We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, it was a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Austin
Ranked #28 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall, it was a pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel had very friendly staff. The hotel itself could use some work though. The hallway to the room is so creepy, and kind of smelt dingy. The swimming pool, and spa were great though, we had a very fun time. The beds in the room were ok, they were a little old, but still overall comfortable. I would recommend this hotel, even though these minor details bothered me.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better noise quality and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpatel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. I can assure you we take your review seriously and we are continually working on ways to make our hotel the best. We hope you will visit us again. I can assure you we will find a way to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    321
    149
    71
    49
See reviews for
166
140
55
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Austin at the Crowne and were very impressed with the staff. They were very accommodating and knowledgeable and helpful with destinations and recommendations.
Two of the staff were outstanding.
Tamara is a server in the morning and she was so friendly and efficient. Made you feel very welcome.
Kevin works the front desk and has a quick smile and wishes to make your stay as pleasant as he can. You can tell these two employees take pride in themselves, and their jobs and are perfect for this hotel!

Room Tip: Non smoking and facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our entire staff will be very happy to hear your impressions. We hope your trip was successful and that we met all your expectations. We hope you will continue to choose the Crowne Plaza Austin and look forward to serving you again very soon.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you Crown Plaza Hotel for staffing such great service providers such as Aaron. Aaron was non-stop customer service from the unloading of our items, to ensuring an extra roll away bed, to excellent restaurant recommendations, and even history lessons about Austin, Texas! Thank you!
Our sleeping accommodations were very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room facing the pool area.. nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieojeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Aaron and our hotel. He is very guest service oriented and works very hard at pleasing each and every guest he serves. I will make sure I pass on your comments to him. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza. We hope you will visit us each time you're in Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed there for a week for business. It's a few miles north of the downtown area and morning traffic should be taken into account, but the hotel itself is very good - very nice rooms, a small pool for the hot days, nice dining room with a good breakfast buffet.
The interaction with the staff was always good. Very welcoming and helpful.
While there, I also enjoyed the neighboring Pappadeaux restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_KDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I trust your stay with us was successful as well as enjoyable. I hope you will continue to choose the Crowne Plaza whenever you travel and we hope to see you back in Austin sometime soon.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I would especially thrilled with Aaron. He drove us out for shopping and picked us up again later. He told us about Austin and suggested sights to see while we were here. He was so much fun to talk to and we could see how dedicated he is to helping others. We so appreciated his help and enthusiasm. We would come back just to see Aaron, Kevin and Deshawn!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ellary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and your comments. Kevin, Aaron, and DeShaun will be very happy to read you review. They all work very hard to satisfy each and every guest. I appreciate you choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin and we hope to see you whenever you're in Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel sits in area surrounded by highways and other hotels. This is a plus for 'getting around,' but not if you are looking for the Austin Experience (i.e. live music, quirky restaurants, downtown, lake trails or the university scene). However, it is a nice looking hotel with a good pool and FREE parking (something you do not get in the downtown areas). The front desk staff (especially Kevin) were great. The room was fine and the bathroom small, but clean. The best thing about this place though, the bed! Really great bed with nice bedding! My complaints were that the hallways were not air conditioned!! This is Texas...it should be a requirement. The room with the vending and ice machine smelled like dead fish (I guess because it was hot, stuffy and the trash needed to be emptied). One time, I had to go to three different ice machines to find one that worked. Also, at night, the hallways seemed rather dark (and a bit scary). As a solo traveller, I like to see what's around the corner. Still, I would recommend this place. For the money, it was a great night's sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunAwayNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your frank and candid comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize we didn't meet all your expectations but I am very pleased that Kevin and our Desk Staff were able to take good care of you. I hope you will choose the Crowne Plaza again, whenever you are in Austin. I can assure you we will work very hard to meet all your expectations. Thank you.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

stayed here two weeks ago, Kevin at the front desk was very helpful upon checking in. It was memorial day, and being my husband is retired military, he sincerely thanked my husband for his service, and said if we need anything at all to not hesitate to let him know. And i did....several times lol. I must of called down stairs a dozen times, and he was alway willing to get the job done. We stayed on the 7th floor, and we caught the lobby right before closing, where Christina was so sweet and helpful, and stayed open 5 min late for us while i gathered my crew out. She helped us with a smile and always said its not a problem. The breakfast was awesome and we had a great experience the whole stay. Thank you Crowne Plaza for hiring wonderful people and having a beautiful hotel, it really helped kick start our vacation!
-stacy stephenson
corpus christi, TX

Room Tip: make your way down to breakfast....its really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I will pass on your comments of Kevin and Christina. It is always rewarding to hear from our guests and we're extremely you and your husband chose the Crowne Plaza Austin. We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#51 of 202 in Austin
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Austin

Property: Crowne Plaza Austin
Address: 6121 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#34 Family Hotel in Austin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Crossroads of the Capitol City minutes from Downtown Austin and the Texas State Capitol, guests appreciate our dedication in ensuring each stay is enjoyable. Our convenient central location at I-35 & Hwy 290 provides easy access to the area s top corporate centers & major attractions. Super Shuttle offers transportation to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS). Relax in one of 293 newly renovated guest rooms featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage . The executive floor, with private elevator key access, offers upgraded amenities and an executive lounge serving breakfast, and beer & wine each weekday. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms, lobby, and business center make it easy to catch up on those last minute e-mails. Workouts in the fitness center are convenient with 24-hour guest key access, and afterwards enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or Jacuzzi. Guests enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Crossroads Grille, and then also enjoy your favorite beverage in Crossroads Lounge. With one of the largest ballrooms in the area, the Crowne Plaza is The Place to Meet offering 12,000 square feet of event space. Area Businesses: Dell, Applied Materials, Samsung, Dell Children s Hospital, IBM, Intel, Siemens, & University of Texas. Area Attractions: 6th Street, Warehouse District, UT, Austin Convention Center, Barton Springs, LBJ Presidential Library, Arboretum, Round Rock AAA baseball team and Disch Falk Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing