We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #42 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Convenient Location, Great Staff”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family needed to stay near the Austin Convention Center, and we got a discount on a block of rooms at the Omni. Our room was fairly small, but clean and comfortable, with a good-sized bathroom, 2 beds, and extras including a minibar, a safe, and a hair dryer, but no minifridge, microwave or complimentary breakfast. Sound really carries here, and even on an upper level it was pretty noisy with a party in the lobby, people coming and going at 3 a.m., the guy snoring in the next room...maybe it's not usually so loud. Overall, though, it was an easy walk to many restaurants, the staff was friendly, the hotel was attractive, check-in was fast, the exercise room was great, and our kids liked the heated shallow pool and the glass elevators. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate the feedback from your recent visit. Please accept our apologies for any discomfort as a result of the event in our Atrium. We do hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    757
    319
    183
    123
See reviews for
388
675
123
1,100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel was very nice outside the room.The bathroom wear i do my best thinking was very poor with the fan not working and the unwanted quest the roach.I did take the roach to the front desk and leave it with the manager who said she would present it to house keeping little good that does me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate your comments from your recent stay. We're very sorry to hear about the pest in your guestroom and thank you for reporting the issue as it certainly does not reflect the typical experience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, TX
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'm a bit late in writing this....I accompanied my husband on a business trip in June. Since my husband needed the car during the day, I was so glad that this hotel was conveniently located to anything I might want to walk to. Hotel service was great. Rooms were small but clean and decor was nice. I also used the rooftop pool a couple times, which was nice. We will come back next time we are in Austin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdtatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking time to comment on your stay several months ago. We thank you for your positive review and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great Hotel - Good location - Walking distance to all restaurants and bars. Fogo De Chao. Very Clean and felt very safe. I will return for special occassions. Bed was very comfortable and shower was very hot : )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived early evening on Christmas to a very limited number of staff but very helpful. The lobby was under renovation so you had to be careful. We had drinks in the bar area with tapas which were very good. The club lounge was not open so in the morning we ate in the bar area again. It was crowded. The buffet was wonderful the first day and poor the second. Many things were not available and the selection the second day was limited. The third morning we could eat in the regular area. Room service was quick. I would not hesitate to stay here again as the rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. The only negative was the internet which was very very slow and spotty at best.

Room Tip: Face the front of the hotel and get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msilverbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Fantastic stay for our anniversary. Hotel staff, was very accommodating, and being New Year's Eve, the staff was very polite in ensuring only registered guests made it to the elevators and rooms. Rooms & common areas were very clean and comfortable. Absolute best hotel I've stayed in recent memory. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lance J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We came here for an anniversary night out to be close to downtown and good restaurants. The room was really nice, with good furniture and good quality toiletries. We used the "club" which gave us happy hour appetizers, wine, beer, and morning breakfast. Very nice for a night out!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lauren U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing