We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Austin location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #42 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Spent three nights in Austin eating BBQ and listening to great music. This hotel was a perfect location - we walked to bars, restaurants, food trucks, art museum, history museum, state Capitol.
Room was well appointed, and the Starbucks in the lobby was perfect spot for a coffee and light breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SCNancy273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,863 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I loved this hotel. The people and service were fantastic. The bed was very comfortable and the food was excellent. I worked out every day in the fitness center. And I was within walking distance of other fine dining and Austin night life.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at the Omni for the music portion of SXSW. The hotel was great. Great location and service. The only issue was low water pressure in the shower. Besides that, it was a great experience and I would go back again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Close to so many things. We walked everywhere from the hotel. The hotel is very nice and the staff is top notch! Would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Pool on roof is very cool, but not very large. The Club level is very nice and the concierge was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank skampyspride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location, clean, 4-star warranted, except: sink maintenance issue went unresolved despite two separate in-person requests at front desk; internet connection was so slow that I had to resort to tethering to iPhone's LTE connection to send email. I expect better when paying max rate (374.00/night inc tax).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank erikselz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We appreciate the feedback from your recent visit during SXSW. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in maintenance and wifi service during the high volume event. We value your comments and hope you will return next year as we are in the process of upgrading our wifi system within the next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

There are many positives about the hotel, most notably the staff. Every single employee we encountered was polite, friendly and extremely helpful. Since we arrived prior to check in, the woman at the front desk provided a key to the locker room so we could change after our flight and took our bags until our room was ready. Every person at the concierge was incredible; they provided us with any information we needed (map, directions, restaurant recommendations), called us cabs when requested, and were always cordial.

The biggest drawback to the hotel is the rooms which face the street. Reviews I read before booking the hotel mentioned the noise, but given the close proximity to 6th street, I figured noise was unavoidable. I did not realize, though, just how loud it would be. It gets progressively louder throughout the weekend and it sounds as if there is a group of people fighting right outside the window -from 1am to 3am. It isn't the fault of the hotel, but it will disturb your sleep if you are a light sleeper. The young man at the front desk suggested selecting an atrium side room for future visits and I would definitely concur with that.

Overall the accommodations were great- the hotel is clean and the rooms are very comfortable, and the rooftop pool is an added bonus. We would definitely stay there again- on the atrium side.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate your kind words for our staff members and were sorry to hear you were disturbed by city noise during your visit. We look forward to your next visit in an atrium facing guestroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Love this hotel and the staff is excellent, self-parking for $20.00 is very convenient. We were upgraded after signing up for Omni Select. Street noise was a little loud at night. Great area to stay if your into walking around the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko-cc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $186 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing