We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still your best bet in Downtown Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Austin has a dynamic hotel situation. When the town is full, which is often, all of the four star hotels are expensive for what you get. Generally, the Omni will be your best bet for a true four star hotel downtown. Quality of furnishings, linens, towels and service are a cut above everything but the Four Seasons and maybe the W, both of which will usually be 70% higher. The Omni comes awfully close on the quality front at a good price. The restaurant is undistinguished, but the bar is surprisingly pleasant (given that is it in the middle of a ten story atrium) and has a nice menu. Safe, secure underground self parking is great (and unusual in Austin). Internet service is not very good. Excellent service from an attentive, well trained staff. Room service is prompt and of good quality.

Room Tip: Choose an "atrium view" room to avoid the 6th street noise. Business lounge is not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We truly appreciate your support and thank you for taking time to post a review. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely relaxing atmosphere and a very soothing and inviting room to enjoy at the end of your business day. Staff who are more than willing to accomodate your needs and make your stay with them a nice homecoming.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Located near the city's vibrant entertainment area, be prepared to hear the boom-boom-boom of overly-loud bass loudspeakers in the nearby late-night clubs. If you like rhythmic booming and walls vibrating with noise, this is your place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We value both positive and constructive comments. Due to our location in the entertainment district, we do monitor city noise levels and report all violations. Please know that the comfort of our guests is very important and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

PRO: Check-in was super friendly and made you feel welcome.
PRO: Location, right downtown within walking distance of food, shopping, etc.

CON: Room. I was "upgraded" to the "quiet floor" requiring key card access and a "queen" bed. Asked if a King as a available and was told no, but I'm getting one of their "recently updated" rooms.. much better is what I was told. It was a shoebox next to the elevator with super thin walls. I'm actually typing this at 3:45am because of no sleep tonight. EVERY person who gets off the elevator you hear their conversation as they go by. Then, I get the drunk party people trying to get into my room by banging and banging (wrong room obviously). I go to call the front desk, but the phone doesn't work in the room. The prongs on the cord are broke. I am able to hold the cord in manually to make the call to the font desk, but the person on the other end can't hear me, I can only hear him. I try to call 4 times.. each time he keeps saying "hello... hello.. anyone there?". I lay back down while I hear the drunk people wondering the floor thinking surely the front desk will send someone since a room just called them over and over, but they weren't able to be heard. Nope... front desk didn't sent anyone to check. So, finally, I went out into the hall to use the house phone to call the front desk to have Security come up and deal with the drunks.

SUMMARY: Look, I get the hotel is near 6th street and drunks come back from partying and that the hotel addressed it with their noise policy and security (that's what the management of this property will write back to this review as they have to many others below). That's only part of the problem. The bigger problem is 1) the broken phone, 2) the desk didn't send anyone after a guest called 4 times and was unable to be heard - glad I wasn't needing medical attention, 3) the lamp was broken, 4) the duvet cover was ripped, 5) the walls are paper thin, 6) the room was a shoebox with a queen bed, 7) internet was SLOW. All in all, PLENTY of choices for 4 start hotels in downtown Austin. Check them out.. they have never disappointed me like this place (first and last time at the Omni). For similar price, check out The W, The Driskill, heck even the Sheraton.

Room Tip: I was in the "recently updated" room and had problems, so I guess definitely avoid the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Professional and friendly staff, fabulous food, great service, comfortable rooms, tasteful designs and convenient location - this hotel's staff has a wonderful customer service attitude. There is a great attention to decor and detail throughout the facility. This was my first trip to Austin and my stay here was enhanced by my hotel choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sabah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My 3 friends and I travelled to Austin for a birthday celebration. We stayed on the club floor of the Omni - it was definitely a great experience. The service alone would make me want to come back to the hotel. Very comfortable rooms - clean, incredible beds, spacious. The staff was incredible - at the desk, on the club floor, and throughout our stay. I'd highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Beth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is great in all aspects but location, parking and Internet Access. I just wish my reservation told me that they had a parking garage underneath the building. Had to pay to park down the street was not informed ahead a time since ive never stayed there before. **Watch out!!! This hotel is not the place to blow a buch of money of convience and you still have to pay $14 dollars for internet access a night! Should be a standard now i can go into any $50 a night hotel and get free internet. Starbuks has free internet and i dont have to even buy anything!>

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We appreciate you taking time to share feedback from your recent stay. We do offer complimentary wifi in our Lobby for all guests and if you are a member of our Select Guest Program, we also offer this complimentary service in guestrooms. In regards to parking, unfortunately due to the limited parking in the downtown area, most hotels do charge for parking and our pricing is competitive. We hope you will return as we value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $129 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing