We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dated rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent the weekend here as were going to see a play at Bass Concert Hall. This was a convenient location for that, as well as watching the bats, plenty of dining options, etc. The only drawback to this property is that the rooms are dated (old carpet, wallpaper, ect) and there is very limited seating by the pool if you'd like to order food and eat by the pool. Plenty of loungers but only two tables. We paid for a suite but I wouldn't recommend it unless you get a complimentary upgrade. Would stay here again.
Note: Drinks are rather expensive unless you catch happy hour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsItFiveOClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

IsItFiveOClock,

Thank you for you review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient to everything you wanted to do.

You'll be happy to hear that we are planning a renovation of of one-bedroom suites later this year.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is in a nice location. The staff are very nice and helpful. Might stay there again but only after checking out other properties in the area. The rooms were a good size but the hotel is in need of an updated. Could just be used to staying in newer properties. It wasn't what I expected for the price.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not on Cesar Chavez. Also, factor in an extra $18 a day for parking at the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

doncur,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our staff helpful. It's also great that you were pleased with our location and the size of our rooms.

You mentioned our rooms being dated - we are actually going to be renovating our rooms beginning later this year. We have completed several renovations in the last year - you may have enjoyed our new, infinity-edge pool and chavez, our new restaurant. Our rooms will be our next big renovation. We hope you'll visit us again to see how they turn out!

Until then, you can see updates about our remodels, as well as Austin area events and activities, by following us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) or Twitter (@RadissonAustin).

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a conference in late April on our very first trip to Austin. This is a nice hotel, a little dated, but the great location and really super staff make it a good choice for downtown visitors and convention attendees. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Convention Center and there are tons of awesome restaurants within walking distance, plus its within easy reach of all the 6th street fun. It has a great bar out back with a view overlooking the river, and it is in close proximity of the Congress Ave. Bridge for bat-and-people watching at sunset. Jogging and walking trails are great for late afternoon or evening exercise. The rooms are pleasant, certainly comfortable. Ours had a great view of the city that more than made up for its slightly dated decor. The staff at this hotel was truly awesome; everyone was friendly and outgoing, quick to answer questions or help with anything. The housekeeping staff here is magnificent; no matter what time we returned from the conference, our room was always clean and fresh when we got back. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Kinich,

Thank you so much for your review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your first trip to Austin and your stay with us. We're pleased that our location was convenient for you, that you found your room comfortable & clean, and that you enjoyed the bat & people watching from our chavez lounge. We are especially pleased to hear your rave reviews of our staff! We try our best to deliver genuine Texas hospitality to all of our guests and we're happy you recognized that.

We hope that you'll stay with us again if you're ever back in Austin!

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited Austin for a Motor race event with some friends from Australia.
They upgraded both rooms free of charge.
Carparking was onsite and only a couple of blocks to sixth street with all the bars.
TGI Fridays put on a good meal and had a good bar atmosphere for all the motor racing fans in town.
Rooms were as expected clean and presentable with a turn down service.
Will recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to mention that TGIFriday's has closed since your stay. Our new restaurant, chavez, features southwestern cuisine and floor-to-ceiling views of the lake.

We hope that you'll stay with us again, should your travels bring you back to Austin.

Happy traveling,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Every time my family and I visit Austin, we stay in this hotel. We always stay here for the Austin Marathon in that you have a 10 min walk to the start. The location couldn't be any better! We park in the free garage and can easily walk to many restaurants. Plus, it's just a 5 min walk to Lady Bird Lake aka the best place to run/walk in Austin! Rooms with a view of the lake are a must! I love the renovation of the restaurant, Chavez, for it's beautiful glass window views of the lake and the nice bar are a must see. Rooms are spacious, well cleaned and remember to get a lake view! Recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice stay downtown and central to all things Austin!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Katie H,

Thank you for your review and for being such a loyal guest! We're happy to hear that you've found us to be a good home base for many Austin adventures including the Austin Marathon, runs around the lake, and numerous restaurants. We're so happy to hear that you enjoy our new restaurant chavez and its view of the lake.

We look forward to your next visit! Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for updates about our hotel, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel is easy to find, nicely decorated, Starbucks in the lobby. They have done away with the TGI Fridays that was in the lobby and opted for their own restaurant. The restaurant is very nicely decorated in an elegant clean line modern motif with fresh nouveau Mexican/Southwest themes food. You can watch one of the chefs making huge vats of well seasoned guacamole from scratch. We had chips and guacamole at happy hour. The guacamole was excellent. We ate breakfast there also which was very good. The hotel overlooks Ladybird Lake, a perfect perch to watch the largest bat colony in North America (over 1 million bats) ascend for their nightly feeding flight at dusk. (No the bats don't bother you at all and TONS of folk watch from the bridge or from canoes on the lake or from the lawn embankment right outside the back of the hotel). Rooms are clean, elegant and nicely appointed. They include a coffee maker w/Starbucks coffee and a Sleep Number bed. We found the self parking in the hotels garage to be easy and a money saver, just drive slowly because it is tight if you have a size able vehicle. They offer valet as well. Hotel is mere blocks away from the captitol building and 6th Street! Take the horse drawn carriage ride at night.mthe Capitol building is BEAUTIFULLY lit and romantic. You can catch it right outside of the fabulous Driskill hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimLW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Kim,

Thank you so much for your review! We're so pleased that your enjoyed your recent stay with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our new restaurant and that you got to see the bats fly - it is an amazing sight indeed! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, found our parking to be a good value, and that you enjoyed our location. We love your suggestion of a horse-drawn carriage ride to the capitol at night!

We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin. Until then, we invite your to follow us on Facebook (/RadissonAustin) and Twitter (@RadissonAustin) for hotel updates, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy travels, and happy birthday from Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson early May 2014 both independently and with a group. Both times we were pleased with the hotel. The breakfast menu had local flavor and standard breakfast items. The bar, when crowded, tended to a bit slow and some wine prices by the glass were expensive but I didn't stay here for the bar. It has a good location, right on major bus routes, and closest hotel to he "bats".

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bat bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

BillG43,

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stays with us. It's nice to hear that you were pleased with the chavez breakfast menu and our location.

We hope that you'll stay with us again next time you're in Austin. Until then, we invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for updates about the hotel, as well as Austin area events and activities.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $132 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing