We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and nice hotel”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #28 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Service was good. Breakfast was really enjoyable inside or particularly, outside on the patio. Rooms are okay but rather dim...what you expect at a historic hotel. This is a great location for walking around to see 6th street, driving a short distance to SoCo or walking to shop at the warehouse district.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kegobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'm very surprised by all the rave reviews, because our stay was pretty awful.
But I'll start with the positives. As many have mentioned, the location is absolutely ideal. And the common areas are generally very nice (except for the horribly slow elevators). Service and food was good. Gym was decent too.
The real problems were with our room, The Brazos Suite. First and foremost, the noise was almost unbearable. The AC sounded like a loud, old lawn mower but was often overpowered by the insane noise from the street below: music and partying until 2am followed by street cleaners and leaf blowers until dawn with plenty of cars and motorcycles roaring by throughout. Two pairs of earplugs weren't enough. Uncomfortable squeaky beds didn't help the quest for sleep. We used the pullout sofa - one of the worst I've ever encountered. It needs to be thrown out and replaced, as most of the springs are gone. I am completely exhausted after my stay - cannot wait to get home.
Also of note is that the bathroom in our room was tiny - furthest thing from what one would expect in a suite. And furniture/decor was tired and shabby. Oh and the room smelled extremely weird and unpleasant. Ugh...just awful.
We were there for the F1 race and so we had to pay thousands of dollars per night for this very unpleasant experience. I'm not sure how much the room costs under normal circumstances, but anything more than a couple hundred bucks is too much.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your posting. Pursuant to your comments, a thorought inspection of the Brazos Suite was conducted. As all Signature Suites were renovated in December 2011, I was quite concerned by your comments of the condition - but gratified that after inspection, I found the room to be in excellent condition. The Driskill is an urban hotel and ideallyt located just adjacent to Austin's world-famous 6th Street entertainment district - the noise was certain exacerbated due to Formula One and Fan Fest. I apologize that your stay did not meet expecations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Gorgeous facility. Accomadating staff. Pricey parking. Rooms a bit small with even smaller bathrooms, but worth it. Proximity to fun priceless. Easy drive from airport. Food some of the best meeting food every eaten.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the meeting food, I will share your feedback with our team of event planners. Our valet parking rates are in line with the going rates for most Downtown hotels, I apologize if this wasn't in line with your expectations and we hope to have a chance to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have spent at least one week a year for the last 4years at this hotel.As many reviewers mention,the location is excellent and the building unique.Unfortunately,the service during our most recent visit had deteriorated significantly;
-our room was serviced anytime between 11AM and 4PM even though we were out by 9 AM at the latest and had the service tag hanging outside the door.
-We specifically ask for a room with a tub-we got one but unfortunately the stopper didn't work rendering it useless.
-On a couple of occasions when our room was serviced ,used towels were removed but no fresh towels were provided.
-Hotel staff only greet guests if greeted first-otherwise they stare into the distance or chat among themselves.

It is unfortunate that at a time when competition amongst luxury hotels in Down town Austin is intensifying,the Driskill is drifting in the wrong direction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your posting. I apologize that our "A-game" was absent during your most recent stay. It hasn't gone away and The Driskill invests heavily in training, customer service and execution endeavors. Regrettably, those investments didn't fully materialize for you. We normally deliver legendary offerngs and services and this was certainly a misstep. I hope you'll consider returning to The Driskill again in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Driskill is worth a visit if you are going to Austin and want to be downtown. Great location with valet parking (ubiquitous in Austin). Superb bar which is fun for watching Texans get down. Had two meals in the bakery grill and both were of highest quality. Room was quiet and well appointed, but bathroom was too small. However, other friends had rooms with bigger bath, so check that out before you book. Only drawback is if you are planning on going to a Univ. of Texas football game, it is almost impossible to get to the stadium unless you walk. Cabs are plenty, except around game time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpdx495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and for bringing the hot water issue to our attention. We will have our engineering team investigate this issue. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

ask for a high floor. the staff is very helpful, great location. it's a bit pricey for small ish rooms and bathrooms, but overall enjoyed the historic ambiance and central location. the whole propery was too dimly lit for my tastes, especially in the guest bathrooms. the a/c was extrememly noisy.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from Austin for a work convention. When we got off the plane in Austin...we noticed T-Shirts hanging in the shops that read, Keep Austin Weird." We had no idea what that meant? We rented a new Ford Explorer and drove over the the Driskill. It is a castle in the rough!!!! It's gorgeous and old and haunted....but in a good way. Plenty of stories to check out. You are transported back in time. You can picture the Stage Coaches pulling and dropping off the trunks and the ladies and their beautiful dresses. The hallways are trimmed with paintings and book shelves and antiques. The bar/restaurant is plush rancher style, with cow hyde and revolvers for lights and hanging Long Horns over the fireplace. Plush drapes, Scarlett O'Hara would have been outfitted for years to come! The rooms are spacious and lush. Bedding is dream land...down to the mink blanket draped at the bottom. The cabinet adorns a scetch of the hotel and the <D> for Driskill is on everything....painted porcelain sinks...lovely shower heads, beautiful high moldings and every amenity...including robes and umbrella's. There is not pool or array of shops. They do have some signature items at the front desk. Staff was over the top.

Downtown Austin is up and coming....some new, some old, and major construction. Music Capital of the World is a bit much, unless they are referring to the many different types. You will find ever genre.....but only a few worthy of staying for a few drinks. Very eccentric music and people. Pretty sure no one is actually from there...it's a very transient, "new" town. We totally got the "Weird" after a night out on 6th Street. Country music was hard to find. We ventured up to Rockdale for a Rodeo. It also included a full Carnival, farm/livestock auction, Steve Wariner singing and the most amazing local food ever. BBQ with slaw on a roll as big as your plate....you WILL eat it all!! And we went to The Broken Spoke a few miles out of Austin proper....very honky-tonk and they teach you how to dance an hour before the band starts. The band was amazing, steel guitar and big bass and all!! We got our fix!

The Driskill is worth a night or two....luxury at it's finest!! If you can't stay there, it's definitely a must see!! Take the elevator up a few floors....4th Fl -- Rm 29...you might see a young bride with packages....scurring down the hall......BOO!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ati1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $182 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing