We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #44 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The front desk was welcoming. Although our room was not ready at 4 pm, we went to the Starbucks attached to the lobby for a cup of coffee, and they called us within a reasonable time. The room was fine, and the bathroom was clean and had sufficient counter space. Our room had a mini fridge, which we appreciated. The internet was slow, but worked ok. Parking costs $16 per day, which is a bit steep, but the garage is attached to the hotel, so the car is protected from the elements. The hotel won't wow you, but was perfectly fine. We would stay there again, but really prefer a hotel that includes coffee and breakfast in the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Susan s,

Thank you for telling us about your visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We are so sorry that your room was not finished at 4pm. We apologize greatly for this inconvenience to you. Thank you for mentioning your thoughts about the parking garage. We are always trying to find ways for our hotel to get better. Thank you for your thoughts. We appreciate all guest feedback because it helps us make the necessary improvements to our hotel to make it better for you and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Good location, front desk did not tell me that myself and everyone in my room receive a free breakfast buffet each morning just happened to see the fliers. They did lack in providing important information . Perfect location to 6th st the walk wasn't bad. Starbucks a bonus. House keeping didn't refill water bottles or the individual coffee for the room. I would return to this hotel now that I know what to expect. Oh and the advertisement says sleep number bed but no way to adjust the beds...

Room Tip: 4th floors have queen beds we got stuck on the 3rd and it was doubles only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Barbara K,

Thank you for tell us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns. We have passed on your thoughts about the lack of information on to our management. It is important to us to make each guest feel welcome, and it is not our intention to make the guest feel like they need more information. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you at all. We strive as a hotel to provide a great guest experience for all of our guests. We would like to thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

169+tax Per Night for a fairly mundane hotel. Ok location, handy for airport bus (1 dollar to airport). Slow Internet and unreliable housekeeping service.

Breakfast not included - just a sad Starbucks

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Rovingprof,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We have noted your concerns about the internet and the housekeeping service and have passed these comments on to them. Your comments help us make the necessary improvements to make our hotel better.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed one night to attend Austin City Limits (walking distance). I received the government rate due to my military status. Great location, we had lunch at TGI Fridays, it was "ok". We wanted to eat there late, but the staff didn't want to serve us unless we ate at the bar with kids in tow. We ordered pizza instead. The room was dated, and the sleep number beds were like an air matress. I plopped down on the bed while my wife was sitting on it and she nearly hit the ceiling. Positives are Location and Starbucks, Negatives are beds, expensive parking, traffic noise and the strange security guy with white framed glasses. Also, the concierge needs to brush up on his manners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Jeff M,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with your family to our hotel. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the bed, and the concierge. We apologize for any inconvenience. We have passed these concerns on to our management and the will take care of these issues right away. We strive as a hotel to give all of our guests a great customer experience. Thank you again for providing your feedback. Our guest's feedback is very important to us.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will visit with us again in the future.

Sincerely, Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was clean and the people were very nice. I didn't like the Sleep Number bed, though; soft enough for sleeping was too saggy for sitting. (Evidently the sleep number affects the entire mattress, not just the top few inches.) The hot water was plentiful and the towels were changed on request and not automatically every day. However, the "free" wifi turned out to be $14.95 a day in the rooms — and while I was there they even discontinued free wifi in the lobby. Also, the in-room coffee is not good at all and they provide nasty fake stuff for creamer even though they have half-and-half downstairs in the breakfast room. And although they provide a bottle of water with the room, they don't provide any way for guests to recycle those bottles.

And seriously, a TGI Friday's as a hotel restaurant? That would be more appropriate for a Holiday Inn Express than for a Radisson.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear ebuie,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about your room and your sleep number bed. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We have told our management staff about these concerns and we will correct them. We appreciate all guest feedback. We use the feedback to correct the issues. It helps us make the necessary changes to make our hotel better.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed here during the Austin Food and Wine Festival held the weekend of April 27th. We were upgraded to a suite because they had overbooked!!! We found our room to be very clean and the maid service did an excellent job during our four day stay. Also, we found the pool area to be very fun and relaxing after hard days of shopping and the food festival. :-)
The check-in was fast and the desk personnel were very helpful and friendly all during our stay as was the concierge. We would like to especially recognize Nicholas at the front desk, David and Mr. Awesome (really, that was what was on his nametag) that helped with bags and parking, and the young man who was the concierge during the day ; I cannot remember his name. all very personable and very helpful to us. My only complaint would be that I thought the valet parking was a bit pricey: $25 a day. But all-in-all would recommend this hotel. We had a great time and would return.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank peastertexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear peastertexas,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel during the Austin Food and Wine Festival. We hope that you enjoyed the festival. We appreciate all of your thoughts and comments.We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We hope that if you come to the area again that you will stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The area is very convenient for walking to the local restaurants, shopping and the capitol. We enjoyed the Cedar Door restaurant, the Continental Club (for music) & Doc's restaurant- all within walking distance. The room was clean and nice. The only oddity in the bathroom was a faucet from the side that seemed to be an after thought. The sink drain did clog but staff were quick to repair. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Nice to have Starbucks and TGIF as either very early or very late food options. Otherwise well worth dining at local restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrakeForMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear BrakeForMoose,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate all of your comments. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the bathroom faucet. We have passed that concern on to our management so we can quickly correct the issue. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $231 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing