We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #36 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had boxes and luggage to leave in our car, so we wanted a hotel that had self parking, in downtown, with good reviews. We reserved while driving in from New Orleans, and got a great rate with continental breakfast. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the Sleep Number Bed was a change from what we usually sleep on. There was renovation going on, but it was not an issue for us, except for the day when there was an alarm and announcement on our floor before mid morning. We did not try the pool, but it looked quite nice when we walked to the Congress Avenue bridge right next to the hotel to witness the bats flying out to feed. We noticed some small groups standing in the hotel's parking building watching the show as well. The young lady at the concierge desk was quite helpful on the topics we were curious about. We also were welcomed by a friendly and helpful young man who helped us with all the luggage we did not leave in the car. The hotel location is very convenient for visiting 6th street, and the really good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THFinPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear THFinPR,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We are very sorry for the alarm on that day. We really do value all guest feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the area. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    570
    265
    125
    74
See reviews for
296
336
65
752
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff at this hotel is very helpful and friendly, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. I found a long, black hair IN the sheets when I pulled them back to climb in and more hair in the bathroom. I was not sure the room had been cleaned at all. It looked cleaner the next day after housekeeping came in, but my first impressions were not good. I always specifically ask for a quiet room and was put in a room in which construction was going on right next door ...very loudly at 7:00 am on Sat. morning. I did enjoy the complimentary breakfast that was provided because the restaurant was closed. The hideabed couch was very old and dingy looking;thank goodness the person sleeping on it was small enough to fit across the cushions as the actual mattress in the sleeper couch was not in good shape. The sleep number beds are great, really comfortable, and the staff is great, but this hotel,is very drab and needs to be updated badly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river or bridge for a great view and quiet. And ask for a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babschambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We apologize that we failed to make a good first impression. Room cleanliness is our top priority. We will certainly will use this feedback to retrain our housekeeping team. We do apologize for the crew that violated our noise policy prior to to 10am on the weekends. This issue has been addressed and eliminated. We understand your concern for the overall hotel condition and there are changes coming. Thank you for your patronage. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful staff - extremely helpful and pleasant. We were, however, disappointed that we were not forewarned of the renovations and lack of a restaurant. We did buy drinks at the (temporary) bar but these were the most expensive drinks of our entire vacation. And, we do not agree with a 19 per cent gratuity being automatically added. On the plus side, great location and clean, pleasant room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tracey B,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are dong our best to forewarn our guests of the renovations. We are very sorry that you did not get this information. We are sorry if you were not inconvenienced at all. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the gratuity. We will pass all this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two nights in Austin recently and stayed at the Radisson located down the street from the state capitol. The rooms are smaller than expected, but the city view that we had was fantastic. My only complaint is that the rooms may not be finished being made up until as late as 6 pm. But the biggest and brightest thing was the helpful staff. From the valet to the front desk, we were treated very well. We would definitely stay here again.

Sleep Number Bed. Lots of pillows small and large.

Note: It is possible to walk to the state capitol from the hotel - it is straight down from the hotel. It is not necessarily advisable die to the humidity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear NSpear,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your wife stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the housekeeping. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, a Friday and Saturday. We found the hotel to be near enough to the bars of 6th street, 10 minute walk or thereabouts. Nearby many various eateries too with various food types eg Chinese, sushi and steaks.

The hotel has a lovely pool very modern looking with plenty of loungers. It was busy at times although we never had trouble getting a lounger and the atmosphere was relaxed with people enjoying very good poolside service and a view of the river.

Staff and concierge were very helpful as we're the staff who greeted you outside and again helped with taxis and local information. A bicycle taxi from the bars was a lovely treat at end of night and around $10.

Overall a modern hotel with a charming lounge area and a relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay here and found it easy to find. You can valet park or self park which is cheaper and easy enough , on site next to the main entrance, with several levels. Austin was a great city to visit and we met loads of great friendly people. No concerns.

Room Tip: We just took the room given and it was absolutely ok.It didn't do breakfast at the time. Some ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you both enjoyed your stay in Austin. We value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely clean hotel, helpful staff, lovely breakfast nice tidy clean room, free internet staff very helpful room nice and spacious the pool was really nice having poolside seating I found nice apart from smoking was allowed. The only thing that spoiled the atmosphere would I stay again,, probably

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ozman1,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the smoking being allowed in the pool area. We will pass these concerns on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allow us to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently stayed there for the first Texas home game of the year. It is a great location, right in the middle of everything, including a big triathalon that went on out our window on the lake, and then bikers going past the hotel for a long time, with traffic blocked off. It wasn't an inconvenience for us, but it might have been for some guests. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations and I think it will be for a long time, with a lot of room updates planned, in addition to the restaurant situation, which was a little inconvenient. The room was fine, with a great corporate rate we got, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. They've redone the pool area, apparently - it seems pretty small to me, but part of that is because of the slope down to the lake - there's only so much room. The misters and big-screen in the pool area were nice. We would definitely stay there again, even with the renovations going on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kay,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for all of your comments about the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Austin. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. thank you for you time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Carlson, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing