We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Driskill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown(Austin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,156)
Filter reviews
2,156 results
Traveler rating
1,240
503
211
123
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
503
211
123
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful historic hoteldriskill barcafe bakerysenate roomclassic hotellive musicsixth streetheart of downtownstreet noisehotel barvalet parkingvalet servicevisiting austintexaslobbyhauntedelevator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,745 - 1,750 of 2,156 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was great for my stay in Austin. I wish I had more time to enjoy it. The rooms are spacious, the staff was nice, and the location was perfect for going out on West 6th street, which has a lot of great restaurants and fun bars. There is a restaurant downstairs with a reasonable breakfast, complimentary coffee in the lobby, and a very fun bar scene on Thursday nights. i recommend this hotel for business or pleasure, I would visit again. Lighting wasn't the best in the bedroom, but other than that room was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful one-night stay at the Driskill! The staff was friendly and we loved the 1886 Bakery and Cafe. I wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back. There was not a pool but we didn't mind because Austin has a lot of local parks and pools. The Happy Hour at the bar was great and had nice live music.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the live music and happy hour in the Bar. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came here for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful as well as the room. The front desk was very friendly. However our room must have been close to the band downstairs because we could hear not only hear the music but also feel the floor and bed vibrating until late into the night. Not very romantic! We also attempted to eat at the Driskill grill. The host told us that they were having some issues with the service and asked if we would like to go to the lounge area it would be "more casual but the same food". We figured we would try it, we were there for the food. We sat for 15 minutes looking at the menu and waiting for someone to serve us, no one ever did. We never had a server even speak to us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your posting. I apologize that your most special night was not to expectations. Please contact my Administrative Assistant at 512-397-7058 so we may discuss your experience and do our best to craft one that is far more memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had only one night in Austin and wanted to stay downtown near 6th street. It's so easy to walk to the bars and restaurants. Got a great rate on a small room. Be sure to ask for a non-pet floor if you have allergies. Everyone was friendly and the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room with no view to get the best rate and it was still lovely. Bathroom is spacious too.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSS23, General Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your posting. The Driskill hosts a variety of room types with corresponding rates. I'm glad you found a good match. With the hotel being situated right at the epicenter of Austin's world renown 6th Street, valet parking is the most plentiful option for overnight stays. The Driskill's rates are very competitive and in many cases, less than our competitors. I look forward to you staying at Austin's legendary Driskill Hotel when your travels bring you back to our grand city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed the Divine Driskill while attending the wedding of a daughter of dear friends in the city. We rested, reaf and luxuriated in the beautiful, quiet room and exquisite furnishings during our unscheduled time, as well as enjoyed the period details of this beautiful, historic hotel. The hotel was at capacity when we were there so allow extra planning time if you want room service - beautifully served and truly enjoyed - we look forward to being there again soon. It's hear so many local attractions too, easy to walk or drive if needed - a divine time at the truly divine Driskill!

Room Tip: We always ask for thr quiet side, or the back of the hotel so we can have quiet in thr early part of the day with a relaxing coffee
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarrPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you for your review; we love to hear that guests enjoy the historic ambience we work so hard to preserve. I will share your lovely review with our staff, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews