We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good for what it is”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First off, the hotel itself is undergoing a desperately needed updating/renovation, and once that is done it will be so nice because the décor is pretty dated. Location is awesome- right on the lake and central to everything. I asked for a lake view room at check-in and was told it would be an upgrade, so I passed since we were only staying 1 night. Lo and behold, we got a 12th floor lake view room anyway! Woo hoo! I'm not crazy about the Sleep Number beds, but that's just personal preference. Shower was a standard tub/shower combo but great water pressure. It was great to have a Starbucks right in the hotel for a coffee to go. Overall, for the price it's pretty good, but we are going to try the Hyatt across the lake next week to compare.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up room for awesome view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannoneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Cannoneva,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so happy that you were satisfied with your room. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    674
    308
    163
    86
See reviews for
344
392
78
931
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location in the heart of downtown Austin. Staff upgraded me and my gf to a King Size bed for free just telling them I was proposing! She said yes BTW :-) We stayed for two nights. They also put us up on the top floor with a beautiful view of Congress Ave. looking right up to the state capitol. The TGIFridays is right downtstairs in addition to a Starbucks coffee. The hotel room was very clean and nothing special, but how much time do you spend in your room?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. Congrats to you on your engagement. We strive to make everyone comfortable. We value all of your feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you both will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Radisson for one night this past Saturday. We had low expectations but were proven extremely wrong. What a nice hotel! We stayed on the 12th floor in a King Bed Suite. We had access to the Club amenities and the staff was awesome. We were in walking distance of everything! They are currently remodeling the pool and when it's completed it will be magnificent. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate102683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you for telling us aobut your stay with us. Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
318 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and overall enjoyed our experience. That was mostly due however to the amazing location of this hotel. The rooms themselves were okay, the walls were paper thin and the furnishings were pretty outdated. It seems however that the hotel staff have heard these concerns. They were very clear that the rooms will be updated shortly (including pool area which looks like it'll be great).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear app05166,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are currently being renovated. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My girl friends and I just spent a girls weekend in Austin for a bachelorette party weekend. This hotel is in a great location to be able to walk to many of Austin's bars and restaurants. It is also situated right on the river, with access to the wonderful riverside path right outside the hotel. The girls and I went on a morning run and it was so beautiful! The lobby also has live music and cocktails in the evening which I thought was nice. I was also impressed with the radisson for how accommodating they were to us. The concierge (Johnny) was super friendly and nice arranging cabs for our party of six. Also we ordered a bottle of sparkling wine to our room and they were more than happy to deliver it quickly. The rooms were pretty standard, but with very comfortable beds. Also it seems the hotel is going under some renovations to update it, including adding a new pool overlooking the river. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any Austin visitors looking for a great location and accommodating staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherienian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear cherienian,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you all. We hope you enjoyed your girls weekend in Austin. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Also thank you for mentioning Johnny. The staff members always enjoy hearing feedback about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I give the hotel 3 stars for the location which is ideal. The rest of the experience was not good. I had reserved a king suite and at check in was offerred a club level room for $35 extra per night, which I accepted based on my previous review of the website which showed you received use of the club, munchies, a continental breakfast, and free parking. The club has no real food, just soda, tea, coffee, and fruit chips, pretzels. No happy hour appetizers. The breakfast, consisting of bagels, prepackaged pastry, fruit, juice and coffee was not put out until after 7am both days I was at the hotel, and one of the days was a weekday. The coffee was not fresh and tasted terrible. Not acceptable to put out coffee and breakfast that late when you are travelling or have business to attend to. Everything should be out at 6am. As for the upgrade, they charged my credit card for the parking, and I was not offered the drink tickets. When I inquired what I was paying the extra money for, I was told what I was offered was not a full club upgrade, just a room in that wing of the hotel and use of the club. Definately a ripoff at $35 per night. I escalated the complaint to managment and the manager argued with me but eventually offered the drink tickets and removed the parking charge, though she said, in case I stayed at the hotel again, that this would be a one time adjustment and that they were not incorrect in the inital charge. As for the room, it was clean but old, the toilet ran, the tv remote did not work at times. This is a 3 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler131125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with you stay. We value all guest feedback. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayson, georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night as part of a Texas trip. The hotel is undergoing a remodel but this was not a nuisance. What made this property special was the people. Every employee went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Special kudos to Darrel, the concierge, who made sure we were taken care of. It is obvious he knows and loves Austin and wants to make sure his guests experience the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stew2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear stew2730,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you and your daughter enjoyed your stay in Austin. Thank you for your mention of our employee Darrel. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to him. Our staff members always enjoy hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing