We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Self-parking was easy, and a quick walk to the lobby. They were renovating the lobby carpet when we arrived, so we needed to be careful where we walked. Check-in personnel was nice & professional. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had dinner in their bar, food was good, service was slow, but the personnel was very nice, and we enjoyed the interior architecture. A short walk to everything we wanted to see.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 16th floor with a city view and heard loud music from 6th street at 2 AM. Maybe a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience as a result of the slow service in our lounge and the on-going renovation of our public space. We are in the final phases and look forward to showcasing the results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Friendly, helpful staff and a clean, comfortable, quiet hotel. It's conveniently placed about halfway between the capitol and 6th St., making it a perfect home base for a brief stay in downtown. Definitely easy to walk anywhere in the area, and the concierge was very helpful in figuring out where we wanted to go eat. The price was good and parking was convenient - I was told upon booking that we would have to pay the self-parking fee each time we entered/exited, but when checking in I was told that isn't the case - you pay per night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Omni--I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice hotel that is close to downtown. A special shout out to Kayley Greenday, a fellow Virginian and VT graduate, who had chocolate covered strawberries and champagne waiting for us when we got back from dinner. My only "complaint" if you will is with the Omni policy that doesn't allow points when you book through expedia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utex1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Omni's location is perfect for an Austin visit. We had a two bedroom suite for myself, my wife and one adult daughter. This ended up costing us less than two regular rooms (under a special hotel package). The hotel was beautiful with all the ammenities. Other than some internet issues, it was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank mwadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Met and exceeded expectations. We were treated royally and received extras we had not expected. We stayed in a lovely room with a bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. We love the coffee service delivered to our door at time requested (Loyalty Members)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We're pleased to hear you experienced a comfortable and memorable stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visit the Omni in downtown Austin every chance you get! All the staff are wonderful and it's just a short walk to the Capitol, 6th Street and just a cab's ride away from the LBJ Presidential Library! thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

very nice hotel located in the middle of Austin close to a veritety of eating and music venues room was very clean and awesome few of city. The parking in the garage was a little steep 20 dollars a night but that keeps your car safe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $122 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing