We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location Not so Good Hotel for the price” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn University / Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Ranked #170 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
“Good Location Not so Good Hotel for the price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Conveniently locate to DKR but not worth the accomidations. Reserved with travelforecaster.com they charged 20.00 but reserved the incorrect month. So of course the price for the room was double...120.00 a night due to game weekend. If it wasn't for the fact that we were tailgating and didn't stay in our room at all I would have declined to stay there. A bit smelly, bathroom light/fan sounded like it was taking off, toilet loud, pillows yuck.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iyrae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    12
    9
    38
See reviews for
11
11
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Checked in for AI audtions because it was walking distance from Frank ErwIn Center. HUGE MISTAKE! HUGE! Crickets everywhere, hair on bed, roaches everywhere. Staff was rude and lied. They stole money that was in room , when I went back for it they said they did not have it Their storys were conflicting.....Manager/Owner was the worst ever! His wife/partner is 2nd in line ! Lies Lie! Lies! They took what was not theirs. Placed police report. DO NOT STAY AT THIS FILTHY GOD AWFUL PLACE. IT IS NOT WORTH IT! They are scum on scum!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LZAPATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We placed spending money in the microwave, and went out to go get breakfast. When we returned the money was gone and when we notified the staff, they all gave us different stories about what probably happened to it and blamed it on us! We checked out immediately and called the police.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinezane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Stayed here for UIL in May. Was a very convenient location to the stadium, no problems walking there. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were neat property was well maintained. Traffic on I-35 was congested, but all in all we had a good time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farcaster1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

This place is disgusting, You'd be better off on a park bench than this disgusting motel. We decided to leave and they told us they sold our room and still refused to give us a refund. to top it off, Choice Hotel's customer service was NO HELP at all . The bathroom is dirty and looked like it belonged in a college fraternity house. It was LOUD and I got a rash from the sheets.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 773gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

My family tavels a lot. We stay in nice hotels and some cheap motels so we have a fair view of places so we are not crazy picky but for the price of this place it was not worth it. The traffic noise was really bad. The floor around the wooden bed frames was filthy, someone's previously chewed gum was there along with other items. The bath spout didn't work so could only shower. The toilet had to be flushed a minimum of 2 times to get the toilet paper down and it made a freaky sound when it did. Sink stopper was broken, sheets were stained so weren't really sure how clean they were. The pool area was ridiculous and right by the freeway. The breakfast area is 2 tables in the reception office where they check people in too. The place is at minimum 12 blocks or more from any store/shopping so don't plan on walking unless you truly enjoy it. Only one restaurant within a couple of blocks-Star Seeds Cafe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

We were sitting at the Texas Museum and used the AAA book to make a selection of this motel for that day. What a mistake. I don't know how AAA can even rate this motel, and why Rodeway Inn puts their name on it - won't trust Rodeway again.

This place is a sewer, but we checked in so late after making reservations that afternoon there were no alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LahainaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University of Texas
Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University / Downtown

Property: Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Address: 2900 North I-35, Austin, TX 78705-3404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn University / Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Rodeway Inn University / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing