We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Driskill
Nearby Hotels
$289
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$133
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Austin(Austin)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveler rating
1,251
509
215
124
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
509
215
124
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful historic hoteldriskill barcafe bakerysenate roomclassic hotellive musicsixth streetheart of downtownstreet noisehotel barvalet parkingvalet servicevisiting austintexaslobbyhauntedelevator
Filter
Updating list...
1,721 - 1,726 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I loved this hotel, from top to bottom. Now, I am partial to historic properties, so I'm a bit biased, but this had it all. An absolutely gorgeous bar - straight out of the old west, but with the all the modern comforts of a bar. Very comfortable guest rooms - quiet, comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower, soft sheets, luxe bathrobe. Good location, right on the Sixth Street corridor and within walking distance of the highrises downtown, the capitol building and a little farther beyond, the University of Texas. And a cute little restaurant for breakfast (though I didn't love the Huevos Rancheros, sadly). Will definitely stay here again when I come to Austin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved our stay at the Driskill from the minute I made the reservations months in advance to the minute we departed. Reservation agent was extremely helpful and honest when I asked for a room not facing 6th Street in order to avoid the night noise. They not only promised over the phone but repeated my request to me verbally when we checked in. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Huge thanks to concierge, Eleni Varnavas, who helped us with recommendations for restaurants and also drove me to a local supermarket to help me find a difficult to locate food item. Wow. Great service. Hotel is old but totally up to date; comfortable bed, lots of pillows, very cozy room. Two suggestions: add a full length mirror in the bathroom (or mirror above the desk) so that two people are not jockeying for mirror time AND put a BOSU in the fitness room. Minor suggestions, not complaints.
We definitely recommend this hotel for comfort, location, history, atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you don't want street noise (very busy social scene on 6th Street) ask for a room that does not face the street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've been to Austin many times. This was the first time we were able to stay at the Driskill. Highly recommended. Cannot beat the location. The historic nature of the building. Service, decor, etc. are all top notch.
Restaurants are all fantastic and worth trying. Lots of activity in and around the hotel.
Check it out....you'll be glad you did!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smlevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Loved the hotel's location, warm welcome from the staff and the amazing public spaces. When it came to the bottom line though, providing a good night's rest, the Driskill came up short.

One of the forms that you sign upon checking in is an understanding that the Driskill set out to provide a quiet and peaceful environments for their overnight guests, and they reserve the right to 'assess a fee' if you are found to be breaking this requirement. How ironic that the hotel don't take the slightest measures to protect guests from noise outside the hotel.

For some reason, the city of Austin permits delivery and refuse-collection trucks to start operating at 4am. This is clearly beyond the Driskill's control. What is NOT beyond their control is some basic noise insulation measures. There's are only single panes of glass in the windows, no double units or noise reducing boxed windows. So, at 4am, it was reverberating booms, rattles and gunning engines and bye-bye sleep.

The mattress on the king bed was also very peculiar. I can't speak to it's quality, however when anyone shifted position or moved in the night, the other person was bounced around, however far apart in the bed we were.

We raised the noise issue upon check out, which was met with sympathy but not even a small gesture of 'we obviously failed to meet your expectations'. Ironically again, a hotel that reserves the right to fine/surcharge noisy guests was not prepared to waive a $15 breakfast charge which had not appeared on the account at check-out, as a sorry for THEIR poor noise levels.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank boardinginfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your posting. As an downtown hotel, exterior noise can sometimes be an issue. In an effort to mitigate ocasional "street noise", the hotel has been installing secondary windows for optimal insulation. Since the hotel is so in demand, this process has been protracted so as not to impact our hotel guests with installation efforts. I apologize that you did not feel the bed was relaxing and comfortable - generally we received nothing but accolades on our beds. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Firstly. - the location is first rate, close to many live music venue sites along 6th, though maybe a bit too close on Saturday night before thanksgiving. Austin is a concentrated town centre, so frankly there are cheaper options if you are not stopping there for the ambience of the Driskill. Really, the main entertainment area of Austin, bordered by say 1st Street, Trinity to Guadalupe Sts up to 7th is an easy walk. Back to the Driskill - The service was good, though the rooms are expectedly small (consistent with a building of its age - mid 1850's). Best comparison I can give is rooms are similar in size in say Italy or France non suite size rooms, I.e. not much room around the bed. The architecture is stunning and matched by the service of Rylan the concierge who was engaging, humorous and provided tremendous service above our expectations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the back of building facing away from 6th Street if you are chasing good sleep..
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhenWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews