of partaking! It seemed to be one of THE places to BE in Austin! We ate several meals in the Cafe, and each one was yummy, especially the Brisket Burger with queso, and the Paris Benedict at Brunch! The staff was knowledgeable of the area with numerous recommendations, and friendly. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are rather small, but the tall ceilings were a plus. It was comfortable though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenoraEfird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Driskoll is a classic and everyone visiting Austin should check it out for at a least a drink in the old school bar. I stayed for one night on business and found the service lived up to the hype. At check-in I received a free room upgrade. The room was enormous and opulent with super high ceilings, extravagant furnishings, and a marble and brass bathroom. I think it’s a cute touch that classical musical is quietly streaming from the small audio system when you arrive in the room. I was psyched!

After a full day of business meetings and a nice meal out, I arrived back at hotel looking forward to a luxurious nights’ sleep. When I arrived that evening there was some sort of college semi-formal event underway. There were tons of college kids streaming into a ballroom next to my room. My room was situated next to event space and a large balcony. My enormous lovely room was engulfed in event noise. I called the desk to see how late the event was going and I would have to wait it out several hours so I decided to move my room.

Staff moved my room to a newer part of the building they claimed was far from street noise, event noise, etc. This new room was a more traditional deluxe room and while it was lovely, it felt tiny and pretty blah compared to the fancy room I was in originally. At any rate it was quiet, the linens were high quality. Unfortunately even this location was disturbed by noise. Around 1:30 a.m. a couple (drunk) were yelling in the hallway and woke me up. I called the desk and they sent security.

So it was a less than perfect experience but service was very, very good. The location is fantastic and the bar and restaurant is very good. I’d absolutely give The Driskoll my business again if the rate were competitive. It’s a lovely hotel with grand style and top notch service. Perhaps there will be an opportunity to better sound proof at some point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in January and overall the stay was lovely. The rooms are comfortable and the bed linens have a light scent of lavender, so nice. Bar area is comfy and you can even order from the restaurant if you like. We had the best steak and salad while having drinks. One thing I will point out is don't touch or move anything in the mini fridge in the room. I moved one item to make room for my own bottle and they charged the room $9 for something I didn't even take.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The bar is really cool and the ghost tour is also pretty neat. The location is tough to beat as the driskill is located right on 6th street. Would definitely go back. The rooms are fairly cozy but the old time charm makes up for the lack of room.



- Zach b.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZachB1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing