We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Modern architecture, poor service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #37 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Magnificent Modern architecture, poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

And well located... but that is about it! Management needs to focus on service. Basic day to day maintenance. An in room safe that had not worked for a while (they had to replace the entire door assembly). Maid service that showed up daily in the evening, five hours or more than customary; phones that did not work well. Internet that had to be worked on (only area were service excelled. IT had to route the server out of context).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chichenuxmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We're very sorry for the maintenance and service issues you encountered. Please know your experience was not customary. We do appreciate your patronage and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a more satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    710
    292
    161
    103
See reviews for
352
633
117
1,005
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room was a little small but the view made up for it. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. They had a lot of knowledge of the downtown area and great suggestions for restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LShafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback from your recent visit. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having clients in the area, we have stayed here several times, and i no not have one negative comment regarding this hotel! As is have stated in another review about the Omni chain, I always forget to put it on the top of my list as my "go to" chain, yet i love the locations, the beds are super comfortable ( great after a long day in heels!), and the rooms are comtemporary and well appointed. We never ate there, being so close to dowtown, but others we were with were very impressed. Would and do recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Austin, for business or for fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monicajohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued patronage. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to post such positive comments about our hotel and hope when your business travels bring you back to Austin, you'll put is on the top of your "go to" list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our first visit to Austin. We wanted to stay somewhere close to 6th street and this was perfect since it is 1 block away from it. The things I loved include the bed (so comfy), the pillows, the shower (great pressure and stayed heated the entire time). They have some kind of policy where you are expected to not make noise after 10pm which is great for people that are light sleepers or have to work the next day. The staff are all very friendly and very helpful. We forgot to pack toothpaste and we called the front desk and they provided us with some free of charge. We ate at the bar in the lounge area and they had great drinks and food. Best chocolate martini ever and the lamb tostadas were delicious. They do charge for self-parking but in doing research all the other hotels do so too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxyrocks84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay in Austin. We thank you for providing such positive feedback regarding your room accommodations and the food and beverage quality in our Outlets. We hope next time your travels bring you back to Austin, you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with another comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I walked in and my room had a glorious view not only from the bedroom but also from the bathroom!! It was spectacular.

The food service was half an hour late the second morning and they seemed to be having elevator issues one afternoon when we returned after our meeting. Only one elevator (of the 3) was working so we had quite a long wait. But I suppose every big hotel has issues like these at some point.

The restaurant was excellent. Had a steak and it was as good as another I had at an expensive restaurant downtown. Their salad bar is very good also.

All in all, it was a very good stay.

Room Tip: My corner room had the big window in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMae1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations. We would like to extend our apologies for the delay involving your room service order as a result of one of our elevators undergoing emergency repairs. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with our customary service. Thank you again for posting your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
590 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for the first time. Rooms were spotless and filled with ample amenities. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet. Hotel is located right downtown and you can walk to all the bars and great restaurants. Staff was friendly and overly attentive. I like the underground self parking option as I had a rental car. Bar was open late and I enjoyed a cold cocktail there. I got a good deal on Priceline. Just booked my next stay directly with hotel for a great price. Would highly recommend for business travelers or anyone wanting to be near the action of downtown Austin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post such a positive review. We value your patronage as a return customer and look forward to the next opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. It was beautiful, clean, and in a great location. We will be staying here every time we come to Austin. Plus, the guest service manager, Robert King made our stay extra special. My husband was sick, and Robert went out and got the medicines he needed, and even brought a bag of m&m's as well. Personal service like that makes a guest feel very welcome and valued!!

The hotel was very clean, which is really important to me. And I thought the rates were very fair.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariking14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and in particular, the customer service of our Guest Services Manager. We hope your husband is in better health and look forward to welcoming you home during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing