We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of $322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Austin Airport(Austin)(Great Value!)
$120
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Driskill(Austin)
$170
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$144
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$127
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Austin Southpark(Austin)(Great Value!)
$150
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$95
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,151)
Filter reviews
3,151 results
Traveler rating
1,563
849
377
212
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
849
377
212
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop pooloffice buildingclub levelnice hotelroom servicesixth streetwalking distancestate capitollobby barself parkingbusiness tripconvention centerlive musicdowntownconciergenoiseatrium
Filter
Updating list...
2,977 - 2,982 of 3,151 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Do not stay here. Period. First, they advertised online as a $300 a night hotel, and my wife thought we had a great online discount of half off. So we booked the rooms at $150 a night, then our friend came up for a spontaneous visit and was quoted $150 a room at the desk. They had the same kind of room we did. Misleading marketing practices right off the bad.

Second, the room is on par with a $89 Red Roof in. The hotel has many four-diamond award plaques on the walls. Maybe those are from days gone by. There is nothing about this hotel that merits a $300 rate (which they advertise).

Third, we pre-paid the whole stay and didn't touch the mini bar. I'm now dealing with and extra $75 in charges that magically appeared the day after we check out. So not only is the hotel crap, uses disingenuous marketing practices, but now they are trying to rip us off after we left town.

Austin is a fantastic vacation spot I would recommend to anyone, but do not stay in this tourist trap of a hotel.

Also, don't trust their photos of the "swimming pool." Looks great online, it's a one-lane lap pool that's about thirty feet long. Total garbage, more disingenuous marketing practices.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OccasionalTravelerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2009

Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate your comments. We like most hotel have published standard rates. You however purchased and advanced deposit package at a special rate. the charges you mention are for services you ordered and should ahve appeared on your bill. I apologize for the late posting. If you have questions please feel free to call me directly. We welcome input from all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Room, bed, bathroom were fine. Good location, have stayed here before. Had a room full of young men next door up until 4am playing music, singing/screaming. Tried to let it go since it was Sat. night (UT Graduation, Memorial Day, etc.). Complained Sunday night (twice), talked to manager on duty, they visited the room, little to no change. Adjoining door made it sound like we were in their room. Only peace we had was when they went out . Bars close early Sunday night right back to the room to make more noise. Completely ruined weekend away with my wife. Couldn't wait to leave, and go home for some rest. Manager made no offer to move us or them, only read them the "No Party" Policy, which they clearly did not enforce. Could hear every word they said for two days!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRM_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit over the holiday and special event weekend. We’re very sorry for the noise disturbances you encountered. The comfort of all of our guests is of the utmost importance and it is our policy to respond to every noise complaint reported. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disruptions. We do hope you will return to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We choose the Omni because of its close proximity to UT. We were there for our son's graduation and booked the room several months ago. It was very costly but we thought this occasion was worth it. The noise from 6th Street was very annoying, but the loud obnoxious people in the halls made our stay unbearable. We listening to slamming doors, loud obnoxious drunks all night. Finally at 3:45 a.m. we called the front desk and they did tend to it promptly. Can't security make frequent rounds? This noise was constant from midnight on. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjcTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

We appreciate the feedback from your visit over the Memorial Day & UT Graduation weekend. Due to our proximity to the entertainment district, we do on occasion, encounter noise from guests arriving back to the hotel after visiting 6th St. and it is our policy to respond to every noise complaint. We have implemented a Good Night’s Rest policy that we strictly enforce once an issue is reported. We’re very sorry that our Security Officers were not able to detect the disturbance, but we do thank you for reporting the issue. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more restful visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This hotel needs updating and the front desk staff needs customer service training. The location is great, but that's the last positive thing about this hotel. The bedding and decorations looked like they were at least ten years old. This hotel has not earned the AAA Four Diamond award in three years now and it is obvious why that has happened. Mismanagement and lack of attention to detail were at every turn. Not the experience that one should have at a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2009

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. Unfortunately, we do have several guestroom floors that have not yet been renovated but are scheduled to be completed in the near future. Please accept our apologies for any lapse in customer service encountered during your visit. Every Associate goes through extensive training in this regard and we’re very sorry we fell short. This hotel has maintained its 4 Diamond status since 1994 and we hope you will return to allow us to share the top quality service that is usually customary at the Omni Austin Hotel Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

The location couldn't be better. It's within walking distance to everything downtown Austin has to offer. The hotel was very elegant and luxurious, just what one would expect from an Omni. Check in was great and the staff was friendly. I got to my assigned room, opened the door and there was a man changing! Apparently the guy checked out and went back to the room. The staff was very friendly and apologetic. They handled it very well. I got my room changed and got upgraded to the concierge floor where there was complimentary drinks and appetizers. The room was immaculate and my stay was perfect! (Not to mention that the rate for military was $99!)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iv425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2009

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding the recovery efforts of our staff following the error in room assignment. Please know that this certainly is not a common occurrence. We're pleased you enjoyed the amenities on our Club Level floor and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews