We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average to Below Average Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Austin
Ranked #28 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Average to Below Average Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm not sure I would stay here again. I'll start with the good...

The staff here were all very nice and accommodating. As an example, I had some friends meeting me at the hotel around dinner time and they had children with them. The regular dining room in the restaurant was closed for some reason - but the tables were all set. We were sent to eat in the lounge. But the lounge was crowded and it was quite "loungy" and really not a good place for children. So we asked if we could be serviced in the empty restaurant next door - they were happy to do so. My friends and I really had a private dining experience that worked better for their children.

My main problem was with the room. The hard surfaces of the room were clean. And although it was not the "chic"-est of rooms, that was not my main concern. I like cleanliness. And the room was clean. However, the sheets and the towels were disgusting. The towels were dingy and there were lots of stains. The sheets were also very dingy. There were stains on sheets and on the bedspread. I took one bedspread and just put it on the floor - there was no way I was sleeping with that. Despite the room being clean, I was pretty put off by the sheets and the towels. I'm attaching pictures of just some of the many stains I saw that were very visible. One set of stains on the sheets were bright orange (the pictures don't do it justice). Personally, my linens at home don't look like this - I don't expect to pay to stay at a place with linens like this.

I complained to the front desk and she provided a free drink, along with a new, bright blanket. But a free drink really didn't make me want to hop between those sheets. Also, I requested several extra sets of towels - and even in doing that, I rarely found a bright, white towel free of old stains.

Another issue I had - the toilet was a strange contraption. It spit out so much water I thought it was a bidet too. Instead of just having water flow down the bowl from the top of the rim into the bowl, one big, thick stream of water went into an upward trajectory/arc every time you flushed (using these flush buttons on top of the toilet), splashing water everywhere each time you flushed. Weird. And scary the first time you flush. And certainly not my preference.

And the water in the shower didn't get that hot. It was strange. One night it vacillated between lukewarm, cool and somewhat hot. The next night it was a little better - but never as hot as I prefer. (And I had it as hot as it would go) And the bathroom is teeny tiny.

Lastly, I didn't see an easy option for me to get the sheets changed the next day. I was running out to do my work, so I forgot to ask to get the sheets changed. And I was worried they might look worse than what was on there already. And overall, when I pay to stay at a hotel, I feel like I shouldn't have to take so much time out of my real purpose for being there to point out stains on sheets that can easily be seen. It would have been nice if there were a card I could put on my bed to indicate that I wanted the sheets changed, but there was nothing.

So, not sure I would do this one again... but I'm sure this will work for some who don't care about stained towels and sheets. Normally, I would rate this as Poor. But since the staff was so nice, I moved the rating to Average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Let me apologize for our failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. I have notified my Executive Housekeeper and have sent him a copy of your review, including the pictures. I can tell you that what you experienced is not typical of our hotel. I urge you to give us another chance at serving you. We appreciate your comments and I can assure you we'll work very hard at correcting them. Feel free to contact me if your have other concerns or suggestions.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    307
    146
    70
    46
See reviews for
156
137
54
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

rudy the shuttle guy' is the best guy ever to help you with any transportation or with any questions you may have he was very very helpful person he needs a 5 star" ,overall we were very satisfied with the stay, the only thing is when you arrive at the motel the appearance of the lobby was a definate 3 star rating , but the room was not, i would give the room a no more than a 2 star rating,
Betty , from Alberta, canada'

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We hope, on your next stay, we are able to change your mind on our rooms. Perhaps you will forward me your suggestions on what we could do to increase your rating. As for Rudy, I will pass on your comments to him. He takes great pride in providing the highest level of service to all our guests. I look forward to hearing from you soon and we all look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, TX
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Kevin at the front desk was very efficient. The bell captain was very helpful. On the 7th floor in the executive room Wanda and the young lady were very helpful and pleasant. The Mexican buffet was very good in the downstairs restaurant where we again saw Wanda and all staff were very courteous..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Kevin and Wanda are two of our very best when it comes to providing the highest level of guest service and I'm very pleased they performed at that level for you. I'll pass on your comments regarding the buffet to the Executive Chef. He'll be happy to hear them. We all hope you will return to our hotel soon. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Kevin and Marquise were just great, from the time I walked in to check in they were attentive, they knew what and how my paperwork should be filled out and they gave service with a smile and when I checked out they made sure my paperwork was in order.it was very nice to see two young me with good character. They are keepers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am very pleased to hear that Kevin and Marquise were able to make your stay with us successful. They continually strive to provide the best service possible and your review indicates that they succeeded. Thank you for your review. I will post and share it will all our associates. We hope you will continue to choose the Crowne Plaza Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was a good experience staying at crowne plaza, austin. The breakfst was really good. And their arrangements for nearby pick and drop is highly efficient. The drivers were kind and helpful. Especially Darry, Rudy, Paul were good friends and very helpful. The room was also good, except that there is no kitchen or atleast microwave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyothir001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's always nice to hear such positive things about our drivers. They work very hard at providing the highest level of guest service and I'm pleased to see them recognized. We do hope you will consider staying at our hotel on any future visits to Austin. We do provide microwaves upon request and we would be happy to make sure it's in your room on your return. Thank you again for your review and thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Austin, TX. The entire staff did everything to make our stay at the Crowne Plaza confortable & enjoyable from arrival to departure. Roy B., bellman greeted us with a warm smile, "glad to see you again" and very helpful getting all luggage and other items to our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalton_LAVFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We heartily agree with your opinion! We work hard to be the best by providing outstanding service to all our guests. Your group is wonderful to work with and we enjoy having you stay here every year. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. I will pass on your comments to Roy and will post your review for the rest of the staff. Thank you again for choosing the Crowne Plaza Austin.

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we arrived, Roy with Conceirge was right there. Very helpful from the moment we drove up. He was a very nice person that we saw everyday and was helpful every day. When we left Roy was right there to help with our bags and to make sure that we had a great time. Roy is one of the reasons that we enjoy coming back every year.

Room Tip: Conceirge is very helpful. The restaurant has very good servers and they are very nice to be around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaJackson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Austin, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and your very kind words about Roy. He is indeed an excellent associate who really cares about providing the best possible service to all our guests. I will make sure I pass on your comments. I can assure you that Roy,myself, and the entire staff enjoyed working with your group and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Randy Brunnemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Austin

Property: Crowne Plaza Austin
Address: 6121 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-3801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Austin
#34 Family Hotel in Austin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Crossroads of the Capitol City minutes from Downtown Austin and the Texas State Capitol, guests appreciate our dedication in ensuring each stay is enjoyable. Our convenient central location at I-35 & Hwy 290 provides easy access to the area s top corporate centers & major attractions. Super Shuttle offers transportation to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS). Relax in one of 293 newly renovated guest rooms featuring the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage . The executive floor, with private elevator key access, offers upgraded amenities and an executive lounge serving breakfast, and beer & wine each weekday. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms, lobby, and business center make it easy to catch up on those last minute e-mails. Workouts in the fitness center are convenient with 24-hour guest key access, and afterwards enjoy a refreshing dip in our outdoor pool or Jacuzzi. Guests enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Crossroads Grille, and then also enjoy your favorite beverage in Crossroads Lounge. With one of the largest ballrooms in the area, the Crowne Plaza is The Place to Meet offering 12,000 square feet of event space. Area Businesses: Dell, Applied Materials, Samsung, Dell Children s Hospital, IBM, Intel, Siemens, & University of Texas. Area Attractions: 6th Street, Warehouse District, UT, Austin Convention Center, Barton Springs, LBJ Presidential Library, Arboretum, Round Rock AAA baseball team and Disch Falk Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing