We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location, very good accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #37 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very good accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel is walking distance from restaurants, Austin City, Convention Center and many attractions. Bus from airport stops directly in front of hotel. Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant was closed due to renovation. Room was good. I was appreciative of the numerous desk and bedside table plugs to charge multiple devices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jacqueline O,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We value all guest feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Austin. We are very sorry about he restaurant. Our new restaurant will be opening in January of 2014. We hope that you will come back again in the future to see all the new things we have to offer. Thank you so much for your time. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    615
    278
    140
    76
See reviews for
319
361
68
817
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed 10-18 thru 10-24 for business @ Convention Center. Location is excellent; easy walk to/from CC, Rainey St., 6th St.
Pool area is VERY nice, one hopes the rest of the hotel will catch up.
Had a riverside room, which was very nice. Can't really complain about the room in general, although it could use a bit of sprucing up all around.

Here's the downside.

At NO time during my reservation process, (which involved several calls to the hotel itself), was I informed that there were renovations ongoing, and that there would be no on-site restaurant. Had I not seen that info here on TA, I never would have known. Certainly would not have been a deal breaker, but I do believe the hotel has an obligation to be forthcoming with this type of info.
Secondly, at NO time during my stay was I ever informed of a "complimentary continental breakfast" proffered by the hotel as recompense for the lack of on site dining. Not until the next to the last day of my stay did I learn of this, and that was merely by chance in conversation with an employee in the lift.

Overall, not a bad hotel, I don't mean to sound too harsh. Better communication would have allowed me to rate this property higher than I have.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydee414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are very sorry that the information about the breakfast was not provided for you. We are working to get this information better communicated to our guests. We will address this issue with our guest service. Thank you for your feedback about the hotel needing a little more sprucing up. We value this feedback. We are currently renovating the hotel and are very excited for the new changes coming in 2014. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A very nice hotel situated on the banks of the Colorado river next to the Congress Avenue Bridge which is home to a large colony of bats. The bats take flight in large numbers at dusk. Unfortunately I missed it. The hotel was clean and pleasant and could find nothing to complain about (not that I wanted to).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all of your feedback. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Radisson. As a Club Carlson Gold Elite, we were given an upgraded room overlooking the river. The best part is we had a perfect view to watch the "bat bridge", though sadly there was no mass exodus that evening. The room was quite large and comfortable, and the location was within walking distance to everything in downtown. The only reason the hotel didn't receive 5 stars was due to the very disappointing breakfast - extremely limited selection. That aside, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear krivokrasov,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied the breakfast service. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We are sorry that you were not satisfied. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great location by Congress Ave Bridge (to view bats, if you choose)
Walk to many happenings close-by

Staff friendly & helpful but did NOT mention free breakfast..Bummer
Starbucks Breakfast pricey & frankly quite boring in my opinion.

Pool area wonderful - recently updated. Salt water Infinity Pool
Deck w/ ceiling fans by pool

Hotel under going renovations - but wasn't visible to us.
Lobby is great - loved the aquarium.
Room very nice. Furniture a bit worn, but clean.
All will be updated very soon.

Almost forgot - a real highlight.
Mattress wonderful. Sleep # Bed so can adjust for ultimate sleeping comfort.
Lots of fun.

Would go back - liked the hotel very much...loved Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear LFMME,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. Thank you for baring with us during our much needed renovations. We will pass all of your great feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I give it a 5 overall service was good could have been better, front desk attendant was friendly but needs to information customers. When I ask if restaurant was close she said yes advise that hotel had room service and Starbucks but didn't mention hotel was offering complimentary breakfast fue to renovation that got me upset because I already knew it was being offered because another front desk attendant had already informed, but over all room was clean good room temperature and great view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear lachuya,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our service. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

OK hotel, in the midst of renovation. At least the restaurants and pool are getting redone. Hopefully the rooms will follow. Bedroom furniture is all chipped. But there are lots of outlets for charging electronics. The bathroom was smelly and came with cheaper end toiletries. The hotel is located along busy Cesar Chavez St. so there is a constant noise of car horns and sirens. The proximity to downtown clubs comes along with noisy drunks just outside and down the hall. But it's convenient to everything. There's a full Starbucks in the lobby! Just needs to spruce up a bit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear TravelerPhiladelphia,

Thank you for all of your comments about your stay with us. We too are very excited for our renovations. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Austin. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#28 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing