We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #38 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Omni Austin has a friendly staff (more than anything else this is why I would go back), it is conveniently located and the rooms are good size and nicely appointed. Roof deck pool is very small and it can be extremely windy up there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 537charlesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    727
    301
    166
    105
See reviews for
360
642
117
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Staff is welcoming and friendly, amenities are first class, rooms are on the small side but nicely appointed. All around very good hotel. Front desk staff was spot-on with restaurant recommendations. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank davosbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

nice location, nice room. No microwave, kitchen for price. Smaller living room TV than expected. Great view and location, Lobby is good to look at, sit and talk. Enjoyed the breakfast. Tried the chef's suggested omelets and liked it. Be careful when parking because small space in the garage

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

In addition to having nice facilities and everything you'd expect from a good hotel, I can't say enough about the Austin Omni's staff. When I arrived with a cold and no voice for my business trip, they immediately brought soup and tea to my room and consistently checked in/brought tea with my dinner orders throughout my stay. It was incredibly sweet of them and made a not so fun time traveling while a bit under the weather much more pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay and trust you're feeling better. We're pleased to hear our staff members were able to make you feel a bit more comfortable. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a terrific experience at the Omni. We booked through Hotels.com and joined the Omni loyalty club online in advance, which is a must-do for any guest.

Room & Amenities: We were thrilled to receive an upgrade to a king suite on the 15th floor, which was absolutely HUGE and included a full kitchen and its very own exercise room. Room was beautiful and spacious! Although it was not ready when we arrived, the hotel called us as soon as it was, and was very helpful in storing our luggage and offering us a room to change in if we needed to. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool on the warm day of our trip - we only wished there was a hot tub up there for the cooler days!

Service: Every single person we interacted with, from the front desk receptionist to the concierge desk, was absolutely friendly and helpful and made sure we had a great experience at the hotel and in Austin. The concierge desk provided great maps of the area and excellent suggestions about where to visit, eat, etc.

Location: We found it to be very convenient to everything we wanted to do downtown - easy walk to 6th Street of course, but also to Congress Street and the Capitol. A doable, but long (20-30 min) walk to Rainey Street District and to South Congress. Easy-to-navigate bus system is just down the street as well, which we took to the UT campus and to South Congress area.

We had no trouble at all with noise, probably due to being on a high floor and in an interior-facing room. Loved the free wifi and complimentary beverages every morning via loyalty program.

All in all, 5 stars!

Room Tip: High floor, interior rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodheart98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the accolades regarding your recent stay. We value your patronage and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A booking mistake on arrival was corrected quickly and without fuss. Centrally located close to 6th Street and restaurants. Very quiet room, friendly staff. Paid a little more than I usually would, but as it's our last stop on a lengthy holiday, it was worth the money

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had a business weekend stay in Austin over my birthday and selected the Omni based on reviews and location. Check-in late Friday afternoon went well and they gave me a complimentary upgrade for my birthday as well as cupcakes in my room. The location is great to easily walk around downtown Austin and over to South Congress. Rooms were comfortable, with nice TVs and decent amenities. Only thing I would echo is being aware of the noise from 6th St. If you are partaking of the fun, it won't be an issue, but if you stay in on a weekend night, you will hear street level noise late into the evening if your room faces the street - even if you are staying on a high floor. Overall, the experience was great with excellent service and I would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing